We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #97 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was a business trip which we stayed at the The James Royal Palm Hotel. We really loved it!

Rooms are awesome, but my favorite was the bathroom with the window looking down at the Ocean Drive! We thought it was cool to look outside while taking a shower.

Room Service was impeccable too.

If I would go back to the South Beach, I would totally go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and telling us about your visit. We like the windows in the bathrooms too! We look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 3,539 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

James Royal Palm is no doubt one of the best hotel in terms of decor and style i have ever stayed.

Nice ambience and friendly staff. Ready to help promptly and help all possible ways.

Reason i am taking away one star is that we had our 1 year old baby and we needed to often warm his milk and the room we stayed OCN VW DLX did not have the microwave. Its a must need for so many things and in my case an essential.

Having said that the staff sooo helpful that they provided a microwave moment i told them my concern. 5 stars to staff and helpdesk. 4 star to management for not having a good refrigerator and microwave in rooms. :) please have that in some rooms for customer like me who have kids and baby!

Secondly the complimentary breakfast which is with package needs to add few items like either pancakes or waffle. Scrambled eggs or mashed potatoes. We missed these items in our bfast.

No more complaints. This place is awesome and worth all you spend here. We loved the hotel and our stay. We will look forward to be back here. Recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doondevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

So nice to hear that you had a great stay with us. As you stated, we do have some microwaves and small fridges available upon guest request so it was good to heart that we were able to meet your expectations. We have the continental buffet each morning but also have a la carte available if you would like more variety in your breakfast. Thank you for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were booked into an ocean view suite.
Somewhat disappointed we requested another room as we could not see the sea without straining our necks.
We were offered another room on the opposite side.
This was no different!
Finally we were shown a front view ocean view with a wraparound balcony which was perfect.
This hotel is very modern and futuristic.
We arrived after this past holiday weekend and we had a special rate of paying for 2 nights and staying for three.
We were not charged for the upgraded room and all in all it was a bargain!
The beach area is fabulous and the pools are very warm.
Florida Cooking Restaurant was perfect for breakfast although a little more expensive than ZCafe and Jerrys which are very nearby.
We paid only two days resort /beach fee for the three nights as the day we arrived it was early evening.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor front beach full view. East tower a must for beach view. 17th floor beware of AC noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will come back to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This review is for the RENEW SPA at the hotel. I organized a spa bachelorette party for my best friend over Memorial Day weekend. We were a group of 12 girls who all took advantage of the Miami Spice specials. I cannot recommend this place enough for either large groups or individual services. Let me begin by praising the spa's manager, Laura. Laura handled our pre-event reservations and requests with utmost kindness and professionalism. Upon our arrival, she surprised our large group with a complimentary changing/lounging room next to the spa, where our group enjoyed the day between our services. She even decorated the room with flowers all over. It was amazing! The whole spa facility is so inviting and pristine, which I could live here! We also ordered food from the Florida Cookery (ordered pretty much all of their 'little bites') and can report that the food and room service were excellent. When it came to the actual spa services, everyone was beyond happy. All of the spa staff were true professionals of their craft! I personally was attended by Lauren, who performed an amazing facial/LED service. She made a repeat customer out of me! All of the girls were extremely satisfied. The whole staff of the spa made us feel special and granted our every request. These people really know what customer service is all about! We also went down to the pool in the afternoon to relax. Our server was Rebecca and she was also beyond amazing and serviceable. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you to all of the Spa staff and Laura!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloribelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments! It is such a thrill to realize that we were able to exceed all of your expectations and achieve a wonderful experience for you and your guests. We will certainly share your nice comments with Laura, Lauren, Rebecca and the whole team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the spa and Florida Cookery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this place several times over the years, and I continue to recommend this place to my friends. I like the location, the rooms are nice, and he staff is excellent. During my recent stay, thee staff was very helpful, Caesar in particular was very helpful. The beach staff was also excellent. This place is not a cheap place to stay at by any means, but I do feel I got good value for what I paid. The main advantage of this place is its location, which is a short walk to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road, Espanola Way, and all shopping areas. It is also right on the beach, not across from it like the Ocean Drive hotels are. The hotel has extensive beach facilities with chairs, cabanas and umbrellas. Their pool although small in comparison to other large hotels, is excellent as well with some of the warmest water that I have ever felt. This place does have the dreaded resort fee however, so be aware of that, but that does include free WiFi and two beach chairs. Another positive is that it seems that this place fixed the ridiculous problem that they had with the bathroom doors not fully closing. I experienced this during my last stay here. I like the Royal Palm, and will continue to return as long as they keep up the good work and keep their prices at a reasonable level.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron-from-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst Generral Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to tell us about your visit. I will certainly pass on the nice words to Caesar and appreciate that you took the time to recognize good service. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a rocky start, we were given a studio king looking into a walk vs ocean view, the desk stating they were the same (same as in decor, only,) and 3 calls to a concierge who could care less, once in the room we paid extra for, our stay improved. It was busy check in and they were frazzled, Labor Day Friday - they should have been prepared, more experienced staff on hand.

The new design is very good. Bathrooms modem & large (what's not to love about new construction!) the hotel amenities improved greatly, the pool, pool bar & good food. the service on the beach was weak, 18% tip included. The evening lobby bar is a nice addition (we stayed at the former Royal Palm under desperation twice, once ok, the 2nd time dismal.) The lobby bartender (from NJ) personalized & made our stay. And the bellman were all helpful, kind and upbeat.

Room Tip: 07 stack has the partial ocean view, still more city along Ocean Dr, than ocean in the west tower. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Very disappointed to hear that it appeared to be a rocky start to your trip, but glad the overall experience was a good one. I have spoken to our Concierge to ensure that no one feels as you did during your interaction. I apologize for the shortcomings and hope that you will come and visit us again on your next trip. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a girls bachelorette weekend and had an amazing experience! Friends chose an alternative hotel, HUGE mistake! Their place was a dump and ours was nothing short of amazing! The staff was super friendly, and very helpful and made you feel like they were so happy you were there! The valet, bellhop, everyone were super friendly, and nice!! The rooms had everything you needed and more in them, comfortable beds, no big balcony, but you could still open the doors and get fresh air and catch the breeze from the ocean. The coffee shop in the lobby had very appetizing treats freshly baked daily, I got a cookie one day that was absolutely phenomenal! Went back the next day for one and they were out, and then another day they didn't have them out yet...hate I didn't get more than one :( Everything overall during our stay was fabulous, very comfortable, amazing south beach experience, which was a bit to our surprise because we've experienced the not so friendly attitudes that you encounter in Miami previously. Very refreshing to know that was not the case at this hotel. The only issue was there was a charge on our final bill for the minibar use, which was corrected immediately, so I'm not sure if that was an oversight of housekeeping or whoever does the minibar restocking or what, but it was no issue for us. Fabulous, beautiful property! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write your comments. Glad you picked the right hotel! Come back to see us soon and we'll make sure you get that second cookie! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,878 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,642 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,779 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,484 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $194 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing