We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food poor service”
Review of Catch - CLOSED

Catch
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: South Beach Local Shuttle- goes around numerous bus stops every 10-15 mins. The fare is 25 cents.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food poor service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend the food at Catch, but service leaves much to be desired. We were asked to wait in the bar though we had reservations and it turned out there were plenty of tables when we finally got upstairs. Our predinner drinks arrived after our appetizers, and the entre came before we had had all the appetizers. Though one of the staff presented herself as our server, 5 different staff served our table including some who seemed like management which may have caused the confusion. But at this price level it is not acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank miw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    23
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rip off, bad management”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We bought a $200 credit at the restaurant for $150 through our hotel. When we didn't spend the whole $200 credit at dinner and asked for a certificate for the difference, we were told it had to be used in one visit. That should have been noted when we bought it, but wasn't. Very shady, and their attitude was terrible. Very "we don't care because there is another sucker behind you waiting for your table".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidRahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to Catch last saturday night at 9:30... Big mistake.... Food was good , wine list is acceptable but they rush you thru the meal that you don't have time to really enjoy it, when you realise it, its too late, all they want to use the table again and again. 3 drinks in the bar, waiting for the table is 80 bucks including tip and dinner for 4 was 540, only one bottle of white wine. They rush you soo much that you don't know if the service is good or not.
Music level is too high...ever been to a Forever 21 store?...same music same volume! Back?..once is enough.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Catch, Miami”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great food, service, atmosphere, but sit upstairs. We shared the whole friend snapper and it was perfect for 3. Also recommend the fresh oysters, crab spaghetti, rice cakes and the signature dessert, Key Lime donut!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nowintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but worth it.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I spent a saturday night here with about 7 friends so we have a pretty large crowd and they were able to accommodate. This place is buzzzzzzzzzzzing. The food portions were small but were very tasty, for what its worth, i didn't leave hungry. the drinks were on par for Miami pricing, but were actually quite large (order the 'Zeus'). Bottom line, expect to pay for the vibe and atmosphere, but don't leave disappointed. Cheers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrewM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing