We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a minus I would give it -10”
Review of Ocean Surf Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Surf Blue
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If there was a minus I would give it -10”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were going to a wedding and booked 3 nites. So filthy, smelly, carpet torn up, cigarette burns on lamp (non-smoking hotel), food on table, DISGUSTING. We could not stay even one night and since I booked by Orbitz in advance, they don't want to give MY money back. This hotel should be shut down. It gives a bad view of Miami, and of the State of Florida. How can they stay in business - by cheating tourists. Disgraceful! I will update the review if I ever get my money back - even though WE DID NOT STAY THERE! Go to Days Inn next door. It's not fantastic but it's clean and management is reasonable. Don't get cheated out of a good vacation.

Room Tip: There is no good room in this filthy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaju d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    71
    79
    210
See reviews for
92
143
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location is amazing for clubbing, shopping, & easy beach access. As far as the room goes it's cheap so your getting what you pay for. If your plans are to be out I'd suggest it for those trying to keep money in their wallet, but if your in Miami for spa experience, room service & five star treatment this is absolutely not for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 912funseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was the worst hotel i have EVER seen in my life, and i do a lot of traveling. Booked this hotel for 3 nights in March for a vacation. This was a mistake and a nightmare. This place isnt even suitable for cockroaches. I wouldnt even stay at is place if it was free it was that bad. The hallways smelled like mildew, the carpets looked like they havent been vacumed in months, the showers were abysmal and duct tape was used as soap holders. The sheets on the bed were disgusting and soiled with stains everywhere. We debated sleeping in our rental car. Bottom line...this place is a health risk, inhabitable, and a scam. We ended up booking another hotel and did not stay here. Front desk was very unhelpful, did not budge on refunding our money, would not put us in contact with any management, and failed to provide us with any corporate phone numbers to discuss the situation with. Talk about horrendous customer service. Do not put yourself, your kids, friends or family in this situation, especially when your health is at jeopardy by staying here. I took photos of the horrendous condition of this place and wish there was a way for me to post them so you can see how bad it really was the photos are jaw dropping. Take your money to a more reputable place and enjoy your vacation....stay farrrr away from this hole.

Room Tip: Just stay away...i beg you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Bey0nd_Disgusted_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

FIrst we were over charged for an unclean hotel, that smells of pee, with useless staff!! I have stayed in many cheap hotels none have even been this terrible! The unsanitary conditions are not even the worst part!! While we were out someone came into our room (clearly it was a staff memeber because who can get in without a key?!) and stole our money then smashed our window! To make matters worse when the police were called we got told we have to pay to replace it. This has go to be the worst place I have ever been in my life!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Before I begin I loved the location but the hotel looks terrible. It reminded me of that one scene from Revenge of the Nerds when they stayed in chicken & roach infested hotel. The part when the lady pulled that butcher knife from the mattress. An said, " I am going to make you dinner."

The reason being because I had paid 85 for one night and 30 for parking. It is very outdated and you might get bed bugs. Seriously do not even stay here if your are on a low budget. I rather sleep on the beach with the homeless people then stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

never...ever in my life have i felt compelled to write a review until now...my lowest and most angry point of my entire Miami trip was this hotel NOTEL!!!!! I am not exagerating....my family and i were mortified!!! bugs-dirty and stained sheets- soiled carpets- just straight up nasty....we wouldnt even use the shower!!! the first room was the same as the second bc they advertised pix of one nicer room which are the ones we took pix of for this review...RUNN...SAVE YOUR VACATION!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ocean Spray Hotel
#184 of 208 in Miami Beach
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#142 of 208 in Miami Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#105 of 208 in Miami Beach
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#99 of 208 in Miami Beach
952 reviews
1.0 mi away
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Surf Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Blue

Property: Ocean Surf Blue
Address: 7436 Ocean Ter, Miami Beach, FL 33141-2774
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Surf Blue 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Surf Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing