We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“watch out theres a thief about” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #28 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“watch out theres a thief about”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife. my daughter and I chose the very impressive Pestana over all the others - this was to celebrate our 25 year wedding anniversary. On the 26th June both of our room cards required a reset. That evening an Ipad and $500 in cash was stolen from our room. The manager stated that my key was used (whilst we were miles away) suggesting a key cloning scam.
The theft really spoiled our holiday so best beware - note that they have safes in the rooms but they are not fixed to anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    599
    152
    45
    31
See reviews for
561
563
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

After having read a lot of reviews I found this hotel. Very friendly staff, lobby light and airy. The room was great. Everything was modern, brand new and functional. Some loud guests at night but that is the price you pay if you elect to live in a party district. Hotel is on a side street just two blocks from the ocean. Hotel was previously an apartment complex and the hotel was finished Feb of 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were delighted to read your satisfaction concerning our team attitude, hotel amenities and location and the most important thing that you were able to enjoy your time with us, thank you!
Hope to have the change to welcome you in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent 4 days in Pestana with my 4 friends and we really enjoyed our stay.
hotel is situated very close to all entertaining clubs, pubs and restaurants ( close to Collins and ocean Drive/ however you can not hear nosiy city at all. It's also very well located from logistic point of view if you want to go to the beach , to the city or to the mall/ super convenient bus transportation/
breakfasts are really cool, in comparison to many other hotels and all is prepared very stylish, and taste well/ fruit salads are really amazing.
customer service is changing, one day a barman who gave me lot's of drinks had been fired on the next day:-) so the rotation of personel is a bit quirky.
housekeeping sometimes cleans only one bed/ out of two/ but all in all, it's really nice hotel with a very chilling out atmosphere without any noisy surrounding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Hotel.
We appreciate your detailed description concerning our location. As you refer, Pestana South Beach is centrally located but at the same time in a very quiet area, allowing our guests to walk to all Miami main attractions and at the same time to relax and enjoy a “Chill out” environment!
We are sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with the Housekeeping services you were expecting and I would like to guarantee you our daily effort in order to improve our customer service and overall experience.
Hope to welcome you again at our property very soon.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

the 2nd day we were there, Housekeeping cleaned our room, but took all the towels and didn't bring any back. We told the desk that evening, but nothing happened. Took almost 24 hours for us to get towels. Nobody apologized. Lots of smiles from staff, but no apology. Then our room cards didn't work. We had to get them reprogramed.
And no coffee for the in room coffee maker all four days.
A nice hotel, centrally located. nice pool.
But the staff seems clueless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
We were sorry to understand that your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies.
Your comments have been shared with our team in order to avoid similar future situations.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The artsy decor along with the clean and great location of the Pestana hotel on South beach makes it a wonderful place to stay. It is located right in the center of all the entertainment venues which made cost of traveling by taxi very inexpensive. The beach is a block over and there is a great 24 hour restaurant around the corner. The staff at Pestana were amazing. They made sure that we were well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel!
We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and we were pleased that you were taken care of!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

my experience at the hotel was very good and bad. I really liked the attention at the reception, I really liked the large room, cleaning was not very good and one of the things that was very bad for me was the part of Mr Paolo offered me an apartment wider more modern and better located in my next stay in Miami because I told him that always come to miami.very unprofessional employee selling his business at the place he works ?? very unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our cleaning service and the attitude of some of our team members, please accept my apologies.
I can assure you that we have taken actions to avoid similar situations to occur in the future.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel (that opened up on february 2013) for two days. The rooms were very clean and the beds amazing comfortable. The pool in the middle of the complex is beautiful. Price is ok for what you get and the good location.

There were two problems though, the desk service was very friendly but mixed up our reservations a few times and this seemed really weird. On the other hand there were people hanging in the pool area almost all night laughing and listening to music and no staff did check or care about that.

I would highly recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: King size bed was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your last stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
I apologize for the “mixed up” with your reservation and for not being able to resolve promptly the night noise by the swimming pool.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of out beds and the hotel facilities.
We all hope to welcome you again very soon and have a “perfect” stay with us.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Circa 39 Hotel
#32 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
La Flora
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
The Shepley Hotel
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing