We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff that will leave a lasting impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Miami South Beach
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The artsy decor along with the clean and great location of the Pestana hotel on South beach makes it a wonderful place to stay. It is located right in the center of all the entertainment venues which made cost of traveling by taxi very inexpensive. The beach is a block over and there is a great 24 hour restaurant around the corner. The staff at Pestana were amazing. They made sure that we were well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel!
We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and we were pleased that you were taken care of!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

my experience at the hotel was very good and bad. I really liked the attention at the reception, I really liked the large room, cleaning was not very good and one of the things that was very bad for me was the part of Mr Paolo offered me an apartment wider more modern and better located in my next stay in Miami because I told him that always come to miami.very unprofessional employee selling his business at the place he works ?? very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our cleaning service and the attitude of some of our team members, please accept my apologies.
I can assure you that we have taken actions to avoid similar situations to occur in the future.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel (that opened up on february 2013) for two days. The rooms were very clean and the beds amazing comfortable. The pool in the middle of the complex is beautiful. Price is ok for what you get and the good location.

There were two problems though, the desk service was very friendly but mixed up our reservations a few times and this seemed really weird. On the other hand there were people hanging in the pool area almost all night laughing and listening to music and no staff did check or care about that.

I would highly recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: King size bed was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your last stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
I apologize for the “mixed up” with your reservation and for not being able to resolve promptly the night noise by the swimming pool.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of out beds and the hotel facilities.
We all hope to welcome you again very soon and have a “perfect” stay with us.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our stay here started with having to drag our suitcases up the hotel steps under the watchful gaze of the concierge and didn't get any better from there. We were given a room where the air con was broken ( the panel hanging off the wall was a good clue). They moved us to an inferior room and literally dumped the additional supplies as the room was meant for single occupancy. The hotel guests were much younger and I was woken by people in the pool at 4am. Didn't enjoy this hotel. To make matters worse they have taken an additional sum of money from my credit card after my return to the uk with no notice. Not happy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked the two bedroom suite at the Pestana hotel, for a long weekend with my friends (June 14th). I loved the pool, and I loved the two bedroom suite...initially. It was very modern, appeared clean, had two levels, a private outside roof deck, and several balconies. After a long day and night of Miami fun, my friend pulled back her covers to discover her sheets were NOT clean. So, then of course we start to believe the entire place is not clean. If they can't bother to ensure sheets that are not only washed but APPEAR clean then what else is dirty just below the surface? When we called to complain, it was virtually impossible to get anyone at the front desk to answer the phone. It just rings and rings and rings. Then eventually a message comes on saying the ‘subscriber is not available’, as if you are calling a cell phone that is roaming. When I finally did talk to someone I was told, ‘the housekeeping staff is off duty, but we can bring up some sheets and you can use the mini bar since you were not happy with the condition of your bed.’ I found the response to be dismissive, as if some overpriced candy and bottled water make up for dirty sheets in a SUITE. Additionally, the pull out couch did not pull out and convert to a bed. We called and complained about that as well.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating when you could reach them. Which generally had to be done face to face as their phone system is obviously not equipped to run a hotel. There is also some bizzre wiring in the rooms, the light switches operate everything from the TV to other rooms in the suite. It’s hard to figure out which light controls which part of the electricity in the suite, and there are no informative signs near the switches to make guests aware of this glitch. Lastly, two of my friends were staying another day in Miami and attempted book a room at Pestana. The room they showed her was filled with used pool cushions! She said it smelled like mildew and the person showing her the room apologized that they even took her to look at…I will say they ended up letting her stay in the two bedroom suite an additional night for the same price of a regular room. This could be a wonderful hotel, if they just got their act together. It’s a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Pestana for three days and loved it! They immediately made us feel very welcome, and it almost felt like a home away from home. The rooms were a little small, but we really liked the layout, having the sink and mirror outside the bathroom. The pool area was great and relaxing. James in the reseption was really great. So was the guy working (everyday from 3pm-11pm) in the pool area and the bar, he was very attentive, efficient and polite. The food at the hotel was excellent.

We missed a few minor details though. There was no door hanger that said "do not disturb", the coffee in the room could have been better, and a few other things, but not to big as we cannot remember them now.

Housekeeping on the other hand were a little disoriented. At one point they placed a crib in our room which was for someone else, one night our towels ended up hanging out all night, they were never recovered (this was housekeeping's responsibility), and they seemed like they were walking all over and doing nothing...

I can definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, for the price it is a bargain!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misslinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, room was clean and comfortable. Room service was OK - they would try and clean the room very early in the morning so we went a couple of days without it being cleaned (they did not return during the day).

Pool area was awesome and the service at the restaurant really impressive!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana Miami South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are sorry to hear that we fail to clean your room, as you refer, we try to do the cleaning as soon as possible and if we are not able to do it immediately we keep trying to do it until the closing hour of the housekeeping cleaning operation.
We appreciate your great comments on our swimming pool area and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Café & Mermaid Bistro service.
Hope to welcome you again.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
372 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,554 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,327 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#33 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miami South Beach

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Pestana Miami South Beach Art Deco Boutique Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $187 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Miami South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Pestana South Beach, an Art Deco Boutique Hotel in Miami, made up of 4 buildings with white and blue façades in the middle of Miami Beach. It is just 5 minutes from the waters of South Beach and only 9 minutes on foot from Lincoln Road, a truly open-air shopping centre. Here, you can immerse yourself in the most sophisticated side of architecture, culture and urban events, along with typical American beach culture. Close by, you can visit the Miami Beach Convention Center and the Miami Beach Golf Club. The Pestana Miami South Beach offers a courtyard where you will find a heated indoor swimming pool, a Bistro and a Bar. It offers a car park for a fee, a business centre, beach service, concierge and bike rental services so that you can get to know the city. Rooms include free internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing