We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Horrible service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Ranked #27 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First I will start with the good. Which isn't much. Daniel the doorman (luggage boy) was great! He made us feel very welcome. Everyone who worked at the cafe were great!

So that's it.

Here comes the bad... THE FRONT DESK: horrible, horrible horrible. The girl at the front desk, yeah her. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. If you have a question, she's clueless. How do you work there? She wouldn't greet, look, or even smile at us. Very rude and very nasty.

Calling room service and expecting help is a fail too.

Overall, it is a beautiful hotel. But more of a do it yourself hotel. I honestly wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vc028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    518
    134
    39
    30
See reviews for
477
466
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location, poor service, cheap quality of everything throughout the hotel. Service is horrible. Make sure you pack your own clothes iron and blow dryer. Because they dont offer you one, and they only have enough for a limited amount of rooms. Rooms are small which was okay. Plastic glass wear. Small safe, not big enough for a ladies purse. Rude staff. And all though they were recently remodeled the hallways and rooms look very beat up/ dirty because the lack of care of the employees, house keeping, and managers... overall... spend the extra money to stay somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtwilson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is brand new, with a clean modern decoration, room and bathroom with a nice size, very confortable beds and white floor tiles (perfect for a beach hotel). The free breakfast was good, with few but nice quality itens. The location is great, close to the beach, walking distance to everything, in a silent neighborhood. Wifi works well everywhere. The small buildings have 3 floors with no elevators - what can be a problem if you have heavy luggage and probably no help, considering the hotel lack of employees. I came back to my room at 7pm and it wasn't cleaned yet. I complained with the reception and at 8pm I asked a housekeeper who I met by chance in the corridor to clean my room. She changed the towels and said she would come back in 15 min, what didn't happen (and I just found out when I arrived late at night). Late checkout wasn't possible and I had to wait 40 minutes for someone to pick up my luggage in my room. I would recommend the hotel if they improve the service.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, be aware ther are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adigo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 3 days after its opening. They have restored 3 or 4 buildings from the 40´s; pure art-deco style. Very nice! All rooms and common areas are decorated with wall photos from the 40´s/50´s.
My room was a standard room (Art Deco King Bed). Good size room and bathroom. Comfortable bed, iPod dock station, etc. Bathroom materials are not first quality, but are ok. Free wifi in all areas worked perfectly.
The street is residential and silent, but could here noise from the hall and lift.
Location is excellent for those who don´t mind missing an ocean view and want to stay away from busy Ocean Drive. Only 2 blocks from the beach and 4 blocks from Lincoln Road. Good restaurants in the neighborhood.
Breaksfast is included and well served. Swimming pool looked good (bigger than most boutique hotels), but didn´t use it.
No parking lot at site. They say there is payed vallet service, but actually you are the vallet, since you need to drive your car 2 blocks away to the garage building.

Pestana is a good Portuguese hotel chain and this is their first hotel in the US. I am sure they will do their best to provide good service. Staff speaks also Portuguese.

Rate was lower than equivalent options in the area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lenamaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is 4 classic buildings from the 1940s restored and updated. The Deco is the key - and there are good good things going on here. First, the hotel is 2 blocks from the beach. Next, it is on a quiet residential street, no noise, bars, or traffic to be found. Then it is a nice size, not too big - or tiny (about 100 rooms). Free breakfast, all new rooms with puffy beds, nice bathrooms, and great retro photos on the wall. The price is fair, and the staff very welcoming. Oh, and all the shops on Lincoln rd are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Free wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepelevoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel opened only some weeks ago. Consequently, we had some issues during our stay, changes in reservations not taken into account despite front desk confirmation, housekeeping not up to standards (also due to some bad choices during renovations such as white tiles in the rooms almost impossible to clean with dirt spots), no alcoholic beverage (including beer) as licence has not yet been granted. All these are still minor faults which hopefully will be tackled after the "ramp-up" phase. On the plus, nice, large and well decorated and equipped rooms, perfect location close to the beach and lincoln road (there are also good restaurants at walking distance and you are away from the noisy and crowded ocean drive), nice staff and "boutique" atmosphere in the hotel, quite large pool area for a boutique (better than similar hotels in sobe). We did enjoy very competitive rates due to online discounts at the hotel website, hopefully rates will remain below those of ocean drive well known spots. As for noise, hotel is very well isolated as it is in a somewhat remote area, but room isolation still not perfect as corridor noises can be heard quite clearly. wifi was free and reliable. to sum-up, a good bargain and highly recommendable boutique hotel, which may accommodate family and couple needs, in a perfect location. Provided they keep the rates under control and improve house keeping, this boutique is also a serious alternative to some well known sobe hotels which may invoice you more for same level of service and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patricetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend for a peaceful weekend getaway, but we weren't looking to pay crazy fees during busy season. We had a great stay and our room was more than accommodating. On the first night itself, when asking for ice, the guy from the front desk brought some to us himself. The bathroom was nice and shower pressure / temperature was fine. We also totally loved the TV, iPod dock, & poolside. This is a brand new hotel, so they're still up and coming and need a few things like real valet service (vs. a valet service from a garage two blocks down) as well as a liquor license to really make use of the bar area near the pool. I didn't order anything from the food menu / try their breakfast but the options looked good. I'm sure in a few months this place will be poppin. They can easily amp up the decor a bit more and become chic and great. The location is ideal and very close to a lot of good dining / bars / the beach. Had a great stay and wouldn't mind coming back again!

Room Tip: We got the king room, and it was spacious, sunny, and great. The walls were a bit thin / the stairwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Impala Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Property: Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Address: 1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing