We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good service terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good service terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

When the my side salad arrived I knew the food was going to be questionable at best. Copious amounts of bad Caesar dressing made the lettuce soggy and limp. The seared tuna entree ($24) arrived and was obviously not a high grade of fish, very tough and taste was not good (being polite). After two bites I pushed the plate away, as did two others at the table.

On the positive side the outside seating is nice and our server was very attentive. I actually felt bad for her because she knew the tuna was not well received by my party. There is live music but upstairs but we didn't linger. We actually went to find decent food elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Gunner927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Varies.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sometimes the food is better than others. We've had bad service before on more than one occasion. The live music upstairs really makes this a place worth patronizing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Go for the Mango Cosmo and the Eggs Benedict with wilted spinach! Great service! Great location to people watch and enjoy a beautiful Sunday morning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellison817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect people watching perch....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are in the vicinity of South Beach on Lincoln Road try lunch or dinner at Van Dyke Cafe.
This restaurant seats inside and out and is the perfect spot for people watching.
The building itself is old and quaint with ivy growing up the facade.
We enjoyed lunch there on a Sunday afternoon while an outdoor flea market was happening along the street.
Our meal portions were more than adequate and the staff was very accommodating.
One of many pubs, cafe and fine dining along Lincoln Road. Approximate to shopping and parking facilities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank candycorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After dining for lunch earlier we stopped and tried dessert. The ice cream was superb but the apple crisp was nothing but tart green hard apples. My wife's peach cobbler was superb. Must stop back for the live Jazz someday.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing