We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the James Royal Palm and had a delightful time. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and we found our room to be clean, airy and exactly what we had booked through Expedia. Also, despite the fact that this was a huge party weekend in SoBe, we found the James to be a place of (relative) tranquility, unlike so many other hotels nearby that clearly suffered from the excessive party noise.
Great hotel, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    894
    477
    224
    221
See reviews for
717
1,162
131
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the James for business. We were blown away by the decor and service the second we arrived. The housekeepers were very nice, the front desk staff, the valet and the bartenders! We had gone to visit a few bars and restaurants while in Miami, and the James royal palm staff were the best! The bartenders were creative with their drinks and the food they served was great. Nothing like having champagne and berries while sitting pool side. I recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aandramann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel is beautiful & in a perfect location. That being said, I was disappointed in the service- there is a $19/day fee for pool/beach yet the beach service was horrible. The waitresses were horrible, they would maybe come by once the whole day, would take an hour to even bring a basket over. At one point I went up to the bar to ask for my waitress and was told she left the beach for a while & would come over but she never did. The service at the restaurant where we had breakfast was horrible too, not even sure who our server was, took 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee then another 10 min to get creamer. Housekeeping was spotty; my room was not cleaned at all one day- didn't call because I was gone most of the day & thought they just were late; when I called the next day guest services seemed indifferent.
There were some other minor issues as well. Positives- comfortable bed, quiet room(I did not experience the noise issues others have) great decor, awesome location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Km1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Can't say more on how satisfied we were with our stay in this hotel despite a crazy Miami weekend!! Impressed w their simplicity and retro deco set up. Ocean view room was breathless.
Kudos to all their employees from the front door ,reception, coffee bar and all the way to their room maids!!
Next time that we'll stop in Miami this for sure is our place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
56Jun

Thank you for the great review of The James Royal Palm! Appreciate you calling out our door, reception, coffee bar and housekeeping teams!

See you next time you stop in Miami!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the James Royal Palm for 5 nights in March. We booked a king ocean view room on the 12th floor which was perfect with a beautiful view over the pools, beach and ocean. The service on the beach was great, you get given a James box each day with fresh water and fruit. The breakfast at Florida cookery was fresh and tasty. Ivan the concierge was fabulous! he managed to get us a last minute booking at Catch (definitely worth a visit) after a disastrous evening at Bianca restaurant in the Delano. The location is excellent, for Linocoln road, Ocean drive and right on the beach. We loved our stay here and will definitely be back. We also used the spa for a massage and a pedicure, service was perfect. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for a full ocean view room on a high floor. It's peaceful and the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Maria R

Thank you for the terrific review! I am glad that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, location and Jaems Beach Box! Great to hear about your spa experience as well. Hope you got the opportunity to enjoy our renew spa terrace over looking the ocean from it's 4th floor perch!

Thank you for highly recommending us!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Here are some comments I sent to the hotel upon request via their own survey:

1. We booked through Expedia...and our reservation did not indicate what room type we were to expect. I sent 3 emails to the JRP to enquire about our room type, as well to find out if we could take advantage of the UPFAST promo advertised on your website (free room upgrade + 2 breakfasts per day). No response to 3 emails; Upon check-in, front-desk personnel had no idea about the website promotions; were informed that the web promo did not apply to us because we booked through Expedia and not directly with the hotel.

2. The per day fee for beach rentals was not made clear at check-in; we were not informed that this fee would be applied regardless of whether we used them or not.

3. Rooms made up after 5:30PM - Really?

4. Windows in the room did not open; air conditioning was not working properly; Ice machine on our floor and at least 2 other floors were not working; Rooms were not sound-proofed!

5. On checkout, I asked for a printout of my bill and was astonished to see 2 days of valet parking added to my bill. We did not have a car :)

6. Concierge arranged for a cab which did not accept credit cards...had to find an ATM machine at airport!

7. Value for the money just wasn't there...I get that we can expect to pay a premium @ SOBE...but I have stayed at premium hotels (i.e. Paris, Manhattan, Boston, etc.) for half the price and double the luxury. Not too happy about my stay at JRP!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toronto1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
toronto1959

I am terribly sorry about your pre-arrival and stay experience. I will reach out to you offline to learn more about who you attempted to contact. No reply is embarrasing and unacceptable.

Clearly communicating the inclusions of the retreat fee is critical as we have bundled so many services the other hotels in SoBe charge for including not only beach chairs and umbrella, but complimentary triple distilled water, local calls, business center w/ iMacs, turndown service, reading materials including newspapers and books and our brand standard complimentary WiFi throughout the resort.

Unfortunately, most cabs in South Beach do not take credit cards. Is it a big issue that the hotel community is working with the convention bureau and city to resolve. However, we should have inquired when you requested the cab to prevent the unfortunate position we put you in at the airport.

Thank you for the specific feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and apologize again.

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm, sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The James really is in the heart of things - with shopping, restaurants and bars in one direction and the ocean on the other. Service was friendly and efficient from front desk to restaurants to the beach. My only negative comment would be the interconnecting room which literally felt as though I was traveling with the ladies next door - I heard every word!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
smowbray

Thank you for the kind words about our service and location. I am sorry to hear about the noise issue. We are in the process of testing a different door sweeper on the connecting doors to reduce the transfer of noise based on feedback such as yours. if successful, we will correct all rooms in April.

Thank you.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#68 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,874 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#17 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
The Confidante
#27 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing