We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Miami South Beach
Ranked #27 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Upon arrival outside and lobby area looks great staff was helpful however, although room was paid for was told there would be an additional $50 per night hold placed on ccard which tied up $150 of spending money, in addition when I inquired about parking was told that it would be $30 per night yeah right. Lucky for me I was able to find street parking for free as I arrived on a Friday. The room although designed nicely felt boxy, no tub in bathroom or lid for toilet leaving my personals falling in the toilet I did not lol. no toilet paper holder no closet space. I was not impressed. I would never stay there again. still awaiting release of my $150 on hold.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3rdshift4trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,129)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Miami South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was a cute hotel located close to the beach and the conference center. It was clean and quaint. The staff was exceptional. They were super friendly and accommodating. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The pool was heated so even though our weekend was rainy and windy I was able to enjoy the warm pool. Check in/out process was quick and easy.

Cons: Parking is not included in the price. The nearest parking garage costs $30 a day to park.
There is only one parking spot for guest that need to unload/load their car in front of the hotel. We came at a busy time and had to wait for a significant time to be able to park so we can check in and get our bags. There is not even a place to wait so we had to drive around the block several times before we could park.
While enjoying the warm pool that windy day my clothes, towel, hat, and sunglasses were blown off the chair onto the ground. The bellboy accidently ran over my sun glasses with his luggage cart. He picked them up and place them on the chair I got out of the pool and my glasses were bent beyond use. They were inexpensive glasses (around $40) so I was not outraged just frustrated. I called the front desk and they sent the bell boy and he said he would get me a new pair or comp me the price. He asked me how much and I said $40, he asked me where I got them and I said Naples. He left and I laid down for a nap. A while later I was awakened by a knock at the door. It was the bell boy with a big smile and my sunglasses. He said "all better" and handed me the glasses. Half asleep I took them and said thank you. I laid on the bed and put the glasses on my face.....they were really lopsided...I looked and noticed that they were the same glasses he unsuccessfully tried to bend back into place. This really made me mad. I would have been happy if he had even attempted to bring a replacement but he did not. So unfortunately I left the hotel with a sour taste.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, we stayed in the back and there was no elevator to get to our room. We h...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1x2x3xLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were relocated to this hotel at short notice and was not sure what to expect. Once we got over the issue of the rooms allocated we enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Located on James Ave a short walk to the beach, local shops and nightlife. It is a pleasant art deco hotel with pleasant staff and house keeping. Nice pool area with good sun loungers. A nice area of Miami which was safe for walking around in the early hours of the morning (we were in Miami celebrating birthdays) Overall a great holiday in miami and the bonus was being there for halloween. Also made particularly memorable by the staff at this hotel. Andre and James, you are amazing and a credit to the hotel. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Large rooms on 2nd floor facing garden
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cota_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Pestana is located in James Av, just one block away from Collins Av, the heart of South Beach. Is a nice hotel, with good service and a enjoyable pool. From there you can walk to anywhere in South Beach.
The staff is very polite and multilingual.
A really good option for this popular area of Miami.

Room Tip: If you have a car, there is a garage nearby with a special rate for Pestana costumers. Take it. Is a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEBASTIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
It'll be a pleasure to serve you again in your next trip to Miami.
We hope to welcome you soon!
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is not the fanciest hotel but it's still pretty cute. I loved the decor of the room I stated in. It's a great location. The beach is 3-4 minutes away(walking). In addition to that, the staff members are very friendly. The only major issue is the elevator- it's sooooo slow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunchikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We were glad to understand your satisfaction regarding the room’s décor, location and mostly, the team attitude!
We look forward for your next visit.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is located in south beach miami.
The staff is very nice, they made us a upgrade on our room, Paolo the bellman is very funny and helpfull, anything you need just ask him.
You have Collins avenue just at 2 min walk.
The hotel is real art deco.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
When possible we do upgrade our guests in order to provide them the best possible experience at our property, we are glad to hear this was the case!
Thank you for your kind words to Paolo, we will surely share them with him.
Hope to have the chance to have as our guest in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A friend and I were searching the internet for a wonderful deco hotel on south beach - we certainly found one! We loved our large and luxurious deluxe king room, the lovely bathroom, and all the amenities - great pool and super comfortable pool seating - The best part was that every person we encountered was fabulous - no matter what role a staff member had, we were treated as esteemed guests - What a great way to spend a few days!!

Room Tip: The deluxe king was just a few dollars more than the regular room and was very spacious
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anamcara1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were delighted to hear you had the chance to experience Memorable Moments in our company!
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our facilities and team, we hope to welcome you again very soon.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,761 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 210 in Miami Beach
296 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#19 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,230 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#34 of 210 in Miami Beach
940 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miami South Beach

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Pestana Miami South Beach Art Deco Boutique Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $141 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Miami South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Pestana South Beach, an Art Deco Boutique Hotel in Miami, made up of 4 buildings with white and blue façades in the middle of Miami Beach. It is just 5 minutes from the waters of South Beach and only 9 minutes on foot from Lincoln Road, a truly open-air shopping centre. Here, you can immerse yourself in the most sophisticated side of architecture, culture and urban events, along with typical American beach culture. Close by, you can visit the Miami Beach Convention Center and the Miami Beach Golf Club. The Pestana Miami South Beach offers a courtyard where you will find a heated indoor swimming pool, a Bistro and a Bar. It offers a car park for a fee, a business centre, beach service, concierge and bike rental services so that you can get to know the city. Rooms include free internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing