We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Food and People Watching” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dfw
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food and People Watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved this restaurant. It seemed like it was german themed with the decor and the staff uniforms. Situated in a great location in the middle of Lincoln Rd., this restaurant is great for people watching and enjoying the morning, afternoon or evening. I ordered the Omelet and the servings were gigantic!

Staff was very attentive and I would definitely come back here again during my next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WildarisDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Funplace to sit outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Situated on Lincoln Rd. in the heart of Miami Beach. Nice place to sit outside if not too hot. Service was marginal but the waitress was friendly but the restaurant was pretty busy. Food was decent though not exceptional. We selected the spot primarilarily for its location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sidneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"another one bites the dust"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Use to be my favorite place on Lincoln Rd to eat. Unfortunately - no more! Place was half empty, yet we could not get normal service. Waiter was wondering somewhere, Hot food arrived cold, salad didn't make it at all, kids order got mixed up...... Lots of fun! Another beautiful think: plates and leftovers are getting removed from the table while we eating and without asking! .... Looking for new favorite place.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiraDiDrobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grab a table & people watch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is one of the best eateries on Lincoln Road. It's location on this pedestrianized strip is perfect for taking some time out to just watch the world go by.
The menu and service is good (and much better than other similar spots on 'the road') but the real draw is the location.
Take some time out from the excellent shopping on Lincoln Road to sample the eclectic SoBe lifestyle as it passes by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5102040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just a perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to sit & people watch & just have a soft beverage & stopped at this place because it was beautiful, clean & different from anything else we had seen in Miami Beach. The old world European charm was refreshing. We were apprehensive at first because they were crowded & serving dinner. We afraid they would be annoyed at us just ordering ice tea but the hostess sat us with a smile & you'd think we were ordering lobster & champagne from the service we got from our waiter.

The table next to us started with soup. The gentlemen who ordered the homemade chicken soup loved it so much he ordered a second bowl. Seeing that, we not only ordered it but ended up ordering appetizers. The food was fabulous & all made from scratch. Can't wait to go back for dinner next time.

We also got a pleasant surprise when using the rest rooms. Walking through all the rooms downstairs & then up the steps to the second floor airy additional bar & seating felt like you were touring a castle in Great Britain!!! There was also a variety show there that night that was packed!

Just on all around great place! Wish I had a picture to share because I would have loved to have a visual memory!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twocapemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing