We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mojitos”
Review of Tap Tap

Tap Tap
Ranked #150 of 1,078 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mojitos”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fun place on 5th street that has wonderful Mojitos and Haitian food. It doesn't look like much on the outside, it has pretty tight seating on the inside, but the atmosphere is really great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwiedenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    243
    73
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant is great and makes you discover very good haitian food.

The prices are definitely raisonnable (we paid around 90$ for a plate of appetizers, 2 entrées, 2 desserts, a coffee and 3 beers, tax and tip included), the service is excellent and the suggestions really helpful. The atmosphere of the restaurant is such that you forget for the dinner that you are in Miami and you rather think that you are in Haiti.

We spent a great evening there and recommend everyone who likes discovering new kind of food to go to Tap Tap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place was recomended to us by the Corbett List, from Haiti. The food is authentic, tasty, & cooked to your preferences. Suprisingly it is NOT owned or run by a Haitian. The whole place is painted with an island motife, including the tables & chairs. It is very relaxing & friendly. The goat is excellent, & rarely has as many bones as you find in Jamaican restaurants. Here you get LOTS of meat. When you arrive there is a glass dish of cabbage on the table. It is HOT & spicy. Everything you order hot & spicy is cooked with scotch bonnet peppers. If you like it hot this is the place to get it. If you prefer mild, just tell them & that is how they will make it. We drive about 70 miles, each way, to eat here, several times a year. They have my seal of approval.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience and Food!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Loved Tap Tap. The Haitian cuisine was wonderful! The waitress was very friendly and helpful. Service a little slow but well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKW-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
542 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Colorfully decorated restaurant with character”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Tap Tap was recommended by staff from the La Flora where we were staying. It was almost 10 pm by the time we were checked in and we just wanted to go somewhere that's still open to have a quick bite. We were told it would be a fun place. Would have been a bit of a walk but fortunately we still had our rental car with us so it was only a short drive away. It was indeed very fun and full of personality, not too crowded as it was late but not empty either. Colorfully furnished, with even more colorful full size wall murals depicting scenes of village life. Service was good, the menu interesting – most seemed to be meat dishes, and a bit difficult to figure out how they were all prepared as we knew nothing about Haitian cuisine and I couldn't quite understand our server's explanations. We went with some fish dishes and vegetable sides. All quite good and flavorful. A nice place with local character, good alternate to all the more touristy options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap Tap also viewed

 

Been to Tap Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing