We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location; less than average food.”

Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Pointe Park
Description: Relax in a steakhouse with a view. The Miami skyline and crystal waters of the nearby Government Cut channel set the backdrop for a lunch or dinner replete with timeless glamour. Our breathtaking location includes a waterfront cafe, outdoor patio, two floors of restaurant seating and water-view private dining rooms for groups from 20 to 450. Start or finish your evening at our fashionable Deco bar.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice location; less than average food.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went for lunch. We were warmly received and the wait staff was gracious and efficient. The location was fabulous. However, the food was, in a word, less than average.. I had an ok Bloody Mary and the Cobb Salad with chicken. The chicken appeared to be pre "grilled" from the food service with perfect grill marks and was very dry. There were pieces of slab crisp bacon that was not very appetizing. My husband had the calamari that was okay. He had a Kettle One on the rocks. We ended with a coffee. The bill: 90 bucks including tip! Way overpriced for the quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    708
    299
    160
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, a little disorganized”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location on South Pointe is beautiful and probably better appreciated during the day than at night, unless you had a table outside. The food is good but not up to the same standard as other steakhouses around. I ordered the coffee and cocoa rubbed fillet and thought the rub was too salty and the steak quite bland. It would have been much nicer with a sauce and I felt I could have cooked a more enjoyable meal at home, which is disappointing for a $52 dish plus sides. We found the service from all staff, including valet and our server, to be a little disorganized and unprofessional for this type of restaurant. We actually left before ordering dessert as the service was so slow. I've been wanting to try this restaurant for a while, however probably wouldn't return, which is a shame because the building and location are beautiful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

After my past review we were personally invited to return for hope of a better experience. And they did an amazing job making the experience much better! The steak was "melt in your mouth", the drinks were made perfectly, the sides were good and the service was impeccable! The restaurant Definitely has that old school feel. Once you relax with that drink in your hand, with the ocean breeze against your face and enjoying the breathtaking views.....Smith and Wollensky is the place to go! I would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great view of the water! Excellent ambiance, food was great! They have tables outside that are great for a cozy dinner under the stars.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse, great location”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Having walked and cycled past on numerous occasions, finally tried Smith and Wollensky at South Pointe.

Location is wonderful, and while we could have been accommodated straight away, chose to wait 30 minutes for a table outside. Had a nice drink at the bar, and we had the table within 15 minutes.

Not cheap, but not extortionate either, and the steaks were fabulous.

As a European, who finds the tipping culture hard to adapt to, pleasingly (and almost uniquely in SoBe) the bill did not assume a 15%-20% tip, but left the matter of a gratuity entirely up to the customer. As a result, it was one of the few places I felt happy to tip generously.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach also viewed

 

Been to Smith & Wollensky - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing