We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #97 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach
1 review
“My bad impression”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Good room.
I like the bikes
Problem with safety. I forgot my cel phone into the car that was in the valet and it was stoled.
I would came back. there was fights at night and I feel fault of safety. bye

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sidnei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I was sorry to hear of the issue you had with your cell phone. I will be reaching out to you privately to see what steps were taken with our Loss Prevention to assist in this issue while you were on property. My apologies and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    979
    530
    246
    251
See reviews for
793
1,270
143
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days only but we had the chance to appreciate the high quality of the service everywhere. We enjoyed our stay and whenever we go back to Miami South Beach, we will go back there, for sure!
The location is perfect, right on the beach and close to Lincoln ave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Celyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
What a great testament to the service that we work to provide for every guest. I appreciate the review and hope that we will be your home in South Beach on any future trips. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location, professional and friendly staff and not pretentious at all.
Hotel was getting ready for Art Basel when we were leaving which was good as they were installing lots of equipment and eventually closing areas, making the stay by the pool uncomfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alonso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Your review is definitely appreciated. I am so sorry that you felt any discomfort as we made preparations for the Art Basel week of events. We tried to be as inconspicuous as possible and I hope that you were not inconvenienced too much. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future and experience all that we have to offer. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November, as many reviewers have already stated it is in a fantastic location on the beach and literally around the corner from Ocean Drive, and is a short walk from Lincoln Road Mall which is good for shopping, food and drinks.

The hotel itself is modern and it has a nice cool laid back vibe which is infitting with its location, it is NOT a hotel which oozes with overstated luxury - think more along the line of cool clean designs with minimal chique with a few quirky touches. Our bedroom was a good size for Miami and we found the beds to be comfortable, HOWEVER if you want to be able to sleep then AVOID floors 16 & 17. We checked in late evening after a 9 hour flight and were initially given a room on the 17th floor... despite jet lag and tiredness it was impossible to fall asleep because of the extremely loud A/C units on the roof. After an hour we called reception and asked to be moved and were told someone would call us back in 10 minutes, annoyingly no one called and an hour later we called back down to reception and were told a room was available on floor 7 and so we moved and that was the end of this issue, and from there on we slept well.

To compensate us for the inconvenience the hotel gave us complimentary breakfast the next morning, and whilst it was a very nice gesture which we appreciated, being honest the breakfast was terrible. The breakfast area is nice and you get the choice of ordering from a menu or opting for the buffet, we were strongly encouraged by the waiter to go for the buffet which would have cost nearly $30 EACH had we been paying and so we went with the buffet. The buffet choices were limited and the scrambled egg was revolting, the worst I have ever encountered, we were very disappointed. I sincerely wished we had chosen from the menu option which had some very nice dishes available cooked to order, the people on the table next to us ordered from the menu and the food looked lovely, although again the cost of breakfast including tea / coffee / juices from the menu option would also have ended up nearly $25 each, we went onto Ocean Drive for breakfast the next day expecting to pay a premium but got a wonderful breakfast at The Cardozo for $10 each. My advice would be to go elsewhere for breakfast (either Ocean Drive or Lincoln Road Mall - loads of choices), although in stark contrast we did order a burger and fries from the room service menu one night and we couldn't fault it, so the food clearly isn't all bad.

Another great thing about the hotel is they have bikes available for free use by guests, I would recommend taking advantage of this and having a cycle along the beach path and around by the harbour. We also liked that fact that drinking water was supplied in the room each day at no extra cost, there was also plenty of towels, shampoo, bodywash, conditioner etc which was of nice quality.

Would I stay in this hotel again? I would if there was a competitive deal on offer, the hotel is very nice, the staff helpful and again nice but we didn't experience this first class top notch service that is unbeatable that other reviewers have experienced, although at the same time we are not complaining about the service - it just wasn't memorable or stand out. Although I wasn't dissapointed with the hotel, if I was back in the area I would be tempted to check out other comparably rated hotels within the same location, although I would not rule out a return to The James Royal Palm.

Room Tip: Avoid floors 16 and 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlefrog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at The James Royal Palm. I certainly apologize regarding the issues you experienced regarding your room. I am so glad you were able to utilize our complimentary bikes and enjoyed our location and proximity to Ocean Blvd and Lincoln Road. I hope that you will come back and visit with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have been to a few hotels on South Beach..the Ritz being one of them..THE JAMES Royal Palm may not be as "fancy" but it has SO MUCH MORE for the price!!It's a beautiful,comfortable hotel on the beach with the most outstanding service!!!We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank talkww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! Thank for the lovely comments and for sharing them. It is great to know that we were able to meet your expectations and deliver a great experience. Hurry back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The James is in a quiet part of Collins Avenue, right on the beach, and blocks from Espanola Way and Lincoln Road. The hotel has it's own club that starts at midnight on the weekends. It's small, but electric. Attendees are young, classy, and Miami Beach beautiful. If you're looking for great service, well-trained no pressure staff, there's no place better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. Your comments are appreciated and I am glad to read that we were able to provide the experience you were looking for in South Beach. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the James Royal and both times the Service was over the top. The location is perfect. The beach and pool experience is excellent. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JMP-1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of the property. I am so glad to hear that you have had excellent experiences when you have visited us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,562 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,535 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,069 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,019 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing