We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #26 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here about a week ago. We didn't have any issues with checking in nor checking out. The shower curtain isn't long enough which quickly made the bathroom floor very wet depending on how long you were in there...the water pressure isn't that great either. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis except for one time I had to ask someone to clean, but upon our return there were no complaints. The location is great if you want to be close enough to the beach and restaurants, but still far enough to get a good night's sleep. We walked everywhere, so again I will say the location is amazing and you can't beat this hotel's price compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the third building on the first floor...room 3106..definitely not the best view, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickoleGambrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important for us as is from our guest’s feedback that we will be able to improve our services in order to achieve our guest expectations.
We appreciate your kind comments on our location.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Art Deco in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    728
    193
    56
    34
See reviews for
768
703
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
l
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Terrible front desk:
1. The room wasn't ready at 4.30 pm when we arrived, we got the room at 6.30pm, we weren't given an explanation, nor a glass of water or anything else... 2. we made a reservation for 2 rooms at the front desk for the next week and the reservation was all wrong, they didn't have the rooms the day we arrived again.. 3. again in the same reservation we were told breakfeast and parking was included, confirmed at check-in, but at check out that wasn't the case. Etc...

Rooms:
1. since it's a new hotel we were expecting much more of the rooms... 2. at arrival we got used towels!!! 3. the rooms weren't clean (plenty of body hair, dirt and stains in the floor). 4. very noisy. One night we got the fire alarm, and nobody came to tell what was happening or no escuse in the morning... 5. rooms are small, they fit the king bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieDarricau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We regret to have learned that your experience with us at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel was not all that you hoped for.
Our goal is always to exceed guest's expectations and it’s never easy to hear that we were unable to do so.
We would love for you to give us another chance, and if you decide you would like to take us up on that offer, please feel free to contact me directly.
We hope to welcome you back!
Kind Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This little quaint hotel is located in the heart of South Beach, Miami--perfect location. No car needed! We were less than one mile from the beach and we were surrounded by tons of food and shopping. The room was very new and clean. We were impressed with how nice and modern this little boutique hotel was. Nice flat screen tv, cable included.

Our only bad thing is the housekeeping. Our rooms were never really cleaned. They never replaces towels and they never added more toilet paper. Sounds silly but it's actually very annoying and you'd expect more from
Such a nice place.
Other than that I'd stay here again and highly recommend it! Oh, they also have nowhere for you to put your soap and shampoo--kinda weird. I'd still stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suegal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are delighted with your comments regarding our location, rooms, décor and facilities!
I regret we were not able to provide you with the housekeeping services you were expecting for and I can assure you that since your visit major improvements have been made – We have just finished the installation of corner shelves in all showers.
Again, thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

1. Terrible service at front desk. Examples:
- asked for a wake-up call and didn't get it. Meant we overslept and were late to dinner.
- had to call five times to get an extra comforter

2. Poor room quality for the price. Examples:
- cold shower in the bathroom.
- some rooms do not have a separation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom, so the water goes everywhere
- "king bed" consisted of two twin beds pushed together
- noise in the hallway at night
- drinking glasses had lipstick stains on them

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAF1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding our property.
We are very disappointed to read your comments regarding our Front desk service and all the deficiencies occurred during your stay.
Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our supervising team and appropriate action taken to ensure that such an experience is not repeated.
I cannot apologize enough for your experience and hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

When we booked this, we did not know that this was their 2nd night to be open. Yes they were having difficulties, but nothing that couldn't be overcome. The location is great for the Miami Boat Show. We pretty much walked every where. We did not request a handicap accessible room. We had the run of house & got a handicapped room. It does need more shelf space in bathroom, but the room was really big. Also really nice to have fridge in room too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pestana recently. We had room 3101 which had a little fenced yard on the street with two loungers and club chair. We felt transported to a little Miami Beach townhome, and felt very at home. All the decor is new and fresh, though starting to show signs of wear in the cleanliness of the white tile floor and some of the furniture in the lobby. Management will have to get on top of this to keep things fresh.

Despite presence of many 20-somethings in the hotel this Saturday night, our room was quiet, and our bed comfortable. We loved the location close to both Lincoln road and the beach, but far enough away, out of ear shot. Front desk and bell staff very helpful. We didn't have any food or beverage, just a quick stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissusKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we were very happy with our stay, the hotel is brand new, rooms was simple, clean and good in size. staff were friendly and helpful. the location is perfect, close to lincoln road, but without all the noise of ocean drive.

we were allocated a room close to reception, which was noisy, we could hear the young guests on the upper floor. but member of staff on duty (alvaro?) was very efficient in allocating us to a quieter room, which was perfect and we could hear nothing.

breakfast was good, not luxurious, but then the hotel is not a five star, so i wouldn't expect it to be. the cappuccinos were specially good!

ps - http://myseastoryblog.com/2013/05/06/pestana-miami/

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myseastory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
272 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,193 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Shepley Hotel
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
636 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
431 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing