We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #97 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Best poolside service in South Beach. Magdalena, Raquel and Martin are the best. Hotel has clean rooms and good food. The 2 bedroom apartment is fantastic

Only negative is they charge for umbrellas at the beach

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIchAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 3,528 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

I cant believe I waited so long to write my review. I stayed at the James Royal Palm in Miami last May (May 2013) with several friends and family members to celebrate my 40th birthday. The James in a nutshell is great. Centrally located within walking distance of the beach, city center, and Ocean drive. The rooms were clean and well kept. The staff was very accompdating we loved the Valet team they worked so hard and always greeted us by name as we returned each night from parrying. I enjoyed laying on the beach under the umbrella's. The fresh fruit and the basket of goodies on the beach was a pleasant touch. My bestfriend went to the spa and said services were great and my boyfriend and brother in law worked out in the gym daily and said equipment was well kept and offered them an adequate "vacation workout " I opted to run along the boardwalk each morning and loved returning to the James and being greeted by the gracious staff. All in all you wont be disappointed with The James in Miami they even suprised me with a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake in my room on my special day! Its the small touched that makes this revamped 60's gem a special place to relax party and play in Miami.

Room Tip: Visit Oyster or tripadvisor posted photos of rooms and ask in advance f visit. Ocean views are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

First room in the Lanai - VERY musty but large - views of concrete walls and parking garage. Requested upgrade, hotel accommodated for $100 more per night New room -ocean front, 12th floor- beautiful! Bar service, restaurant service were top notch Staff both knowledgable and pleasant. Staff on beach - Kevin, Berlin, Steve, all.... fantastic! Bartenders at CAtCH - personable and friendly on a very slow night. The beach staff - chair guys and wait staff on beach were amazing! Hotel grounds were beautiful and clean. Housekeeping - a total mystery! First night, coffee bar full, body cream half used, from previous guest. Every day after day 1, I had to call front desk to get coffee (instant) and creamers delivered to room - housekeeping never replenished. Small thing, and every time I called delivery was prompt, but why did I have to call? Cleaning was shoddy, items remained on floor for 2 days. Rug was not vacuumed. Website says twice daily service - NEVER happened. After paying resort fee daily, daily umbrella charge of $19 seems like an insult. Great location -walking distance to Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road, Concierge had great recommendations. Fish Called Avalon -Great seafood.

Room Tip: Do not book "Lanai" rooms - no view, dank, dark, musty smell. Corner rooms, view rooms wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I was greeted by a staff member who accused me of "ignoring" her parking directions when in fact all I was doing was trying not to block the driveway.

We then checked in, informing them we were staying as part of our honeymoon.
As our room wasn't ready, our bags were put into storage and we were told they'd be brought in once the room was available.

We were then placed in a room with no view and our bed head backed onto a freezer room.

Our bags then never arrived and we had to call to get them brought to us.

The pool was nice and the beach is a very short walk from the hotel.
There was a definite "party" atmosphere around the pool and I felt for those who had kids or older family members.
Drinks at the bar were also insanely expensive.

Definitely wouldn't stay again for the price. Rude customer service right from word go and overall, just a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay. I was certainly disappointed about the reception you received and I am very sorry that your special time started in that manner. I have brought your concerns to the team to ensure that we do not approach any other guests in such a way as to make them feel underappreciated. I do apologize your bags did not meet you in the room as well and you had to follow up. I hope the rest of your honeymoon was much more relaxed and enjoyable and I hope you will return in the future to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed an unfortunately brief night at the James before heading to a wedding in Ft. Lauderdale. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable yet chic and modern, and the location was amazing - located close enough to the honky-tonkish Ocean Ave strip to wander through but then also head to some of the clubs like the Delano; plus, it's right on the beach and you can choose between a private area on the beach with drink and food service, or lounging by the pool.

My two complaints were that 1) the prices for everything (coffee, a beer, etc.) were unbelievably high, but I think that is to be expected; 2) the bathroom door didn't actually shut.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie21NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

It was wonderful to see that you enjoyed our location and the amenities that the property has to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in South Beach. I have made note to our Engineering Team to check on the door to your bathroom to make sure that it is properly closing. thank you for letting us know of that issue. Hurry back and come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel it was pricey but apparently there is a Florida resident discount I didn't know about. The location is perfect within walking distance to everything you would want to see in south beach .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauran32875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Now that we have your email address, we will definitely make sure you receive any promotions concerning our Florida Resident discounts so you can return and enjoy us again. Hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very nice Hotel Location & very clean, Very helpful staff , Very Good outdoor restaurant & Brunch.
you can rent a Scooter or a Bicycle 2 hours free of charge.
Pricey rate , Small Swimming Pool if you compare it with the Hotel size !
The is no good WIFI signal in all rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a good Sea view choose a full sea view or front sea view & High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thamer-Awliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. Many of our guests are excited to use our complimentary bikes to sightsee and enjoy South Beach. I am so glad you were able to use them to tour the area. I hope that you were able to enjoy each of our three pools and the beach while you were on property. We do have something for everyone. Hurry back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,872 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,641 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,778 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,480 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $195 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing