We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food”

Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Pointe Park
Description: Relax in a steakhouse with a view. The Miami skyline and crystal waters of the nearby Government Cut channel set the backdrop for a lunch or dinner replete with timeless glamour. Our breathtaking location includes a waterfront cafe, outdoor patio, two floors of restaurant seating and water-view private dining rooms for groups from 20 to 450. Start or finish your evening at our fashionable Deco bar.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Smith & Wollensky Miami beach has a very good location. Good food with friendly staff. Real good value for money. Steak sandwich very delicious, decent portion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,193
    708
    299
    160
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
537 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,538 helpful votes
“an institution with perfect location”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

In my case S&W is an US institution. Whenever I travel to the US I eat at S&W at least once. It's not because it's the best, but it's the first US steakhouse I've every visited (NYC, 1980).

S&W is consistent, over the last 34 years, it never lets you down.

The location at Miami Beach is really superb, especially when you're going for sunset and get an outside table. I love their seafood platter, the soups and the buttermilk onion rings. No, I don't eat steak at S&W because I prefer other steakhouses.

S&W isn't cheap, but quality and locations gives it a reason.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastico!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had dinner with my family Saturday night.
Great staff, the exec chef came to the table to say hello.
True S&W class and what we see at every S&W restaurant.
The food, drinks and view are superb.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longhorn33981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Most disappointed”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The place: excellent decor, nice outdoor seating areas (3)

The food: bland with some items way too salty (we ordered from the brunch menu but one person at our table who ordered from the lunch menu got a much better meal for the same price (he ordered salmon and the portion was huge, the taste was exquisite). The rest of us ordered variations on Eggs Benedict (not enough sauce, eggs undercooked, plate was almost cold though we were told not to touch it as it supposedly very hot!!!). Presentation was nice, however.

The service: Not that attentive, had to wait a long while to get served, had to wait a long while to get water - waiter seemed to have too many people to serve at once.

The view: We sat outdoors in the part next to the waterfront (near the rocks). In the channel several barges were working - dredging the canal to allow for bigger cruise ships to enter (so we were told). That spoiled the view to some extent but was acceptable. The noise from the jet skis were deafening (it was Sunday morning so it was to be expected I suppose). It was also very windy which didn't make it very pleasant by the restaurant has no control over that either. Great place to people watch as young and old stream by on the 'boardwalk' (more of a pathway I guess).

The prices: A bit on the expensive side particularly in relation to the quality of the food served. The portions are on the small side; we didn't leave hungry but we certainly left nothing in our plates. (The salmon meal was the exception as the portion was generous).

The tables: Had clean white tablecloths; chairs were comfortable. We had ample space for all of our dishes.

The washrooms: Clean, spacious and well stocked with toilet paper and paper towels.

Conclusion: this establishment is in a prime location and attracts a lot of people. It will always get the crowds however, they need to be a bit more attentive to detail if they are going to survive in the long run. I noted that this is part of chain of restaurants (a chain unknown to me). Perhaps, it is as good as it will get, but it could be so much better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesSeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the boats”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Fabulous views! Best place on the beach to get appetizers and drinks. Grab a table and spend a few hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllyDeyhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach also viewed

 

Been to Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing