We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, low-key atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #97 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great service and low-key atmosphere without bother. Easy to go to gym, pool, beach at no charge and without hassle. Great location. Low Key. Fantastic room and tub in bathroom. Beach area is also awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

I am so glad we were able to offer you the experience that you were looking for in South Beach. Many people comment on the relaxed atmosphere while only being steps away form the fun and excitement of Ocean Blvd and Lincoln Rd. I hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,276 - 2,282 of 3,705 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

The James Royal Palm is extremely comfortable, well maintained, and surprisingly. While we stay there while our new condo is being renovated and so don't have time to use most amenities, they appear to be top notch. Both restaurants (Florida Cookery and Catch) are worth a try. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nsf_33304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for the lovely endorsement. I am so happy you chose to stay with us while your new residence is being finished. I hope that you will return to use the amenities when you have more time to enjoy yourself. Thank you again and I hope you enjoy your new home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

There were positives and negatives to my stay at the James. First, the good:

- The lobby and restaurant area are beautifully done, really lovely.

- Florida Cookery serves some really delicious food. The Lee Shrager burger is fabulous if you're looking for a bit of a guilty indulgence.

- Location can't be beat, on the beach, walking distance to Lincoln Road, near other restaurants, etc.

- Room (I had an oceanfront with balcony) was very quiet, didn't hear any noise from the hallway or outside, which made for a good sleep.

And a bit of the not-so-good:

- I noticed that some guests around the pool got little baskets of goodies. Apparently everyone gets one, but the person bringing them around skipped me and a few others.

- I got someone else's order in the restaurant, had to wait for them to remake my dinner. The restaurant wasn't even half-full, but the waitress didn't notice that I had been seated for about 15 minutes. I thought they might offer some sort of adjustment on the bill since they had been delayed in serving me, and then brought the wrong meal, but nada. Hmm.

- The room was not terribly clean. There were little brown stains on the sofa, brown splash marks on the wall and vanity, hair pins on the balcony. It was a skeevy sort of start to my stay to enter that room.

Generally, I liked the hotel and the atmosphere. It wouldn't be my first choice when I come back, but I wouldn't rule it out, either. Middle of the road!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

thank you for the review and for your feedback. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our location and Florida Cookery. I apologize that you were overlooked while at the pool and did not receive your James Basket. that is certainly not something that we want to ever hear. I hope you will return and try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the James this past weekend for a 3 night stay and it was excellent! The location was great right on Collins a block away from the beach, close to ocean drive and licoln. The room was nice, it was modern and clean. The size of the property was nice, I really felt as if I was on a resort, very different from the usual miami boutique hotels. I stayed at the z ocean a few months ago on my last visit and it was nice, however this was much better! All staff was attentive and was there to help with anything I asked. I really enjoyed the free bike rental, I used it for a quick ride down ocean drive. We checked in early on Thursday and were provided with a room without waiting and we had a late checkout on Sunday and they held our bags without a problem. I really liked the poolside and beach side service, the pool area was nice. Gratuity is included in everything, but that happens all
Over south beach so no suprise. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return! I'm sure I'll be back in a few months.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

So happy to read that you had a lovely stay with us! Thank you for sharing with us and others the details about your visit. I am excited that you will be back to visit with us in a few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Although some may view The James as being a little pricey, you do get what you pay for. It is a great hotel, food is great, service is great, and I love the security of no one being able to get upstairs to the rooms without a key! Access to the beach and all other SoBe shopping, restaurants (i.e. Lincoln Rd, Ocean Drive, Clubs...if that is your thing) is excellent, you can pretty much walk to them all. My only issue was finding out about the $150 per day incidentals hold that is placed on your credit card (especially with 2 rooms), but the issue was promptly rectified by being charged for one room only, to include a room upgrade - just keep this in mind when booking; the resort fee will be indicated, but ensure to play for the $150 per day incidentals hold (it is released after you check out, minus any charges you made to your room). Also, a ocean view (partial ocean view) is a VERY good one, so think about that before paying a little more for the ocean front view). Also, the beds and pillows are soooo comfortable, I dreaded going home to my bed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank franciro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding your stay. Your positive remarks are very appreciated and we certainly hope you will return and stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a perfect stay here. The staff went out of there way to accommodate us and the room was very clean. It wasn't the quietest place in the world but that's to be expected. We did ask for a quiet room and it was generally quiet. Loved the vibe!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

So glad to hear that you had a perfect stay with us! I hope that you will come and stay with us again on your next birthday celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

First off.. This hotel has tons of potential to get 5 circles. The rooms are very nice, amenities are all here (pool, beach, location, bars) and the hotel is very clean.

It loses 2 circles for service, or lack thereof. The staff tries real hard, are friendly and want to do a good job. I just don't think there is enough of them. Pool service is slow as slow can be, I could brew my own beers in the amount of time it takes to get one. The orders go in, and I just think the bar is very slow. If you think the pool is bad the beach is even worse.. Over an hour for drinks and food. You price everything at a premium, you need to provide premium service!

Housekeeping was completely unacceptable. Twice my room was not made up. The second time, I left the hotel at 10 and returned at 5:30p. I was told housekeeping goes til 6, so they could be on the way.. Really? I don't think so. You had ur chance the past 7 hours.

Overall, a nice property, but don't expect high end or mid level service, you're not going to find it here. Choose another hotel in the area if you expect good service. I know I will next time.


Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JohnnyB234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your stay at The James Royal Palm. I was sorry to hear that some of your orders did not come in a timely manner. I am reviewing that with our F&B department and will certainly work to ensure that future guests do not experience the delays. Thank you again for telling us about your stay and I do hope you will try us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,761 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,266 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,583 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,651 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $233 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelPower, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing