We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Afternoon delight!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After dining for lunch earlier we stopped and tried dessert. The ice cream was superb but the apple crisp was nothing but tart green hard apples. My wife's peach cobbler was superb. Must stop back for the live Jazz someday.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SO FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Low key, but lively! Laid back vibe with great, live music. After dinner and walking around South Beach we happened upon Upstairs at The Van Dyke. We're not old, but we're too old for the nightclub scene and too young to sit and listen to jazz. This was just right! Caesar's Groove was playing and they were amazing. Great place, slightly less touristy than the Mango's scene.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Takemesomeplacewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
235 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere but lacks in the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Van Dykes Cafe is a nice place in a beautiful area of South Beach. The music is nice and the outside seating is very South Beach. The servers are prompt and do not bother you. The food lacks proper flavor and is very basic. This goes for the drinks as well; they are just thrown together. Nice place but lacks in the food and drink department.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Breakfast at Van Dyke Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed great food and had fun watching the lively scene on Lincoln Road in South Beach. The Egg Benedict and the Veggie Omelet were very good and our waitress was lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ingeburg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfast on Lincoln Mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a good breakfast with excellent service and the bonus of people watching South Beach residents out walking and usually accompanied by their dogs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing