We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great design hotel right on the beach”
Review of Blanc Kara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blanc Kara
Ranked #33 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great design hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you want to enjoy Miami Beach in a great location just right on the beach but still close to everything you need including bubbling Ocean Drive, you need to stay in this beautiful European style designed boutique hotel. We stayed there 4 nights with my partner in April and we had a great stay. The rooms are big, white with a touch of designed colorfull furniture (I loved the big white couch, I want the same at home!). Great white bathrooms with 5 stars level ammenities. Nespresso coffee machine in the room. Don't forget to ask for your Blanc Kara beach towels when you go to the amazing beach just around the corner. Next time we are in town we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    125
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
251
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOBE1
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I need a one night staycation on Mother's day { Grandma had the kid} and this place fit the bill. It is a small boutique hotel. Stylish and quiet. Think W-ish without the hassle.Modern with a low key key check in and nice minimal lobby area. No bell hop or formal lobby at all. Rooms vary in size. We had the bigger king suite with kitchenette. Very nice platform bed and couch/loveseat. Flat screen etc.. Nepsresso machine was a nice touch as was the full size fridge and fully supplied kitchen with champagne flutes, plates etc. Clean white lines abound. Minimal w/out feeling sparse. Best area inSouth Beach to get a good nights sleep, but close to everything that matters whilst on vacay here { restaurants, bars and the beach is one block east}. This is the kind of place a world traveler who has seen it all enjoys for its simplicity and discretion. Only tell your best friends.

Room Tip: spend a little more for a suite. Its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOBE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel needs some updating although it is new. The pros are: big rooms, silent hotel, very nice neighborhood away from the hussle and bussle of Ocean Drive, very close to the beach, walking distance from restaurants (Big Pink, Fratelli la Buffala and Starbucks).
The down side is the vallet service that brought our car with a flat tire, the cleaning that was resumed to make the beds and exchange of towels. There was no refuel of coffee and edulcorants. Another problem was a lack of wifi in our room (111).

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieLechuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Charming boutique hotel in quieter neighborhood just south of Fifth Street but still very close to everything. Rooms are on the smallish sized, nicely designed with noise and light very well controlled. The terraces are great, almost more space on the terrace than in the room.

Minimal service amenities. Value is just ok, on the pricey side, but what isn't in South Beach?

Room Tip: The terrace was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Govis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,812 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Let's start for the positive, Blanc Kara is a very tasteful hotel, with lovely rooms and quite a quirky feel about it, albeit reception is a bit basic and with very few adds on.

It is only a block away from the beach in a very good location, but the week point is service, from the entrance to the leaving nobody seems to understand the importance of service, from reception, to check in for anything you ask it seems to be difficult and painful almost as if they are making you a favour to use their hotel. This hotel has an absolute zero culture of service but if you don't mind been ignored, and don't mind basic services it is a lovely quirky hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Alas, I was unlucky enough to come down with the flu on the second day of our trip to Miami Beach and the Blanc Kara, so I spent almost every waking hour in the room for the full week we were there. Fortunately, we had asked for and received a very quiet room on the upper floor at the end of the hallway, and the room with kitchenette was about as comfortable as one could ask for: high quality bed, good television selection, upgraded bathroom, and a unique but not overbearing hip style. Staff were courteous but unobtrusive. Continental breakfast was very simple European style fruit and pastry-- we were a bit out of luck as gluten-free folks. Prices were fair for the value. My only gripe was that the power outlet and lighting situation was a bit funky: some outlets didn't work, and there weren't many of them...and a bedside light was dead. Master light switch cut all power to bedside accent lights, too, so they couldn't be independently controlled. Quibbles aside, this place was great. Very Euro-Miami-"hip"...we were a bit out of place being middle-aged, but nobody seemed to mind!

Room Tip: We had great luck finding a very quiet room at the end of the hall on the upper floor, though you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

High quality rooms. Unreal location near South Miami beach and the strip. Under 5 min walk away. Lots of eating places near by, so nothing to worry about.

This is a new hotel, and the team are still getting a handle on things. It stated that breakfast was included in the room rate. A refund for the difference was offered.

If you are needing a quiet place to stay, but still want to be near the Miami action, then this is the place!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair_Unicomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
403 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanc Kara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanc Kara

Property: Blanc Kara
Address: 205 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blanc Kara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blanc Kara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing