We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #100 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where do I start? I stayed here Sept 20-22 with my wife for our 9 year anniversary. This was our first time in South Beach and the James Royal Palm made us feel like we were truly appreciated. Location: Perfect Ocean Dr, Lincoln Rd. all within a stones throw. Dining options, shopping, bars ,clubs all you can ask for. Rooms: I must say the beds where the most comfortable I have ever stayed in, the room clean as can be and the view great if you are facing oceanfront, spacious enough for the limited time you're in it. (Come on you're in South Beach!) Oh by the way a nice playful surprise in the room bar! Now the STAFF! This is what sets this hotel apart from any other hotel we have stayed in. Front desk manager Caesar made check in a breeze and accommodated an upgrade with no issues instantly. Bellboy Mike greeted and delivered with advice and was a pleasant person to have small talk with. Peter the Concierge went out of his way to make sure we hit all the hot spots and delivered on guest list request! Beverage Manager Alhadji was absolutely on point with his drinks, and suggestions. He definitely represents the James brand with professionalism. The pool team great, coffee girls also did a fantastic job. I have never felt the need to really go out of my way to review somewhere but the James delivered! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend see you next year! Happy Guest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremiahL356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
So nice to see that you enjoyed the entire resort while you were here. I appreciate that you took the time to tell us about the Team Member interactions that made your stay special- that way we can thank them personally and recognize their efforts. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    964
    524
    243
    249
See reviews for
776
1,247
143
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is beautifully remodeled, on the beach with amazing customer service! The concierge not only set up our Everglades tour but was able to recommend and get us into a great restaurant. We decided Saturday at noon we wanted to go to an upscale restaurant the was completely booked but, the concierge was able to get us in that night! The beach club was beautiful and very convenient. The view from our ocean front room was to die for!

This trip we went as a young couple without kids, which was perfect. Right in the middle of the bars, shopping, restaurants, clubs and upscale restaurants. But, we are expecting twins so we were keeping our eyes out for activities and areas to come back with the kids. We were surprised to find, we would not hesitate to come back to James Royal Palm with the kids. The beach club had sand toys for the kids, the hotel staff was very friendly and the people staying in the hotel were all ages. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
So happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We can't wait for you to return with the twins. Our Lil' James Play Space offers a lot of activities for the whole family to enjoy and we're sure you are going to need some down time once you have a full house! Come visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When you arrive you dont get impressed by the entrance or the frontdoor services, but once you are checked in and get into your room you understand how great your hotel is.
Also with an outstanding location, you are in a walking distance from almost every cool dining place in South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBTrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for the review. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the fact that we are close to so many activities in the South Beach area. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful visit to the James Royal Palm. Staff was exceptional over 5 days, helpful, friendly. The room was comfortable, and I liked in the in-room amenities -- shampoo, etc in large bottles in the shower, fresh distilled water, and a well stocked minibar with different snack offerings. Was at a conference, and all the food we had was excellent, better than most meetings. Had room service for breakfast, arrived fresh and on time. Some noise from the hallway and balcony above (called the desk on that one, and the noise stopped), as people tend to party late in Miami. Next time I'll put on some white noise using the iPod docking station.

I didn't get to use all the amenities, but believe the resort fee is a good value if you can use them -- bikes, surfboards, and stand up paddle boards available complimentary, plus the beach chair service everyone seems to enjoy. Did a yoga class on the spa deck early morning as the sun rose over the ocean, unbeatable! Hope to return for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. On your next visit be sure to put aside some time to use our complimentary skateboards and bicycles. They are a fun way to see Miami Beach. Come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently spent two nights in The James Royal Palm hotel, Miami beach Florida. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of south beach Miami, and is in walking distance to bars, shops and restaurants. Lincoln Road’s restaurants and shops are only a few blocks away. The Miami city tour bus also stops nearby. It’s a fantastic location.
My room was fabulous, an ocean view deluxe king guest room, with a modern and contemporary design and stunning views of Miami south beach and the Atlantic ocean. My favorite thing in the room or bathroom for that matter, had to be the toiletries, Intelligent Nutrients. The body wash is invigorating and stimulating, I literally felt my whole body tingling. It also smells good enough to eat.
The hotel boasts two outdoor swimming pools and easy access to a private section on Miami’s South beach but at a cost. The obligatory fee of 21 dollars takes care of your loungers, towels, a basket with bottled water and fresh fruit and a cocktail list 14 dollars plus 18% gratuity
I ordered nachos with freshly made salsa and guacamole from the Florida Cookery 11 dollars plus 18% gratuity.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would most definitely recommend it to a friend. From the spectacular views, super friendly and competent staff, the delicious Florida cookery and the ambient atmosphere, it gets a ten out of 10 in my hotel book.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffibeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments. It is such a pleasure to realize that we have met your expectations and even exceeded them in some areas. I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at The James south beach for the first time this past weekend. The service was excellent. The staff was friendly and professional and always asked if they could be of service. The room was large and comfortable. I stayed in the king apartment suite. It was lovely with beautiful modern furnishings. I feel that the value for this room was amazing.
One thing that did bother me was the balcony or lack thereof. The room is advertised to have ocean views with a balcon. The "balcony" in this room was merely a step out with no room for a chair to sit and enjoy the view.
The second thing that bothered me was the noise on Friday morning. I had called the hotel to specifically ask if there was any type of construction going on and was told there was not. Lo and behold, 8am Friday morning we were woken up by pounding and hammering and all kinds of construction noises. They should be honest about issues such as construction so we know what to expect or can make other arrangements.
Otherwise, the hotel was great! I would definitely stay there again-as long as no construction :-))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank meeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I apologize if the information regarding the size of the balcony was misleading. It is a step out balcony and we try to make that clear on all of our booking channels. As for the construction taking place at our neighbor property, I am sorry that we were not able to give you better information as they don't always share their improvement schedules with us. I do hope you were able to have a great visit and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

They did a great job renovating the old hotel and keeping with the Art Deco theme for the area. The rooms are moderate, which is Art Deco, the bed is fabulous, the comfy robe and towels with the awesome shampoo, conditioner and body wash was spa like. The lighting was sparse, if you plan to work in the room, it is difficult. But who wants to work in your room in Miami Beach? The Renew Spa is cozy and the excellent guest service overflows. I had a facial and a mani/pedi and I highly suggest it, at least a massage and a facial. Right off the spa is the smaller of two pools, the larger is downstairs and has cabanas and food and drinks. The beach area is just as fabulous and the service is extreme. I highly recommend this hotel for families, couples, or even business (bring your own light). Thanks for making me feel like royalty!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Okinawa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
How nice it was to read your review and to realize that we had exceeded all of your expectations. I'm especially glad that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful spa, renew! It is a lovely space and I am happy that the service met your expectations. Come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,388 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,502 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,853 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing