We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well adorned Boutique ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #52 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well adorned Boutique ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many boutique hotels in SOBE, but The Gale hotel was by far the most well adorned. The building has been totally renovated into a modern interior designer's dream. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and nice. The rooftop pool is wonderful as well as the restaurant and lounge. Definitely order pizza at the restaurant if you want some authentic Italian style pizza. The room was small but well designed so felt large enough. We had a corner room in the new section so we had absolute quiet during our stay. If there was only one critical thing to say, it would be that the servers at the restaurant were not always friendly or attentive; considering they add 18% gratuity off the bat they should be much better!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank artandvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    363
    147
    83
    71
See reviews for
205
545
71
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Everything was the best!!! 5 stars!!! bed just sucked you in it was so comfortable. my boyfriend wants to order the mattress! the room smelled very clean, bathroom very clean. linens were soft and comfortable


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a great time at Gale Hotel. The stuff was really nice and helpful! We enjoyed Dolce ' s Restaurant - the food was delicious! We wish our room was a little bigger but overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamrodKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Gale has so many things going for it - however - for the sake of brevity I will only keep it to the top three. 1) The hotel has recently underwent a renovation and the rooms / lobby / hallways etc. are so well designed that it is as if you are staying in an architecture magazine. 2) The rooftop pool has amazing views of South Beach - it also looks really cool at night. 3) The location simply can't be beat - as this section of South Beach as it has the coolest boutique hotels on the strip.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinoGreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Enjoyed the stay. Close to everyhing. Entire staff very helpful and friendly. Beach across the street. Staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was good but a little expensive but the whole area was. I would stay again.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel was everything we expected, clean,modern with a wonderful rooftop pool and bar. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable from check in to check out. The location was perfect for us just across from the beach and close to ocean drive for lots of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbridgfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel staff was excellent. The hotel is gorgeous and well maintained. The rooftop pool is fabulous. With that being said I have a few complaints. The food on the room service menu is way overpriced ($76.00 for 2 omelets and 2 coffees) for the quality and quantity of the food. We ordered breakfast through room service and the food was bland and sparse. The room was decorated very nicely but there was not a table to eat our room service breakfast at. The room we stayed in was luxurious but it had no window so it felt closed in. If I stay again I would request a room with a window. My only other complaint besides the breakfast meal were the hidden fees. We booked the room for a specific price but when we checked in we were informed of resort fees, which was fine but upon check out there were more fees. I would prefer to know about all the fees upfront in order to budget for them. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Me F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Cadet Hotel
#69 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Sagamore
#67 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#46 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing