We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and location”

Il Bolognese On Ocean
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Bolognese On Ocean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 1,090 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 14th Street And Ocean Drive
Description: Inspired by the authentic recipes and fresh regional ingredients of Northern Italy, this exceptional Italian eatery offers contemporary interpretations of classic favorites by chef Manuel Mattei. Everything we do at Il Bolognese is focused around creating a hearty, European sense of welcome. From our delectable lunch and dinner selections to our playful list of hand-crafted cocktails to our extensive regional wine list to our intimate garden courtyard for private events, we invite you to savor our unique culinary experience for yourself.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great food and location”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is a road side café outside Hotel Winter haven. The staff was courties and friendly. Being vegetarians it was difficult to decide on the menu. The food was great and yummy.
The location of the restaurant is excellent and full of life

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    318
    82
    23
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great Miami Beach dining experience - would love to go back!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

After the disaster of eating at Prime 112 the night before, our dining hopes for Miami Beach were restored here at Il Bolognese. Our waiter Nestor made great conversation, and being a trained sommelier was also helpful in the wine and food selections. After some brief conversation about the menu, he asked if he could make my dinner selection for me, and arranged for a variant of the gnocchi for my wife. The effort was appreciated, and the branzino (off menu) he selected for me was incredible. To top the evening off, Nestor brought us complimentary glasses of grappa 'to help digest'. This was the best of 4 dinners we had while in Miami Beach, by a good stretch. The combination of food quality, excellent service, and ambiance made for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great view, great food, great service, great wine list. We had a fabulous time at dinner with a great waiter who really knows the menu. I highly recommend Il Bolognese for dinner.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real Italian”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

What a service, such great food, if you like italian food, than this is the place in Miami, South Beach. We asked if they could prepare some fish and meat because we couldn't choose from the menu, and we enjoyed every bite ;-)

Helpful?
Thank FSSB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Perfect Pasta, excellent Service.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Before choosing il bolognese we walked the strip of restaurants, this was one of the only restaurants to not offer a 20% discount, because of that and the charm of Miguel the manager my wife, son and I decided to eat here.

We were introduced to our server Aamru who was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu, drinks orders were taken and by the time we were ready to order the drinks had arrived.

We all went for pasta dishes, I choose linguini with a breaded chicken breast, my wife had cannelloni and our son a penne carbonara with chicken added. The food arrived and was simply AMAZING, everything about all the dishes was just perfect, the pasta cooked to perfection and all the dishes full of flavour, we ate everything which I think is a first for us in Miami!!!

For dessert we ordered one chocolate soufflé, it arrived with two sides of chantilly sauce and ice cream, gorgeous!!! We ate everything.

After the meal we had the pleasure to meet the chef Edriano, an extremely talented chef and nice guy.

Thank you so much Miguel, Aamru and Edriano, my wife and I will return on our next trip to Miami in November.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonip1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bolognese On Ocean also viewed

 

Been to Il Bolognese On Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing