We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

WARNING: THIS REVIEW IS GOING TO BE COMPLETELY HONEST AND KINDA LONG. I haven’t written many reviews on hotels (and trust me I have stayed in plenty), mainly because as the saying goes if you don’t have something nice to say then don’t say anything at all. Plus the fact that most of the time I feel you have to take all trip advisor, yelp-esque review sites with a grain of salt because most of the time people only have negative things to say. Well, I am not one to complain but I feel like something has to be said especially because this is a new hotel and they are still working out the kinks. If anything, I want other guests to know my experiences and hopefully the hotel will be able to improve based on guests like me, who have stayed here in the opening months.

So let’s begin with the Good:
1.) James at the front desk was awesome, he tried his best to help us even though they we completely booked (no rooms available), and I’m sure that has not happened yet, or at least often enough since they just opened in February 2013. When our shower head broke, we stopped by the desk on our way out to the beach and by the time we got back he had someone fix it and it was not a problem. Plus he came to the rescue, when we were checking in (see the ugly below).
2.) The beds are SUPER comfy, granted was I intoxicated and/or exhausted by the time I hit the pillow? Yes!!!
3.) The room was huge, considering other boutique hotels in the area. We stayed in a deluxe, and had a corner room at the end of the hall, and could barely hear anything or anyone in the hallways, let alone outside.
4.) Great Location
5.) Pool is nice, and hotel food is good! I had a burger and fries and the food was way better than the food we got over at the Surfcomber, where our friends were staying.

The Bad:
1.) We wore flip flops around the room after the first night because the floor was FILTHY, sure white tile floors do get dirty, scuffed, but this is a brand new hotel right? It made me wonder if they even cleaned the floor which I’m guessing they did not the entire three days we stayed there.
2.) As soon, as I got in the shower I noticed a couple of strands of hair that were not mine, I’m pretty sure they were from previous guest EWWWWW! So again we basically wore flip flops everywhere in the room.
3.) I usually bring my own shampoos, etc., but noticed they did not throw away the half used body wash that was nicely placed back on the sink in the bathroom. Again, EWWWW!
4.) On one of the days when we got back from the beach they cleaned the room but did not replenish the towels. So we couldn’t take a shower, this wasn’t too bad as we only waited about 20 minutes for them to bring new ones, but in the scheme of things how do you forget the towels?
5.) The next day we had towels, but no wash cloths, and the cleaning crew never emptied our trash, which again didn’t help my theory of a not so bueno/nonexistent cleaning service.

The Ugly:
1.) As other reviewers have written the service is either slow or nonexistent at the front desk. When we arrived Tatiana would barely look up at us. My friend had already arrived earlier and was told our room was not ready, fine because she was early but when I arrived after 5pm and Tatiana said our room was still not ready (check in is at 4:00pm). I logically asked when it would be ready? Instead of answering my question she proceeded to talk to someone who just bombarded the front desk with questions. Instead of saying, please wait I am checking them in at the moment, she proceeded to speak to the other guest. I guess I have to learn Portuguese because apparently with her that’s the only way you will get things done.
2.) Then I asked her about the hotels Price Match guarantee as we had submitted a form when we booked at the hotel as I had found a cheaper rate on another travel site. I should have known as we did not receive any type of confirmation, or e-mail from the hotel after submitting the form. She proceeded to tell me that they had no such service even though it is written plain as day on their website. At that point James jumped in and basically saved us from having to speak to a manager. Especially because we were obviously new guest and not acknowledging and rudely ignoring us to speak to other hotel guests is a no no in hotel service etiquette 101.
3.) Technically Tatiana and James checked us in, but I know my friend handed her card to Tatiana to put a $50 charge for incidentals, well when we checked out we were told she would get the $50 back, but when she checked to see if the charge had been removed she saw a $500.00 PENDING CHARGE!!! Of course when she called the hotel back (literally from the taxi to the airport), no one was answering. It took another 30 minutes to get a hold of someone and be guaranteed that the charges would be removed.

There you have it, there is more, but this basically highlights our stay at The Pestana. Will I stay there again? No. Did I still have a great time with friends in South Beach? Yes! That’s what really matters, and in 20 years I probably won’t even remember the hotels name.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colochita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    489
    124
    38
    28
See reviews for
422
444
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I liked this hotel mainly because it has recently opened and therefore everything was new. The bed, bed linen, towels, robes were all of good quality and clean. The bedrooms are simply fitted out, (for example, the wardrobe just had a curtain and no door) however they are clean and a reasonable size. I thought a seat in the bedroom would have been useful to put clothes on etc.

The parking is in a public park about a 3 or 4 minute walk away and is quite expensive. I'm not sure if there was vaet parking but it was not advertised.

The downside to this hotel was:

1. there is only one lift which is painfully slow. Be prepared to wait a long time for the lift to arrive.
2. the sound proofing between the rooms and the hall is non-existent. You can hear every whisper in the hallway.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lifts as the sound proofing in the room is non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First I will start with the good. Which isn't much. Daniel the doorman (luggage boy) was great! He made us feel very welcome. Everyone who worked at the cafe were great!

So that's it.

Here comes the bad... THE FRONT DESK: horrible, horrible horrible. The girl at the front desk, yeah her. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. If you have a question, she's clueless. How do you work there? She wouldn't greet, look, or even smile at us. Very rude and very nasty.

Calling room service and expecting help is a fail too.

Overall, it is a beautiful hotel. But more of a do it yourself hotel. I honestly wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vc028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location, poor service, cheap quality of everything throughout the hotel. Service is horrible. Make sure you pack your own clothes iron and blow dryer. Because they dont offer you one, and they only have enough for a limited amount of rooms. Rooms are small which was okay. Plastic glass wear. Small safe, not big enough for a ladies purse. Rude staff. And all though they were recently remodeled the hallways and rooms look very beat up/ dirty because the lack of care of the employees, house keeping, and managers... overall... spend the extra money to stay somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtwilson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is brand new, with a clean modern decoration, room and bathroom with a nice size, very confortable beds and white floor tiles (perfect for a beach hotel). The free breakfast was good, with few but nice quality itens. The location is great, close to the beach, walking distance to everything, in a silent neighborhood. Wifi works well everywhere. The small buildings have 3 floors with no elevators - what can be a problem if you have heavy luggage and probably no help, considering the hotel lack of employees. I came back to my room at 7pm and it wasn't cleaned yet. I complained with the reception and at 8pm I asked a housekeeper who I met by chance in the corridor to clean my room. She changed the towels and said she would come back in 15 min, what didn't happen (and I just found out when I arrived late at night). Late checkout wasn't possible and I had to wait 40 minutes for someone to pick up my luggage in my room. I would recommend the hotel if they improve the service.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, be aware ther are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adigo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 3 days after its opening. They have restored 3 or 4 buildings from the 40´s; pure art-deco style. Very nice! All rooms and common areas are decorated with wall photos from the 40´s/50´s.
My room was a standard room (Art Deco King Bed). Good size room and bathroom. Comfortable bed, iPod dock station, etc. Bathroom materials are not first quality, but are ok. Free wifi in all areas worked perfectly.
The street is residential and silent, but could here noise from the hall and lift.
Location is excellent for those who don´t mind missing an ocean view and want to stay away from busy Ocean Drive. Only 2 blocks from the beach and 4 blocks from Lincoln Road. Good restaurants in the neighborhood.
Breaksfast is included and well served. Swimming pool looked good (bigger than most boutique hotels), but didn´t use it.
No parking lot at site. They say there is payed vallet service, but actually you are the vallet, since you need to drive your car 2 blocks away to the garage building.

Pestana is a good Portuguese hotel chain and this is their first hotel in the US. I am sure they will do their best to provide good service. Staff speaks also Portuguese.

Rate was lower than equivalent options in the area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lenamaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is 4 classic buildings from the 1940s restored and updated. The Deco is the key - and there are good good things going on here. First, the hotel is 2 blocks from the beach. Next, it is on a quiet residential street, no noise, bars, or traffic to be found. Then it is a nice size, not too big - or tiny (about 100 rooms). Free breakfast, all new rooms with puffy beds, nice bathrooms, and great retro photos on the wall. The price is fair, and the staff very welcoming. Oh, and all the shops on Lincoln rd are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Free wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepelevoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Impala Hotel
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing