We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had lunch here and it was very good. Friendly employees, good food, fast service. This place has a big terrace so you can relax, sit down and watch everybody walk by.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sophie590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    145
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
367 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Save yourself the regret, don't go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here on a Thursday night for dinner at around 9:30. Got seated immediately outside which has a nice atmosphere but that's where the good stopped. Ordered mojitos to start and they were awful. Tasted like they came from a mix bottle and for $10 you'd expect more. We got a hummus place to start which was okay but nothing great and only came with 2 pieces of pita. For entree we ordered tilapia salad, steak salad and a burger. The burger was okay but tasted like it was bought at Costco and heated up. The salads were terrible and not edible. My friends were too nice to send them back so instead they didn't touch them and when the waiter came to take the food away definitely noticed but didn't say a word. So yea, the service was bad too. On also, after the mojitos were so bad we ordered draft beers that tasted skunked. Hope you don't go here now, this is all factual and I'm trying to save you the regret because for $125 you don't get anything!

Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Been looking for a good breakfast place all week and finally found it. Nice selection. Had the yogurt with granola (order the side of berries). Kids loved the crepes. Great coffee.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nhg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coming here forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

this restaurant is my home on Lincoln Road. I particularly remember one night right after 9-11 being the only customer(s) in the place and Lincoln Road being so untypically desolate. Sad but home. Sometimes the service is not the greatest but the atmosphere kind of makes up for it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great until the check came,,,they don't carry change?.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a great spot for breakfast; snacks, salads; lunch and people-watching. The service is very good too! And for South Beach; it is reasonable (breakast: juice/coffee/bacon or ham/sausage/toast/eggs about $10). Like most of the restaurants on the beach, a tip is included (15%) and the check indicates that.
I was taken aback; when I paid my check (including tiip) and the total was something like $11.57
The change on $15 that was returned to me was $3. New math? ....No, I was told they "don't carry change".
Is management aware of this?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MIAMILOVETRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing