We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast beautiful atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfast beautiful atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant was beautiful. It looks like a medieval castle. The breakfast was good but could have been slightly better. I loved the SUPER fresh fruit on the French toast. But my eggs and French toast were just slightly overlooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
288 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellant food - Service a little aloof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a whole, service was a bit aloof and slow at this restaurant. I did not find it to be an issue since we were not in a rush. The setting is on Lincoln Road - a main touristy shopping and dining district in Miami Beach. Open air seating and inside bar and table seating. We sat inside to get out of the heat. Evan thought the service was a bit slow, the food was excellent. We had a Chicken Ceaser wrap and spaghetti and meatballs. The three large Meatballs were super tender and well seasoned. The sauce was very fresh and flavorful. A little heavy in garlic. Bread was fresh. I would eat here again and try the many other dishes. Overall fun vibe in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad taste for tourism”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We sat at this lovely street enjoy the city and rest around 3PM. A week day and not busy. The server was moody, even the coffe that day wasn't good and to top that their suggested gratuity was calculated including (enclosing) the TAX

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilir2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“People watching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a cafe in the middle in Lincoln Road Mall.They offer indoor and outdoor seating.Outdoor is nice to see the beautiful people of Miami go by.The service was good and our drinks were refilled often.We ordered a couple of salads and a wrap which were good.The one thing this restaurant needs is new clean menus. They were very dirty and filled with grim.Make sure you wash your hands after you touch them and before you eat your meal.There are a lot of choices in this area so things have to be special to obtain repeat customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vetgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Same like News cafe its a miami landmark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Go listen to the Jazz upstairs it changes daily and one of the hidden jewels of Lincoln road - a must stop for any jazz enthusiast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaFlamaBlanca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing