We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Definitely an Upgrade!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #96 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely an Upgrade!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very pleased with the new James Royal Palm! My husband and I have been coming to Miami for the last 10 years and have stayed several times at the Royal Palm, the Lowes, and the Ritz and I must say we were both very impressed with the New, High Quality, Excellent Service and all around face-lift of the Royal Palm! The hotel has come a long way. We experienced great customer service, with extra kudos going out to Michael-who was very attentive to my family(we traveled with our two young children) and he made sure they had all the beach toys they needed and Maximillian(Max). Very courteous and attentive. One small flaw we did experience was with the evening turn down service, but we understand that they are still working out the kinks, so hopefully this service will improve! We look forward to returning next year and my children cant wait to experience the Little James Playroom(it wasn't quite ready at the time of our visit). Oh, and the Florida Cookery morning buffet could stand to improve a wee-bit as well. The Lowes breakfast buffet has them beat-take note! Definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdubsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Bdubsmom-

Thank you for the nod of approval on the upgrade of our facility and team! I appreciate the review and the feedback! Sorry that Lil' James wasn't quite ready. The space, featuring orignal "reading nook" designed by the Miami Children's Museum is very cool. Will definitely check out the competition's buffet too.

Max and Michael are amazing. They'll appreciate the shout out!

Hope to see you back next year, if not sooner!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    830
    429
    193
    161
See reviews for
642
1,069
116
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Amazing! My friends & I went for the weekend & it could not have been better. It was everything we were looking for & more. The service was wonderful - everyone we encountered were so nice & helpful. The location was perfect & the rooms were so comfortable & the views unbelievable! A perfect getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
hilary r

Happy to hear of your "perfect getaway!

Thanks for sharing with the TA nation and see you again soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Room was big with great view of Sunrise. SPA type shower plenty of hot water Mattress tempurpedic with pillow top (Perfect). Well organized Business center. Room service right on time. Lobby and courtyard are gorgeous with wonderful architecture. Will stay here again if ever in South Beach again. Windows open all the way.

Room Tip: Room 814 had no price upgrade and good view of Sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Greg-

Thank you for the wonderful review. Always great to hear from a TA Senior Contributor.

Hope you make it back soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a find! The James (Royal Palms) is newly renovated in a cool art deco style. It is a good size hotel with great amenities but has the amazing feel of a boutique. The location could not be better, just 2 blocks from Lincoln Road. The staff were really nice, attentive and truly accommodating in every way. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I decided to try the James Royal Palm because I frequently stay at the James in New York. I found the same friendly professional staff in Miami and a great new hotel. The Royal Palm has been completely remade. They kept the terrazzo floors and deco feel and added a a twist on mid century furnishings that is brilliant. One of the best fitness centers I have found in a hotel that is private to hotel guests and a pool that seems to fit the hotel's size a well.
The rooms had plenty of space and the linens and pillows super cozy.

Room Tip: Make sure you try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Bill D

Thank you for the delightful review and for your loyalty to The James brand. (Thanks for the review of Florida Cookery too!)

Appreciate the shout out about the staff. James Chicago and James NY set the bar high on the friendliness scale, so we are working hard to insure the James guests have the same friendly, genuine experience no matter where they land!

See you again soon!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
379 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mixed - nice pool, nice beach, doormen seem genuinely eager to serve, as do housekeppers.
Service in the Florida restaurant is appalling. We have the US$77 with required tip buffet breakfast for two (cheap offerings, do not expect anything grand - limited fruit, a couple of pastries, get your own coffee, get your own juice, runny scrambled eggs) and the sole service we got was "what is your room #" and we were handed the check to sign. No "good morning", no clearing of dirty plates. We had a spa appointment at 9 am and the spa opened at 9 am exactly, not five minutes earlier as would normally be the case so that you can ease into the massage. The room we have is too funky for words. The odd glass bubble hanging lamp is low hanging and you hit your head. To open the closet door, you have to roll up the area rug as the door cannot be opened with the rug in place. OK bathroom, mini bar clearly meant for a drunk. Free Internet is good.

My view is when I go to a hotel, I want a hotel, I want service, the staff are not my friends. This hotel is run by drop outs from some beachside hotel management school.

Restaurant is popular as is club so expect a crowd in front of the hotel as late as 6 am.

Never on business for this place.

Room Tip: stay away from the music - there are three buildings. The lynnais building is like a motel but seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Happy_on_the_road-

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I will reach out to you offline to get some additional information in order to follow up with the right people and in the right room.

We have already made significant upgrades to the Breakfast Buffet based on customer feedback such as yours and will continue to listen and adjust.

In regard to our pantry offerings, we do offer 375ml bottles as well as airline bottles in effort to accommodate both short and long term guests.

I am sorry to hear about your service experience in the restaurant and rushed start for your spa experience.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My 3 friends and I had a great time at the James. Nice room with great bath products, comfy robe and slippers. Extremely comfortable bed! Decor is minimalist but very hip. The restaurents in the hotel are great but slightly pricey. The pool and beach areas are just perfect. The employees are nice, helpful but not intrusive. Special thanks to Raymond, Micheal [wrong spelling] and Rachel.

Room Tip: partial ocean view $50 extra per night . Not sure it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 242Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
242Elaine-

Thank you for your great review of The James Royal Palm! Love the "helpful, but not intrusive" description of our service. We teach "seamlessly intuitive" service. I guess it's working!

Michael, Raymond and Rachel will appreciate the kind words.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#103 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
0.9 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing