We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant twice during our latest trip to Miami Beach. The first time, we met local friends out for happy hour who suggested this place because they had been there before. We did not eat, but we sat at a high table in the bar area as soon as you step inside. The drinks were delicious, and they had really good happy hour specials (not expensive at all compared to Miami prices). We liked the atmosphere so much that the next night we visited again for dinner. I had the fish and chips and my boyfriend had the Reuben sandwich. We are both picky with food and yet we both loved our meals. We stayed a little after dinner to enjoy cocktails with another friend we were meeting. All in all, very pleasant experience. Good service, good food, and loved the atmosphere. Lincoln Road is a must visit. We had been to Miami Beach/South Beach before and this was the first time we visited Lincoln Road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicAshBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located right on Lincoln Road. Great atmosphere in restaurant. Lincoln Road a little rough for children and elderly, but charming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Complete tourist trap... don't make the mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went for Sunday morning breakfast.... still not really clean from night before! Staff looked hung over and more interested in swapping stories and gossip in the bar than helping us (waited for 10 min after getting food for ketchup!? Had to ask two people)

Food portions are average, presentation sucked... no garnish... menu diversity is great but everything is done sub par... (we had a range of food from waffles, to omlettes, to crepes, muffins... nothing sucked but NOTHING impressed).... We should have known better. Don't make the same mistake.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaronalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun Lunch Spot on Lincoln Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch while shopping on Lincoln Road. Great atmosphere and outdoor seating. Terrific people watching spot. Interesting, "diner-like" menu with tons of options for all day breakfast to sandwiches to more expensive entrees. Food was very good and our server helped dispel the SoBe reputation of horrible service. Can't go wrong having lunch here. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ATLFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A place to have an informal and light breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

There are many good restaurants on Lincoln Rd and this one is not exactly one of the best although I am not saying is bad. I will say is an average to good place to eat.
Menu is American style and not really nothing to remember.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing