We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cute and cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I went to Miami for vacation with my friends for a week. At first we were nervous cause it seemed pretty far from the bar area and the previous reviews said that it could get really loud because of the night club downstairs but we never found that to be a problem. The bar area was just a short cab ride away [we even walked it one night, none of us were in heels though], the beach of the sister hotel was really clean and not crowded at all, the hotel staff was great and always accommodating, the rooftop pool was beautiful, had a nice view and was relaxing and the rooms were very clean and big enough for four girls and all our stuff lol.

Overall great place to stay that's close enough to enjoy the bars and liveliness of south beach without the crowds. And it was right next to the shopping area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Jenmall,

I am happy to hear you have chosen the Gale for your recent trip to South Beach. We are indeed in the heart of it all, steps away from the ocean and walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. We often welcome Guests for girls’ getaway weekends or longer trips as they find our location and service to be right on point. Check out our website to see our latest special packages. We look forward to your return and in the interim, remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    382
    155
    85
    74
See reviews for
220
560
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Gale property is not on the beach, but its location is close to Lincoln Road mall, Ocean Drive and the Art Deco district. Staff are polite and efficient. The restaurant serves very good Italian in a lovely dining room. Highly recommend the lemon risotto.
Rooms are a bit small but comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Suzy7,

Great positive comments! Thank you for being our Guest. I am very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and got the chance to taste some of the delicious plates at Dolce. The lemon risotto is definitely on my favorite list too. Keep us in mind next time you are visiting Miami, we would love to welcome you again.
Great stay in the heart of South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel - great location, friendly staff, nice cozy rooms and the rooftop pool is just great !
Perfect for business or leisure travellers - Lincoln Road is just round the corner, short walk to the beach - I will definitely stay here again once back in Miami. Thank you Oscar & the entire Team !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Scaryjack,

It was such a pleasure having you as a Guest. I will make sure to send your regards to Oscar and the Team. We anticipate your return to Miami, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07921
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel was perfect and so was the staff. The location was excellent, very close to Lincoln Road. The concierge, Raffael needs more training in booking extra activities. He did not know how to book the party or use the computer website. The party on the rooftop was a waste of our $400. It was disorganised. Ex: We were hotel guests but had to go outside the hotel and wait on line for 50 minutes
(of a 3 hour party) for a wrist band to get back into the hotel. It was a waste of time. There was not enough utensils for the entrees and what was there, had to be moved among the trays. There was not enough food. It kept running out and was not quickly replenished. The party was overbooked. Too many people. You could not move, you could not dance, it was jammed. Very unhappy and we will never do this again at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenacity77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear tenacity77,

It is unfortunate to learn about your recent experience during New Year’s Eve at the Gale Hotel. After speaking to Rafael, it seems like the webpage he was trying to access for the NYE party tickets was experiencing problems hence leading to the long wait to get them printed. I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening. I want to assure you this is not the standard here at the Gale and I would like to get a chance to further discuss with you. Please contact me at ats@meninhospitality.com at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I must say this is by far the best boutique hotel that I have seen in quite sometime!!!! The staff are so pleasant and professional!!! Whoever did the interior design to the hotel did an awesome job at focusing on the details!!! I highly recommend this place!!! One more thing, the food there is AMAZINGGGG!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Erica0415,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations with us. Thank you for your gracious compliments regarding our décor. We are proud of being a true Art Deco boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach. Come visit us again soon, you will be surprised to find a couple new delicious items on Dolce Restaurant’s menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Gale is a beautifully appointed luxury art deco hotel in the heat of south beach within walking distance of lincoln road and ocean drive with the beach located across the road and stylish rooftop pool and terrace bar. It's still relatively new so there are a few teething issues such as limited drawers or hanging space in rooms but these are minor set against fabulous retro styling, 1920s photos and lavish furnishings especially in the lobby areas. The house Italian restuarant - dulce - is outstanding (try the scallops, meatballs or lobster pasta) but star of the show has to be the Regent bar at the rear of the hotel. Simply the best mixologists and cocktails in all of Miami. It's a sin not to go there and soak up the dark oak panelled room listening to old jazz tracks. The other star of the show is Gili - hands down Miami top concierege. She arranged countelss reservations and somehow managed to get peak times everywhere for ourselves and my parents who were staying for thier anniversary. Overall it's for the discerning 5 star holidaymaker who wants a truly authentic Miami experience!

Room Tip: single beds are small rooms - go for the kingsize beds and ask for a room with a balcony. also limit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Anthony29,

Wow! Thank you for your high praise of the Gale South Beach. I am thrilled to hear that Gili went above and beyond for you and your parents. She will certainly be recognized for the outstanding service. I couldn’t agree more with you, Regent Cocktail Club is definitely a staple in Miami Beach among visitors as well as locals. Glad you enjoyed it. Your impressive review has been shared with our entire team. We await your return to Miami, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had the fortune to miss the 0 degree weather at home but the misfortune to have mostly rain while in Miami Beach. This meant that we spent a lot more time in the hotel than usual. The front desk check in was a breeze. The $25 per day resort fee was clearly explained that it included the $15 food and beverage credit. We used our credits all but one day at the bars. The specialty drinks are pricey, but good. We loved the roof top pool. It is a shallow lap pool that was the perfect temperature on a rainy day. Just don't let your husband take your room key and leave early or you'll be stuck on the roof top without your card to access the elevator. We had two rooms. The first room had a large counter desk with chair. The room behind it was smaller but fine for two people. We never received the shower curtain as requested, but managed to deal okay with the open bath area. The room was cleaned twice each day. Our only real problem as other reviewers warned is that the doors are really loud as they close. It isn't that people are slamming them, the metal latches are just really loud. The concierge service was great. We usually had Gillie who was friendly and did steer us to really good restaurants. The entire facility was clean the whole time, even with rain everyday. The hotel is one block from the beach at 17th and the beach club is at 21st. It is a pleasant walk along the brick beach path to the hotels beach chairs. We were with adult children, so there really wasn't any inconvenience to walk to the beach club except that the attendant wasn't readily available on the rainy days. The Gale is one block from Lincoln Road where most of the shops and restaurants are found and just a short walk to Ocean Drive by the park. Would definitely recommend this hotel for it's cleanliness and convenience. It is pricey but has the amenities of a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to use your food credit every day. You can just buy coffee or a drink is you do not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear SJ1mom,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the rainy weather you had the misfortune of experiencing. It is very rare that the weather is so gloomy for longer than one day in Miami, especially this time of year, so you should definitely come back soon so you can experience everything with a touch of sun. Please let me know when you are thinking of returning so I can make sure to offer your our best rate available, ats@meninhospitality.com. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stays with everyone and we hope to welcome you back at the Gale soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shelborne South Beach
#55 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#10 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
Sagamore
#70 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#54 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing