We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #99 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good resort in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for one night on a Saturday in August. The valley was nice and helpful from the jump. The staff at the front counter were nice as well. You have to try the cucumber water in the lobby ad well, it's very refreshing...lol. Anyways, we were upgraded to a better room because we booked on jetsetter and the resort fee was included with our package, and the front desk guy told us he waved the fee but it still ended up being on our bill.
The room we were upgraded to was nice. It had modern decor with a sleek feel to it. The only thing that was missing was the service and the small extras to the room. Like the small bottles of the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. None of which was put in our room. Also, we never had our room prepped when leaving later on that day, which was shocking of a resort of this caliber. Overall it was a decent stay. The proximity to the beach is a win, and the pool area is lush! The only thing about the beach area was they didn't open until 9:30am because of "turtle" season. We wanted to relax in the chairs and under the umbrellas @ 7am, sort of wake up on the beach. But it was fine and relaxing. Overall a pretty decent stay and good area for beach, food, and play. I heard the food at the resort is pretty good as well, but I didn't get a chance to check it out this time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for telling us about your stay. Regarding the small bottles of shampoo and conditioner, the property is green and therefore we utilize the larger refillable bottles as part of our programming. I apologize if this was not clear to you during your stay. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    939
    515
    239
    235
See reviews for
759
1,214
141
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Newly renovated hotel, very "SoBe" style. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Rooms were very spacious according to most South Beach hotel rooms and very nicely decorated. Super comfortable beds and lots of extra little perks, like complimentary distilled water which was replenished daily and big bottles of high quality shampoo, conditioner and body wash that were afixed in the shower itself...very impressive! And I really liked that the beach chairs and umbrellas were included in our reservation so I didn't have to worry about bringing cash with me to the beach every day. The house keeping staff was very diligent in keeping my room neat and tidy and clean. Only area in need of improvement was the hallways which could have used a good vacuum.

This hotel is great for any type of travel, from business, to family to friends....something for everyone.

Best location in South Beach in my humble opinion anyways. Very centrally located and easy access to Ocean Drive or Lincoln Road and with being right on the beach, you can't get any easier access to the sun, sand and ocean either. Although I have stayed in other SoBe hotels before, I will definitely be going back to The James Royal Palm for my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyBarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. It is great to hear that you were able to have a great time while staying with us. It is also good to hear that you will be coming back to see us when you return to the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there to close to the clubs and beach at the same time and it was perfect. The Concierge gave us Hotel Pass for Mansion and other clubs that got us right in. It was perfectly located on the beach and we had a great time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnessobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
So glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I am happy to hear that the concierge was able to accommodate your requests and get you into the right party spots. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and the best thing about it was the beach access and the Florida Cookery where the food was delicious. But on the first night, they couldn't get our door open, so we had to move to a different room. They did comp us breakfast the next day which was nice. The servers and people at the outdoor restaurant were more polite and friendly than at the hotel itself. We got a pretty good deal by booking online, but I would try somewhere else if I were to go back. The water pitcher in the room was another nice add-on. The shampoo and conditioner and body soap was amazing.

Room Tip: The balcony is only a very small opening. No room to sit out there at all. Be careful of all the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTaveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was disappointed to hear that there were elements of your trip that did not go as planned. I apologize regarding the problems with your lock and hope we were able to fix them in an expeditious manner. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Trendy hotel with great amenities. Food was delicious room was clean and the staff was great. The only down side is for 5 star hotel to charge $15 to use the beach is a little tacky but other then that everything top notch.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable visit in South Beach. I apologize if the beach fee was unexpected and we certainly never intend to surprise our guests with any of our fees. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just came back today from a 4 days getaway at the James Royal Palm with 2 friends. Overall I'm very happy we picked this hotel, however I cannot give it a perfect rating for a few reasons.

I will start by saying that the room was great.
The decoration was nice, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and spacious. We had booked an ocean view room..Let s just say we did not really see the ocean from our room. In order to see the ocean we had to go on the balcony and look between two buildings to see the water. If you want a ocean view, that might not be what you will be getting. We didnt mind that much, but just felt that we would not have paid the extra amount to get an ocean view room, had we known that that s what we would be getting.

The service at the hotel was truly exceptional. Everyone was extremely friendly.Everyone at the beach and at the pool were really helpful, even though we were there during a very busy weekend. I would give the service a 10/10, with one exception. One of the concierge...I do not remember his name, but I do not know how he got a job as a concierge. We asked him if there would be anything interesting going on in South Beach during Labor day weekend, and he answered: "Not really anything is going on this weekend" I really have a hard time believing that. Then we asked him about the opening hours of a mall, and he simply told us that he didnt know...Anything we would ask him, he wouldnt be able to give us an answer.

We had breakfeast at the hotel everyday during our stay. Breakfast was always really good, and we really enjoyed the view from the upstairs dining room.

The grounds and restaurants of the hotel were great also. There s a cool and relaxed vibe that we really appreciated and I would definitely consider staying there again during my next stay in South Beach if I would be able to make sure to get an ocean view room next time.

Room Tip: The room we were in, 902, you could hear the music from the club downstairs. If you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for detailing your stay. While we are glad to hear that most elements of your visit met your expectations, it is disappointing to hear that the view and one of our concierges did not. I hope that you will come back to stay with us next time you are traveling in South Beach again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I truly enjoyed my 4 day stay. Staff retrieved our bags, and gave us a refreshing drink upon arrival. Check in was smooth. The room was perfect. I saw on the site beforehand that renovation was taking place and we lost power twice but it was only for a matter of minutes. The cabanas and the pool are beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to future travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahamianCapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
So glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I certainly apologize for the power outages during your stay. Unfortunately they affected much of South Beach but only for a few minutes each time. I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#65 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,297 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing