We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing! Loved this hotel and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #28 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing! Loved this hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We found this great hotel via an online reservation system; we wanted something close to everything and did not have to be right on the beach. This place was great! Wait, excellent! The staff was awesome, everyone from the bell boy, reception, pool bar restaurant staff, morning restaurant staff....
We went on this trip as four adults and 4 kids ranging from ages 4-9 staying for 2 days prior to our cruise. Now, where to start...
The outside of this hotel has a great lounge patio like area for you to sit back and relax if you like, which we did many times during our stay, either waiting for friends or having a drink at night. Once inside you will find a large sitting area as well as the reception and computer services. We arrived very early in the morning (7am) and the Hotel was great to lock up our bags for us and allowed us to enjoy the hotel facilities until our room would be ready. Also when we checked in we were providing a $20 discount for the rental of 2 beach chairs and umbrella on Miami beach, which we did use.We almost forgot to check on our pending room as were enjoying the pool area.
The pool area is fantastic, it is a court yard (some rooms face the pool) centered around an infinity pool, that was at least 100c. Some might say this is too warm but coming from our -12c temp at home it was great! There is a restaurant and bar that is extremely accessible from the pool/courtyard. There is even a sheltered bar height seating with tables that allow you to view the courtyard and allow you to feel fully outside.
The rooms are not extremely large but it is what you might expect from a boutique hotel, they were perfect for use as we had two queen (might have been double?) beds and there was still plenty of space for moving around getting ready for the day or dinners. The decor was almost all white and gave you that very modern feeling. Our room was equipped with a large flat screen TV, small fridge (which was very helpful) and a large desk space. The bathroom was very modern as well and ceramic floors were throughout the room/bathroom.
Location, location, location! Wow, we were 1.5 blocks from Miami beach (they allow you to take the hotel towels to the beach), Miami Beach Board Walk, only several blocks from Lincoln road, Espanola Way, (easy walking-even with our kids). Also about 8 blocks from Ocean Drive (New York style blocks though) but we still did it with the kids.

We did quit a bit of walking during our stay checking out the area but we made sure to thoughly enjoy the pool area. Surrounding the pool are many lounge chairs and several bed like lounge areas with cussions and framed with a white metal structure that allowed for curtains if it was too sunny, very resort like. The kids loved it as well.

We highly recommend the Mojito as this seemed to be the drink of this trip! We also ordered many muchies while chilling at the pool, the cheese fries were very different and a must have! The bar staff took awesome care of us as we sat pool side.

Honestly I cannot say enough good stuff about this hotel, we also ran into the hotel manager during our stay and could not help but glow about our stay and staff, we are now looking to find a reason to get back there... have a cruise pending for 2015 leaving from Miami, this will definately be our first stop!

Room Tip: Hard to say for a tip, we enjoyed the room that we received and so did our travelling partners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaybrewmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    483
    123
    38
    28
See reviews for
414
440
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Room reminds me of a poolside changing room. Wardrobe10" wide do we can't unpack. Pay 20 dollars extra per day to sit by the pool. Listen to people above clattering in their room, to folk yelling outside your window and up and down corridors. No breakfast included and grimy grouting in shower. Sadly we prepaid 3 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Contemporary hotel and clean. Like that it was blocks from action but not on a major street so could park right in front to unload. Showers had large water heads for max flow. Wifi solid. No gym. Breakfast basic. Pool not crowded although only up to five feet deep.

My room was closest to lobby. Very noisy at night when parties come home ( hey it's south beach). I asked for new room further from lobby and they accommodated me. Thanks.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room close to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallparkBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have absolutely no complaints about my stay in Pestana Hotel, Miami. The rooms were lovely, the location was fabulous and the service was brilliant. In particular the staff in the cafe went above and beyond in assisting me to make my stay comfortable - Steven, Moise and Endri were fabulous.

Room Tip: Lovely, relaxing pool and area - very comfortable and not too noisy or busy - a lovely get away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nice budget hotel (not sure if it has 3 or 4 stars, 2-3 stars would be fair).

I only stayed at this hotel for one night (checked in around 7 pm and checked out early next morning).

Nice, clean and spacious room (felt a little budget though). Hotel is divided in 3 separate building. Main building looked much nicer than the other 2 buildings. We stayed in building no 3, which seemed to have no elevator.

Nice pool area. Ok location of hotel. Staff at front desk were ok, but service level lower than on other hotels we stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BortaBra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Pestana 01/10/14 to 01/13/14 and were very pleased with the service.
It was much improved from the stay we had in Summer of 2013.
Location is very central to Convention Hall, Beach and Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Pestana in South Beach for two nights in Jan. We went for a volleyball tournament with our kids. Great location. Easy walk to the convention center and the beach. The staff were amazing from the time we showed up to the time we left. We had a incident with out bathroom shower door and all the staff to include the GM were very responsive. They moved us to a new room and were very helpful. The hotel was clean, the location was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#31 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Impala Hotel
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing