We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I can only say wonderful things about Van Dyke's. The food is amazing. The atmosphere is great, and the service is awsome. In the summertime, be sure to get an outdoor table on the corner. You'll catch the breeze there. In the winter, it's all good.

This is a great place for lunch, or a late breakfast.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmettoAndMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
447 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great food, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lots of choice in lincoln street to eat and lots of people eager for your business, so to make the right choice was tricky.

Glad we went to van dykes, great range of food for all the family and pleasant outdoor eating area. Food was good quality, good portions and well priced.

We ate there on a few occasions and was pleased with the experience, the service was friendly and good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lostpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had lunch here and it was very good. Friendly employees, good food, fast service. This place has a big terrace so you can relax, sit down and watch everybody walk by.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sophie590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Save yourself the regret, don't go here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here on a Thursday night for dinner at around 9:30. Got seated immediately outside which has a nice atmosphere but that's where the good stopped. Ordered mojitos to start and they were awful. Tasted like they came from a mix bottle and for $10 you'd expect more. We got a hummus place to start which was okay but nothing great and only came with 2 pieces of pita. For entree we ordered tilapia salad, steak salad and a burger. The burger was okay but tasted like it was bought at Costco and heated up. The salads were terrible and not edible. My friends were too nice to send them back so instead they didn't touch them and when the waiter came to take the food away definitely noticed but didn't say a word. So yea, the service was bad too. On also, after the mojitos were so bad we ordered draft beers that tasted skunked. Hope you don't go here now, this is all factual and I'm trying to save you the regret because for $125 you don't get anything!

Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Been looking for a good breakfast place all week and finally found it. Nice selection. Had the yogurt with granola (order the side of berries). Kids loved the crepes. Great coffee.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nhg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing