We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 4 star hotel (not 5)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #57 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good 4 star hotel (not 5)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Overall a good hotel. I have seen it marketed as a five star hotel, well, 4 stars would be more fair. However we paid in line with a regular 4 star hotel, so not complaining.

Rooms are really nice (looking) for a short stay, but not "functional" at all. Almost no space at all to hang or store your clothes or other items, no chairs or tables, and even so it felt a little cramped. Ok, it is nice to have a cool and good locking place to stay, but I prefer not only surface. For example, we had a quite large hallway in our room, but it was completely empty, no hangers or anything on the walls, a little bit too much waste of space in my opinion (N.B: we stayed in a twin bed room, have not seen the other rooms.)

Really nice roof top pool area.

Good location on upper parts of South Beach.

Some noise from the night club.

Good/ok restaurant, but quite expensive (we only had breakfast and lunch).

Wifi worked fine in the whole hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BortaBra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear BortaBra1,

It is always great receiving feedback from our Guests as this is the only way to find ways of improving ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts based on your recent stay and rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and will be shared with the entire team. Being a true Art Deco hotel, we are trying our best to make our rooms as functional as possible and we are offering different room types that can match all Guest requests. We hope for another opportunity to serve you again in the near future aiming for a 5 star experience the next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    344
    133
    77
    70
See reviews for
185
526
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Gale was an absolutely amazing experience. 4 of us stayed there over MLK weekend for a bachelorette. We loved the service, from start to finish - Gabriela Vasquez in reservations is the epitome of professionalism - a beautiful lady, inside and out. We also appreciated the tips from Gili in the concierge department. We had a great time in South Beach, and considering that the bachelorette was a Miami resident, it is a high bar to beat! I would absolutely recommend the Gale to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Maryann L,

Congratulations to your friend! We feel honored to have welcomed you at our hotel for such a special occasion. Thank you for recognizing Gabriela in your review. She has recently joined our Team and we couldn’t be happier with her performance. I will definitely share this review with Gili as well who has recently been voted concierge of the month by the South Florida Concierge Association. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel with a staff to match. Had an incredible time. Well done in all aspects. The room, the food, the service were all impeccable. The concierge and front desk staff went above and beyond to make my stay memorable. The bar in back was a blast and you cannot beat the quality food at Dolce for Dinner (some of the best Italian I've ever had) or pizza for lunch. -Mike Weiss

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikedanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mikedanger,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your recent stay. We take pride in ensuring our guests’ experience is seamless and are truly happy to have achieved this with you. I will make sure to share this wonderful review with our Concierge and Front Desk team. Come visit us again soon and we will be glad to assist you in creating more memorable moments. I would also like to tell you we just added a couple of more pizzas on our menu which I am sure you will love as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I went to Miami for vacation with my friends for a week. At first we were nervous cause it seemed pretty far from the bar area and the previous reviews said that it could get really loud because of the night club downstairs but we never found that to be a problem. The bar area was just a short cab ride away [we even walked it one night, none of us were in heels though], the beach of the sister hotel was really clean and not crowded at all, the hotel staff was great and always accommodating, the rooftop pool was beautiful, had a nice view and was relaxing and the rooms were very clean and big enough for four girls and all our stuff lol.

Overall great place to stay that's close enough to enjoy the bars and liveliness of south beach without the crowds. And it was right next to the shopping area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Jenmall,

I am happy to hear you have chosen the Gale for your recent trip to South Beach. We are indeed in the heart of it all, steps away from the ocean and walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. We often welcome Guests for girls’ getaway weekends or longer trips as they find our location and service to be right on point. Check out our website to see our latest special packages. We look forward to your return and in the interim, remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Gale property is not on the beach, but its location is close to Lincoln Road mall, Ocean Drive and the Art Deco district. Staff are polite and efficient. The restaurant serves very good Italian in a lovely dining room. Highly recommend the lemon risotto.
Rooms are a bit small but comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Suzy7,

Great positive comments! Thank you for being our Guest. I am very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and got the chance to taste some of the delicious plates at Dolce. The lemon risotto is definitely on my favorite list too. Keep us in mind next time you are visiting Miami, we would love to welcome you again.
Great stay in the heart of South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel - great location, friendly staff, nice cozy rooms and the rooftop pool is just great !
Perfect for business or leisure travellers - Lincoln Road is just round the corner, short walk to the beach - I will definitely stay here again once back in Miami. Thank you Oscar & the entire Team !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Scaryjack,

It was such a pleasure having you as a Guest. I will make sure to send your regards to Oscar and the Team. We anticipate your return to Miami, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07921
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel was perfect and so was the staff. The location was excellent, very close to Lincoln Road. The concierge, Raffael needs more training in booking extra activities. He did not know how to book the party or use the computer website. The party on the rooftop was a waste of our $400. It was disorganised. Ex: We were hotel guests but had to go outside the hotel and wait on line for 50 minutes
(of a 3 hour party) for a wrist band to get back into the hotel. It was a waste of time. There was not enough utensils for the entrees and what was there, had to be moved among the trays. There was not enough food. It kept running out and was not quickly replenished. The party was overbooked. Too many people. You could not move, you could not dance, it was jammed. Very unhappy and we will never do this again at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenacity77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear tenacity77,

It is unfortunate to learn about your recent experience during New Year’s Eve at the Gale Hotel. After speaking to Rafael, it seems like the webpage he was trying to access for the NYE party tickets was experiencing problems hence leading to the long wait to get them printed. I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening. I want to assure you this is not the standard here at the Gale and I would like to get a chance to further discuss with you. Please contact me at ats@meninhospitality.com at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
Sagamore
#68 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Cadet Hotel
#65 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South beach & Regent hotel is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hotels GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, access to the K17 Beach Club, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Leisure activities include Beach Cruisers, Saturday Morning Beach Yoga and rooftop pool deck with city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing