We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect combo of great location and super staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect combo of great location and super staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was my first time in Miami. Colleagues of mine advised me to go to Pestana as a solo traveller. They were not wrong.

First impression: the hotel is situated in the street just behind Collins Avenue, the "big" street for shopping, restaurants, going out, ... For me this was perfect, just off the main road, but close to everything. The girl behind the reception desk was awesome. I was checking in pretty late (around 22h) and horribly jetlagged. I just wanted to park my car and get into bed. She was so nice and yet so professional, my first impression of the hotel was immediately incredible. You get a voucher for a car park which is just two blocks away and you pay less ;-)

The room I got was very big and spacious. Colours are mostly white, so you get a really calm feeling in the room. The beds are to die for, you just sink in and fall asleep.
One negative point for me, which is quite important: noise. You do get a lot of noise in your room from surrounding rooms or from the hallway. I do hope they can fix this, because it can be a real nuisance if your neighbours decide to walk around in high heels or if they are people that like to talk much and loudly after they've been out.

There is a heated pool. For me, the temperature was a bit much, as I like to chill in the water from some hot sunbathing sessions, but on the other hand, it doens't take you 10 minutes to finally dare to get into the water.

The ocean is close by, it takes you 5 minutes to get there. Lots of great restaurants are close by, also 5 minutes walk or more depending on where you want to go.
This was my first solo travel, and partly due to the staff and the hotel, partly due to Miami and it's surroundings (Keys and Everglades), I had an amazing holiday. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot_VDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    521
    136
    39
    30
See reviews for
482
469
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Having stayed in south beach around 20 times, I can say the Pestana south beach is a hotel I would definitely stay at again. Here is a list of amenities and features that stand out above other hotels in the same price range: free, easy to access wifi, clean updated very spacious rooms, prompt helpful staff that carries out requests and even anticipates requests (told us if we wanted to use the pull out couch in our room to let them know by 3pm so that they could make up the bed), an empty refrigerator, clean bright beautiful pool and bar area, no waiting for elevators, had a minor issue with drain in the bathroom they sent someone up right away and it was fixed. This hotel has a great location quiet street, one small block from Collins Ave. I would highly recommend the Pestana south beach to anyone looking for great location, knowledgeable staff, clean, updated rooms and exterior, and comfortable beds!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovevacations09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverSpring MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had a wonderful time at this hotel. What made it such a great experience was the very friendly and helpful staff. They made me feel right at home,answered all my questions and seemed genuinely interested in how my trip was going and what they could do to help. In particular Steven, Liz, Andre,Gndri and Moije was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: A room on the other side of the pool is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpostphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was staying at this hotel from the 28th until just now and from the moment of check in until check out we had a pleasant stay. We received excellent service from Edward , from the cafe , and great service from the front desk staff Alvaro and Sebastian.. The only downside was the relation to the cleaning staff whomever is responsible for the room is really poor. We had to call several times for items to delivered to the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked to stay here from a recommendation of booking.com, worst decision ever.
No doubt, the location and tardiness of the hotel is very good, although the service and amenities leave a lot to be desired.
Upon arrival, we were greeted with rude and unhelpful customer service.
Ignoring are questions regarding the general services, and not empathising with our eleven hour trip from the UK.
We were made to wait at reception with poor explanation for over 3 hours, as well as accusations falase accusations of credit card fraud.
Not only was this embarrassing, but emotionally and mentally draining - which was not the start to the holiday we had hoped for.
I believe the horrific customer service we experienced at the start, lead to a poor level of service from then onwards, and lack of respect and patronising behaviour from their staff.
I'm a realise and understand not everywhere can be perfect, but I wouldn't ever recommend anyone staying here. You will do a lot better looking elsewhere and spending your money wisely.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cronaldo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
I regret we were not able to provide you with the customer service you were expecting.
Our goal is always to exceed guest’s expectations and it’s never easy to hear that we were unable to do so.
Unfortunately we were not able to track your reservation as we do not have your name on your comment so I would like to kindly ask you if you could contact me directly with further details.
Again, thank you for your comments and hope to hear from you soon
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford,CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We made a last minute reservation at this newly renovated South Beach Hotel. Great location for all SB activities. Ocean a two block walk. Beautiful Infiniti Pool. Service is what made this hotel a delight from check in to check out. Pedro,Lizi,Edward,Alvaro,Ivan,and Schar had us feeling like family. No need went unanswered. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Hotel location is very good and what you get for the price is good value.
The room was very spacious although is was nice to have more space available to store clothes and your personal items.
The decoration is cozy and clean, the perfect style for South Beach.
The service was good and everybody was very friendly, fulfilling every request made
The breakfast was regular, nothing special, but it is the average you get in Miami Beach.

Congratulations and keep the good working!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenriqueSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#59 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Impala Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing