We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The service was awful the rooms were never clean front desk would look at me every time if would complain about something the location is okay not great I will not be coming back. The pool is freezing by the way no bellmans to help me with luggage.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolcuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear "Coolcuts",
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are sorry to hear we were not able to provide you the experience you were looking for.
I would like to be able to contact you personally and discuss further details of your stay.
We were very surprised on your comments regarding our location and the swimming pool temperature as these are one of the most referenced strengths of our hotel.
We are centrally located on South Beach, just a block away from the beach and the Conference Center and 2 blocks from Lincoln Road. Our swimming pool is heated and we keep the water temperature at 90F (32C).
Again, please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you have experienced at our Hotel and do not hesitate to contact me directly should you give another chance to change your perception of our services.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    549
    143
    43
    30
See reviews for
515
490
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Pestana South Beach as a lucky dip hotel thru one of the major booking websites and was first disappointed, but they got better and better thru the stay.
The hotel itself did open in March or April 2013. So the furniture, beds and other equipment is kind of nice and in well shape - but they got some problems with service, especially with their housekeeping. Nearly every day something was missing, the first new soap I got after 5 days, shampoo and showergel were also forgotten untill I did ask for it. Same with new coffeepads, sugar and cream. At least it was clean and you easily got towels for the pool or beach. Pool is ok, could be a lil less heated but I think this is for the good for the guys who prefere to swimm at night. By the way ut is kind of cool that you do not have to get out at 6 or 8 pm but they just ask you to behave quietly and then you can go for a swimm even at 11pm.
The location is the best point about the Pestana SoBe, just one block away from the beautiful beach a 5 minute walk from Lincoln Road and maybe 7-8 minutes from Ocean Dive.
The got also very friendly staff, especially the bellman, front desk and the assistant GM were very nice and helpful. After all I would give them 4 of 5 as rating hoping, that they will improve to deserve they 4 stars. At this point they remind me more a 3 or 3.5 star hotel (mostly due to their careless housekeeping).

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGregstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Just two small blocks away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and a few blocks away from the Lincoln shopping area this is a most covenient place to stay. Great friendly service, clean modern rooms, free internet

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hecya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by two lovely gentleman who were so sweet, enthusiastic, and complimentary. I do not recall their names but if you are greeted by them you will know exactly who I'm talking about! But the best part of the trip was meeting the most friendly helpful people who worked poolside and at the café. I got very close with them and some of their names are; Lizi, Moises, Andre, and Yoany. They were the most pleasant people I have come across in along time. Not only was the hotel beautiful and located right by the beach and the shops but the staff made my experience ALOT more wonderful! Had a great time, would recommend this to anyone who is taking a trip to Miami. One of the best I have stayed at!

Thanks to the staff you were all outstanding! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaellaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Started off great....welcoming and friendly staff at checkin. Hotel is aesthetically pleasing and in a great location....only minutes from Lincoln. Pool is also lovely and nice to spend time lounging around.

The biggest issues were 1) the noise...walls are thin, which is to be expected in a hotel but you can hear everything from the hallway when people come in late. If you are a light sleeper this can be an issue. 2) the wall, floors and tile in the room need a good scrub. Both of these issues certainly didn't ruin my stay, but made it far less enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wonderful experience. The staff upon arrival was welcoming. Bellman was courteous and helpful. Self parking was a couple blocks away at a valet garage. $30 a day. But this is SoBe which is about average. Just would've been nice if you didn't have to drive yourself for drop off. Room had a nice comfy king bed. No room for luggage but other than that very nice. Rooms kinda small but ok for Art Deco area. Breakfast was not impressive, but other services from pool bar were good. Being 1 block from beach and 2 blocks from Lincoln Rd makes location great.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent my 33 bday in Miami. We usually stay at the Shelborne so imagine my surprised when I was told we were going some where different. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. It was a great location one block from the beach (and not country blocks) and was gorgeous on the inside.
When we checked in we were greeted by Maxiaro soba who made sure that we were more than happy with our sleeping arrangements for the night. When were arrived @ our room I was more than impressed our room the room was amazing.
We spent several of our nights at the bar area with who I must say are the best hotel staff in south beach Alvaro, Orbin, and Andre thanks you for make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Impala Hotel
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
La Flora
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing