We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasing Haitian Experience”
Review of Tap Tap

Tap Tap
Ranked #155 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Norfolk Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Very Pleasing Haitian Experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

A group of us went to try this place out and were delightfully surprised by the dining experience we had. The restaurant is bigger than it looks and is fitted out with incredibly decorative Haitian murals. The artwork on the chairs and tables is just wonderful - really authentic.

We kicked off with some appetizers that included Malanga fritters with watercress dipping sauce, fried akra, sweet potato and plantain with malice and watercress sauce and the spicy marinated conch ceviche, and these went down really well with cold Tusker & Prestige beers. Our mains consisted of stewed goat, conch creole, grouper in lime sauce and the shrimp in coconut sauce. The dishes were reasonably priced, of good portion, fresh and the flavours a real high point. The food was simply delicious, the tastebuds insatiable... and the Haitain Band created a casual but great vibe; these were real positives for us.

On the flipside the presentation of the food was only average, and the service was far from efficient. The stewed goat could well have been meatier, and the gratuity is insane - 18% from memory which is wrong and after arguing this point it was removed. So BEWARE!!!

Overall, our group had a fantastic time and we all agreed that we would not hesitate in coming back to try other items on the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EnJay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    247
    73
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stewed Goat”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

You have to try the stewed goat. This is my first Haitian restaurant that I have ever tried, but the goat stew is so good! Another option we tried was the is grouper in lime sauce - it was so flavorful! The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Our bartender (Monica) was so cool, talkative, and explained everything to us. Parking is the biggest issue here. We parked in the parking garage about 4 blocks from the restaurant as there is no on-site parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brennifer0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious with a cozy colourful experience!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is very cozy and has very nice colourful murals... which adds to yhe experience!

This restaurant is not for customers expecting fast service!

But id you are patient... you will get delicious food... worth the wait!

Helpful?
Thank Mélanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Had A Blast!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went to Tap Tap for a birthday celebration July 11, 2014. I have no complaints, starting with the mojitos! We did ask for more rum to add to our drinks, it just made them better. We started with the Malanga fritters and watercress sauce, it was very tasty. I ordered the goat with rice, it was fresh and very delicious, my friend ordered the Yellowtail fried fish and she said it was very good. Others in our party had the shrimp in coconut milk and the grilled chicken, all cooked to order and very good. We did order dessert, just more mojitos. We went back to listen to the Haitian band one night, and they were very good. Loved the art on the walls and the history of the restaurant. I read the other reviews, but I have no complaints and based on my experience, I would recommend Tap Tap. Also, our waitress, Lydia, was great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crystalcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Colourful”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Cool interior with colourful furniture and murals. Friendly and knowledgable staff. Many menu items were not available. Complimentary garlic bread was delicious. Everything that followed was distinctly underwhelming, both in taste and presentation. Items we were warned would be spicy, were bland and the meal sizes were quite small, although I have to commend this joint for not padding out the plate with fries as happens in most places in this price range. There were only 2 items available on the dessert menu of the 7 listed, ( some of them were just fruit salads, how can you not have any?? )and we were told there was only 1 piece left of one of them, the Haitian Cake. I ordered it and it was dry and potentially from a packet. I was excited about this place, but left disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank searover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap Tap also viewed

 

Been to Tap Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing