We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Miami South Beach
Ranked #27 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a good quiet location. The front desk in the morning check in was very helpful. The hotel was nicely decorated in the art deco decor. The room was clean and nice. The pool was very nice and relaxing but in our room the AC stopped working around 11:30 at night the maintenance came up to fix it before we went out. Then around 4:00am the AC broke again and then the room had a noise from the AC compressor. When we check out and told the front desk clerk she did not care she said no manager on duty. Another maintenance person was standing by the front desk and he said we had a bad location of room and rolled his eyes because he said we must of opened the window and that is why the AC stopped working. They did not care that we had no AC and a loud noise in room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tylergr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your very kind comments regarding our location and hotel facilities, namely the swimming pool area, rooms and general décor.
We are very sorry to hear we were not able to resolve the air conditioning problem. The satisfaction of every single guest is our main priority and I can assure you that we do care - please accept my sincere apologies.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit to Miami.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Miami South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with and amazeing staff! This was my very first time booking online and i would mostly defiantly do it again! The Pestana was exactly what i expected and more. The pictures were the same and not misleading at all. The hotel is clealy in walking distance from everything and im so glad i didnt choose any other hotel for the price i paid. Me and my bestfriend came to Miami for my 27th bday and with the help of this great hotel and staff its was the best ever!!!!!!
Staff:
The staff was great from the time we were let out the taxi and Daniel (the bell hop) greeted us at the street to take our bags in. We arrived a few hours before check in So Marie (front desk clerk) allowed us to store our bags for free until it was time to checkin. She also gave us the option to swim at the pool and provided us with a map of the area and informed us where all the stores and eatting places were. The restaurant hotel "The Mermaid" was great the food was on point and very inexpensive. We stayed at this Hotel for 4nights and we ate here majority of the time! The waiter and waitress the worked from lunch to close were great and their customer service was great and they were very helpful!

The one and only bad thing was they ran out of small white face towels but it was no biggie the explained to us and apologized! So im assumeing the guest weren't turning them in are allowing them to pick them up but they kept asking for them. But keep in mind this hotel was very busy becuase there was people checkin in around the clock. But as soon as they got them cleaned they issued us some .

I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I ever have the pleasure of visiting Miami South Beach!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deleisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor!
We are pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you had a fantastic time with us.
We will share your kind comments with our team.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Hotel!
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife. my daughter and I chose the very impressive Pestana over all the others - this was to celebrate our 25 year wedding anniversary. On the 26th June both of our room cards required a reset. That evening an Ipad and $500 in cash was stolen from our room. The manager stated that my key was used (whilst we were miles away) suggesting a key cloning scam.
The theft really spoiled our holiday so best beware - note that they have safes in the rooms but they are not fixed to anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After having read a lot of reviews I found this hotel. Very friendly staff, lobby light and airy. The room was great. Everything was modern, brand new and functional. Some loud guests at night but that is the price you pay if you elect to live in a party district. Hotel is on a side street just two blocks from the ocean. Hotel was previously an apartment complex and the hotel was finished Feb of 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were delighted to read your satisfaction concerning our team attitude, hotel amenities and location and the most important thing that you were able to enjoy your time with us, thank you!
Hope to have the change to welcome you in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent 4 days in Pestana with my 4 friends and we really enjoyed our stay.
hotel is situated very close to all entertaining clubs, pubs and restaurants ( close to Collins and ocean Drive/ however you can not hear nosiy city at all. It's also very well located from logistic point of view if you want to go to the beach , to the city or to the mall/ super convenient bus transportation/
breakfasts are really cool, in comparison to many other hotels and all is prepared very stylish, and taste well/ fruit salads are really amazing.
customer service is changing, one day a barman who gave me lot's of drinks had been fired on the next day:-) so the rotation of personel is a bit quirky.
housekeeping sometimes cleans only one bed/ out of two/ but all in all, it's really nice hotel with a very chilling out atmosphere without any noisy surrounding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Hotel.
We appreciate your detailed description concerning our location. As you refer, Pestana South Beach is centrally located but at the same time in a very quiet area, allowing our guests to walk to all Miami main attractions and at the same time to relax and enjoy a “Chill out” environment!
We are sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with the Housekeeping services you were expecting and I would like to guarantee you our daily effort in order to improve our customer service and overall experience.
Hope to welcome you again at our property very soon.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the 2nd day we were there, Housekeeping cleaned our room, but took all the towels and didn't bring any back. We told the desk that evening, but nothing happened. Took almost 24 hours for us to get towels. Nobody apologized. Lots of smiles from staff, but no apology. Then our room cards didn't work. We had to get them reprogramed.
And no coffee for the in room coffee maker all four days.
A nice hotel, centrally located. nice pool.
But the staff seems clueless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
We were sorry to understand that your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies.
Your comments have been shared with our team in order to avoid similar future situations.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The artsy decor along with the clean and great location of the Pestana hotel on South beach makes it a wonderful place to stay. It is located right in the center of all the entertainment venues which made cost of traveling by taxi very inexpensive. The beach is a block over and there is a great 24 hour restaurant around the corner. The staff at Pestana were amazing. They made sure that we were well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel!
We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and we were pleased that you were taken care of!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,761 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 210 in Miami Beach
296 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#19 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,231 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#34 of 210 in Miami Beach
940 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miami South Beach

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Pestana Miami South Beach Art Deco Boutique Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $143 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Miami South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Pestana South Beach, an Art Deco Boutique Hotel in Miami, made up of 4 buildings with white and blue façades in the middle of Miami Beach. It is just 5 minutes from the waters of South Beach and only 9 minutes on foot from Lincoln Road, a truly open-air shopping centre. Here, you can immerse yourself in the most sophisticated side of architecture, culture and urban events, along with typical American beach culture. Close by, you can visit the Miami Beach Convention Center and the Miami Beach Golf Club. The Pestana Miami South Beach offers a courtyard where you will find a heated indoor swimming pool, a Bistro and a Bar. It offers a car park for a fee, a business centre, beach service, concierge and bike rental services so that you can get to know the city. Rooms include free internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing