We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Nearby Hotels
$299
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$498
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$440
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$211
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$261
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,819)
Filter reviews
3,819 results
Traveler rating
1,546
1,104
587
285
297
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,546
1,104
587
285
297
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida cookerysouth beachbeach serviceocean drivean umbrellaocean frontpool arealincoln roadpartial ocean viewbeach chairsalfredoespanola wayart decopool staffvalet parkingmiamiconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,708 - 2,713 of 3,819 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I just stayed at the stunning James Royal Palm and it rates in the top of hotel experiences. The views down Ocean Drive are stellar, ocean one side, Miami art deco and low-rise neon on the other with huge windows to take it all in. Beach is gorgeous and beach service stellar and reasonably priced. Room decor - wood grains and 60's scandinavian cool with timeless crisp yet fluffy white comforters/pillows and a bed you could stay in all day long if there wasn't so much to do outside. Ate at Florida Cookery - wonderful food, service and decor - walking distance to all of South Beach restaurants and shops - no need for a car. Lobby staff polite, concierge goes above and beyond to get you what you want, fruit everywhere and ocean breezes throughout pool area with amazing choice of 2 indoor-outdoor bars. The spa is worldclass and even when we had one rainy afternoon and the whole hotel went down to the spa - they found a way to fit us in to a couples massage. Outstanding service - hated to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Julian C-

Thank you for the amazing review of your experience at The James Royal Palm. I am honored to be at the top of yourl ist for hotel experiences. Sounds like you stayed in one of our Loft Suites facing south, my personal favorite room type. Appreciate your comments about Florida Cookery and renew, the spa. Glad we could fit you in and allow you to enjoy the healing power of salt with our signature services.

We hated to see you go, but can't wait to have you back. See you soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Recently spent four days at the James for a 25 pp meeting. The hotel exceeded our expectations with their attention to detail and extra touches. I came from a hotel background from one of the big box hotels and never experienced such a comfortable meeting where you felt like a little fish in a big pond. I was traveling with a broken leg and the staff went out of their way from helping me with my meals at the Buffett, providing pillows and a comfortable chair during the meeting and using a golf cart so I can experience the beach. Would highly recommend for meetings or a fun respite.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Traveler5VA,

Wow! What a great review. Thank you. I am happy to hear how well your meeting went and amazed (but not surprised) by the attention the team gave you in order to deliver a memorable experience. Hope your leg is feeling better and healing on schedule. Always tough to travel when injured and especially tough when travel is to leisure destination. So happy we were able to get you to the beach!

Hope to see you back soon!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was perfect!!! I did extensive research to pick a hotel on Collins Ave to celebrate my friends 30th birthday! When we arrived they had a piece of chocolate cake that read "happy birthday" on it, also had a bottle of champagne with glasses on ice! That was a great surprise walking in. Rooms are very modern and up to date, loved the amenities they gave you. Housekeeping came every day while we were out on the beach! It was an amazing weekend! I highly recommend this hotel. The location was great, not too close to crazy & loud Ocean drive but walking distance to get there!! Loved this place and WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

Room Tip: Higher floor, non adjoining room, partial view of ocean. We stayed in 1438 and that was a perfect room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Toy W-

First and foremost, Happy Birthday to your friend! I hope you celebrated in style!

Thank you for the great review. I appreciate that you research led you to us and thrilled that we were able to exceed the clearly high expectation you had. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The James Royal Palm offers vacationers a luxurious and beautiful setting! Nestled between a premier section of south beach and bustling Collins Avenue, the location is perfect. The hotel itself is fabulous, offering clean and spacious guest rooms, which are decorated in a tasteful, modern art deco motif. Some of our favorite things included the complimentary in room espresso machines, the organic, eco-friendly bath products and the pool/beach basket filled with waters and mandarins delivered daily. The staff at the the James Royal Palm is courteous, accommodating and friendly, which made our experience even better. For those who are curious, we traveled with 2 small children and the staff was lovely and helpful when it came to special, kid-friendly requests. A perfect 10.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Brad M-

A perfect 10! Thank you. Quite a statement and as a parent, am proud to hear that we delivered a good experience to your little ones as well! When we built our programming for the resort, we knew that the little details would go a long way. Happy to hear that the choices (beach basket, kid programming, amenity line, etc) made a difference. Alsway good to hear about the friendly staff as well!

Hope to see you back soon.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Came here because it is fairly new & well hyped! At the prices charged from $400-$600/night I expected a different experience. The room was cheaply furnished with no interesting design. I have never stayed in a like rated property where there was no place to sit in the room. What was described as a balcony was literally ONE foot wide. Service in the restaurant for breakfast was spotty. We had three rooms rented for our party. Another member in our party had a nightmare with his room lock that was not resolved over a 3 day period. He could only get in his room with a master key. Never fixed! They comped breakfast one day to try & make amends. The scale of the public areas to the number of rooms does not seem to have been well thought out. The one positive note-- the guys at the front helping with the cars & luggage were great!! They were well tipped! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Elizabeth H-

Thank you for your honest review of the James Royal Palm. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expecations from a design, service and service recovery perspective. I am disappointed that we were not able to fix the lock issue during your stay. While I appreciate the kind words about our Door and Lobby Asssistants, I am diappointed to read your final comment. If you should ever change your mind and decide to give us another try, please contact me directly.

Much appreciated.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews