We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #99 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
“Miami Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

As someone who travels around the world hosting meetings, I was pleasantly surprised with the ease of this hotel. The boutique feeling was inviting and the artwork added a beautiful touch compared to the normal start walls and crazy patterned carpet. The meetings staff was extremely accommodating and attentive. The Banquets Department was a superstar and improvised when my normally late-rising attendees all decided to eat breakfast at the same time.

The real downside of the property is the mosquito issue. The structure of the outdoor restaurant is on top of a constantly wet space and promotes the breeding. Once we discovered the issue, we had to spray ourselves down with bug spray.

South Beach is not my normal scene, but as a relaxing destination, I would consider coming back to the James Royal Palm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenlemunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for the details on your in house meeting experience. I regret to hear about the mosquito issue. We are making efforts to enhance the area and comfort.

We hope to have you back on your next trip to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    875
    464
    214
    205
See reviews for
694
1,135
126
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Generally speaking my wife and I found the hotel very welcoming and in a good location. The old charm of this hotel was preserved with a tasteful renovation. We had a few issues related to our specific situation but this does not negate that the hotel met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DEBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for the posting. The hotel has made extensive efforts to detail its décor and I’m happy to hear you liked it.

Kindly email me at rhai@jameshotels.com the details about your issues. I would like the opportunity to address them if possible. I hope to hear from you and I appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great location and staff,good value,was there a conference,everything ran very smoothly.Ate at Florida Cookery for breakfast ,lunch and dinner and they were very good experiences.Lovely pool area and accessibility to the beach brilliant

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience and pool during your stay. Please hurry back so we can see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a typical restored art deco hotel in Miami Beach. The location is great, right in front of the beach and with entrance on Collins Av, near Lincoln Road. The rooms are large and modern. The main problens with this hotel are: (i) the service, which is careless, inattentive and poor and (ii) the cleanliness in the common areas. Trays of room service food would sit in the corridors for a whole day without being picked up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTravelMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for the review. I’m sorry we did not meet your expectations. We try our very best to be a unique hotel that care for our guests. Service and cleanliness is our standard and important to me. Rest assured I will circle back with the teams to address the issues shared here.

I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything was very good.

the only things than we can say are:

There were few waiters at the pool and we had to wait 15 minutes minimum to make an order.

There were some children without their parents, running and shouting around the pool and was so annoying to be there.

There was a dog at the pool and nobody from staff did and said nothing to dog's owner.

We went to the beach and the umbrella were to expensive (19 dollar), it could free according to the price and the category of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D2014may C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the comments. I’m sorry to hear that your poolside experience was not the best. I will talk to the team to better the operation.

I appreciate the concern about our retreat fee of $19 which allows usage of amenities throughout our property. The price allows us to extend additional services with added value. Thanks again for your time and feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything from the staff, the service, the contemporary decorated the rooms, the location and the beach club I LOVED! This was a hotel totally my style. Beds were so comfortable I never wanted to get up. The staff super service minded and friendly. The service around the pool and at the beach club was amazing as well as the food and the drinks. You even got a basket with fruit and water. There was wifi at the beach! Writing this review really makes me think back and remember how good it was, I wanna go back RIGHT NOW!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Wow! Thanks for the review. Happy to hear you had a great time at our hotel and enjoyed the amenities. We enjoy having frequent guests of The James Royal Palm so hurry back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Location of this hotel on SoBe without being at the heart of the craziness (close enough to see all SouthBeach has to offer without being immersed in it) was key in my choosing it, as well as the size of rooms, clean facility, and opportunity to reserve a balcony. Some of those expectations worked out. Our room (602) was large, and we liked the layout. The room featured a "walkout balcony" - which apparently means just narrow enough to step onto. Not sure you could fit a chair on it. I expected more, although once there it was not a big issue, since the nights are warm and sitting inside with the AC was nice. The ocean suites might have larger balconies, at a substantial premium. If you are looking at The James because you want a balcony, do not. The Loews and Z hotel a few doors down both looked like they had good large balconies.
There was an outdoor wedding, and the music was a serious issue- with the bass thumping well past midnight (1am?). Management said an outdoor wedding on the property was rare, and made a small adjustment to the bill - although I would have preferred the sleep. A few highlight were: dinner at Catch, one of the on premise restaurants. There is also a paver path that runs up and down the beachfront for several miles, that is directly behind the hotel (as well as any other hotel on the beach) with the beach on the other side. Great for a run, bike ride (as others have said, the hotel does have bikes for guest use). Two chairs and blankets are free with a standard room. The place has a great open feel, not overly developed, with nice art. The spa is nice, my wife enjoyed a massage. The main pool was not large, and was full. All in all the location is great if you want fun but not a rave, and we found the place clean and well run - but the late, loud music was really an issue for us the one night. I had not seen that as an issue on other reviews, so was very surprised and disappointed. Ultimately, I liked the place but not sure I was impressed enough to return, versus the numerous other options.

Room Tip: Room 602 west tower was large and had a great layout, although too low, and although it had a narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for the reviews. I’m sorry to hear about the balcony. We have many categories in our hotel that may assist with different preferences. The oceanfront rooms are best for large balconies and possess spectacular views of the ocean.

I appreciate the comments about the events as we try our best to create the right experience for all who visit us. It appears that we did not meet this expectation with you and for that I apologize about the issue. I hope we have the chance to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,770 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing