We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A few hiccups in a good hotel..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A few hiccups in a good hotel..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Small boutique hotel in comparison to most in South Beach, very nicely done in Art Deco style. We were upgraded to a lovely room when we arrived (room 418) but we got a surprise at night when the pumps for the pool came on- we heard it very clearly in the room. After complaining for 3 days and being given ear plugs we were told they could not be turned off and got a room change to the third floor. This room was smaller but we preferred it, we could sleep! If you're a 'light sleeper' like we were told by Reception then don't get room 418, otherwise its a nice hotel. The Manager was very accommodating and helpful when we brought this to her attention. They have a concierge service who gave great recommendations on what to see (wynwood is a nice local area not to be missed and the Wynwood Kitchen & Bar is delicious). The pool was lovely and relaxing, we went in low season so not that many people, the rooftop pool is pretty small so can imagine it will get quite full over the winter months. Fairly close to the beach but on a quieter road so get the best of both worlds. Breakfast was tasty but a bit pricey, you can use some of the credit back to contribute towards half a two person meal (hotel tax is $25 per day where you get $15 credit to use per day, no rollovers)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The80sTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    382
    155
    85
    74
See reviews for
220
560
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Don Torcuato
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were very comfortable during our stay, very good service at the front desk, Zaita assisted us throughout our stay, always very attentive to solve our questions. It is highly recommended due to the proximity of Lincoln Road and one block from the beach, with chairs and towel service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guillermo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after a really great 3 night stay stay at the Gale and wish we could have stayed longer. Hotel is very new and very stylish. Staff very attentive and really made you feel like you were in the best hotel in Miami.

Bar and restaurant service was good as was the check in and porters (always someone at the door to open it on the way out and to welcome you on the way back in....so nice personal touch). Valet parking was great and whilst it was $35 a day that is the going rate even for self park in Miami beach (so you are getting valet park for near to self park prices and far less hassle)

Hotel is also in a great location on Collins right across from the beach, one block from the shops and restaurants in Lincoln and two blocks from the excellent restaurants in Espanola.

Roof top pool was really nice with a great view. There is a lack of shade provided so it can be hot

Hotel room was nice (we had two queen beds which was ideal as we were a family of 4). Only point to mention is the total lack of any storage space......there was two small draws and a very small hanging space which was only as long as a shirt so no space for my my wife to hang her dresses etc. So no alternative but to live out of suitcase.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1967stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the Gale! I am BIG on customer service so let me say that this hotel knows great customer service & value it! Every single employee I encountered had a bright smile on their face & greeted me every time I laid eyes on them! I can't say enough about this place it is truly a gem & I am really hard to please! The room was AMAZING! beautiful and above all...SPOTLESS! Please stay here I will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSA90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

on the ground floor, noisy rooms with people going in front of your door to the lounge.
nice staff and nice decoration.
2 double bed room is small: no space at all around the beds+ difficulty to find space to open luggage.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Excellent location, friendly staff, great rooms (patio rooms are great!), awesome rooftop pool, and a wonderful concierge Gili- she was so helpful! Have stayed in many hotels on SB and this hotel has location, clean quiet rooms, and a knowledgeable friendly group that runs it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I've been to Miami many times before and this is by far my favorite place!! Everything in the hotel is done with incredible taste, from the decor in the rooms, in the restaurant, to the selection of food items on every menu, to the incredible service and hospitality!! I will definitely be coming back here! Love this place! Also a special thanks to the wonderfully warm concierge, she was super helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shelborne South Beach
#53 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#10 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Sagamore
#70 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#54 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing