We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect hotel for Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel within walking distance of Ocean Drive is the perfect hide-away when visiting Miami Beach. It consists of three Art Deco buildings around a swimming pool that can sometimes be a bit noisy in the day. The rooms are clean and large and have excellent wifi coverage. We had a room that was fitted for disabled persons, the downside being that you could not shower without flooding the bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is no free parking space in the area. The hotel has a valet parking service that works just fine but is expensive at 30 dollar/24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    547
    143
    43
    30
See reviews for
513
489
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Recent reviews that all mention the friendly and helpful staff are spot on. The hotel is kept very clean and tidy - all day. The free wifi is fast. Make sure you look out for happy-hour in the bar and try one of the many cocktails or ice-cold beers.

The Pestana is within easy walking distance of the beach, the Lincoln Road Mall, and the restaurants on Washington Avenue. Try the Ocean Deli around the corner at 20th and Liberty Avenue, and the Deco Bike hire on 17th Street near the beach.

For breakfast, we'd suggest not having it in the hotel every day of your stay, try the many choices nearby.

The Pestana's a relatively small hotel and we chose it because it looked like it would be more fun than the larger hotels in Miami Beach - we chose well ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beefydrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very friendly staff, a clean room, a nice pool and within easy walking distance of Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road. Our only quibble was $30 a night for parking but perhaps that just reflects parking prices in South Beach and they did wash the car for us

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotelgood because of the staff working on it. All are extremely attentive. The facilities are also good but needs minor changes such as noise, but the rooms are large and welcoming. The breakfast is American standard. We could have better options for dinner and a more extended time there since 20:30 closes the service. The beach service is paid $ 20.00 per two chairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday July 4 - July 6, 2014. The staff were friendly, the rooms were beautiful and also clean. We loved the location because it was close to the beach and shopping. It was just an awesome experience and the hotel layout is simply beautiful.... from the modern decor of the sitting areas in the front and back of the hotel, the main lobby, the bar and pool it was just simply lovely. I am so glad that we took a chance and made this our hotel choice of stay. I would like to thank everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeannie4253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After a two week stay at the Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, we could not have asked for anymore with regards to staff service and hotel qualities. Very modern hotel with a fantastic atmosphere and buzz about the place. A special thank you goes out to Endri, Steven, Moises and Andre for there superb hospitality and there extra efforts to make our holiday as great as it was. The only addition I would suggest would be for the hotel to install a fitness suite. Thanks again for a great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the moment we checked in (at midnight) to the moment we checked out our stay was great. Firstly we were upgraded to a one bedroom room with a separate lounge room. The room had two balconies (from the lounge and from the main bedroom) that over looked the pool. It was so nice to actually have some fresh air in a hotel room. The room was very modern, the bathroom had double sinks and was spotless (no mould in the shower in the either). Our room had a fridge which was very handy.

The pool was lovely and the temp was, imo, perfect.

The location was great, just a couple minutes from the hub of South Beach. A man on reception recommended we try the restaurant "Maxines" as it was open 24 hours (and we had arrived at midnight and were starving). The restaurant was excellent and well priced.

We stayed in a second hotel in South Beach (after a cruises) and this was far far superior (despite the other having more stars and being much more expensive - I'll review it also).

I would stay here without hesitation if I return to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Impala Hotel
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
La Flora
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing