We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Savina - CLOSED

La Savina
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 10th and 11th Street
Description: La Savina brings the free spirit, bohemian sensibility and culinary bounty of the Balearic Islands to South Beach. Our award-winning culinary team, led by Morgans Corporate Executive Chef Tien Ho and La Savina's Chef de Cuisine Gabriel Cruz have created a menu that perfectly captures the flavors of signature restaurants on the Mediterranean coast. Eliciting the spirit of these magical islands, La Savina offers a simple mix of amazingly fresh crudos, grilled meats and fish and the best seasonal vegetables in South Florida, served alongside unmatched views of Biscayne Bay. The kitchen specializes in the simple, highly-flavorful chargrilled meats and fish prepared in the classic "a la parilla" style that is the staple of coastal Mediterranean cooking. Guests of the restaurant share their meal and experience "in the style of Mediterranean families, who socialize for hours over beautiful meals with incredibly fresh seasonal ingredients."
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a few different plates over our stay at the Mondrian. Sushi was very fresh and light, burger is amazing, and chicken club sandwich was fantastic. Ordered everything pool-side but service was fast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

In my experience this is the best restaurant in Miami. Fusion with a lot of dishes to taste and discover, really interesting.
Very smooth and comfortable atmosphere.
Great service, nice and carefull.
Price in line with the quality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Masins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went there on a Sunday night, so it was pretty quiet. But the view from the terrace was really great, overlooking the bay and the buildings from downtown. We had sushis and both quality and quantity were very good. So we did very much enjoy the evening

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tragic loss of "Asia de Cuba" Restaurant at Mondrian!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I live within a few minutes walking to The Mondrian South Beach. I was thrilled when the hotel opened especially for the fantastic restaurant "Asia de Cuba" which I frequented often! The food was extraordinary and the atmosphere fantastic! I also always bring visiting friends to this restaurant.

Recently I brought friends from Switzerland raving to them how wonderful this eclectic restaurant was. I was shocked to arrive to an empty restaurant and a completely different menu. Asia de Cuba was no longer!!! I was so disappointed and felt helpless as I had promised them an interesting environment and fun, unique, and delicious food.

The new venue is called "The Restaurant" at The Mondrian. The menu resembles your average South Beach "trying-to-be-trendy" but in the end its the same old food as so many other places on The Beach. And the quality of both the service and the food was mediocre.

There were two Servers for both the inside and outside terrace tables and although there were very few tables there was definitely NOT enough staff (although they were very gracious and remembered me from my Asia de Cuba days).

We had to wait so long just to order. It took forever to finally get the wine and my friend's Hendricks and tonic arrived flat after a long wait and then had to be sent back.

Between the closing of Asia de Cuba and The China Grille, there is unfortunately no good Asian fusion restaurants in this important neighborhood of South Beach!!! What a shame!!!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BambinaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just for the restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

the worse dinner I had in Miami beach . I come to miami for years, sometimes you find a very nice restaurant, and sometimes it is not so nice. BUT, the Mondrian restaurant is an insult. After a terrible sushi And a plate of carrots that I do not even want to describe, I decided to try the caesar
salad !!! no comments, the cook finds it a good idea to serve you a few over salted cabbage leaves !!! with 2 glasses of wine, I paid 90 euros. !!!! discussing.
A nasty way to fool people.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Savina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing