We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel with excellent service. I was little bit sceptic reading the reviews that the room is small and no place for wardrobe, but it was really opposite. Room was beautiful with so comfortable big bed, table, mini bar and superb bathroom. The wardrobe is small but enough.
The location is great and the service is great
Will definitely be back if travelling to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaV775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    382
    155
    85
    74
See reviews for
220
560
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

When a door is opened for you and you are greeted with a genuine "welcome sir" you know that you have stumbled onto a hidden gem right in the heart of Miami. Couldn't fault the Gale at all. The room and the comfort of it was simply amazing. Reception through to room service was amazing. It was great to hear staff having a laugh with you and seeing a genuine smile at all times (housekeeping). The pool deck and pool bar...great way to chillout under a Miami summer..Oh and those G&T's by the barman perfect!!...No outside noise what so ever from within our room. Seamless transition from the first hello to the last see you next time....try it for yourself you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: this is simple...just book at the Gale....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Gale South Beach on 21st Aug with family. Lovely small boutique hotel just steps away from the beach. Hotel and the rooms were welcoming and very modern and roof top pool exquisite. Food and drinks are expensive, but so are the restaurants. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsa820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everyone at the Gale is fabulous. Rooms are very modern and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in years. Is within walking distance to everything, shopping, clubs, the beach. Jose at the Front Desk was very courteous and attentive at all times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in the center of Miami night life.
Beautifull style with a retro taste but with all the modernity a tecnology you need.
The room was amazing spacious and comfortable, just beware of the open view shower if you are not intimate with your room mate/s
Make sure you understand the billing conditions before complaining and enjoy a touch of luxury for half the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank im1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went for a weekend trip with my girls and chose The Gale Hotel becuase of the ratings and the rates. I was not dissapointed! The rooms are a tad small, but we were partying and at the beach and pool parties all weekend, we weren't bothered by it at all. The hotel is very clean, and I LOVE the decor! The staff was amazing! Very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Can't want to stay here again on my next trip to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amber k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us the amazing feedback! I'm very happy to hear that all aspects of your stay were spot on and you had such an amazing girls trip. We work continuously with our staff to make sure we deliver on all of our guest expectations and needs, fortunately we have an amazing staff and this inherently is second nature to them which makes our jobs that much better. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you much sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just had a three night stay here, perfect fit for a more low key trip to South Beach. The service we experienced while here was above and beyond...major thanks to Raphael the concierge as well as Clyde who served us at Dolce (the lovely restaurant here). A few items of note:

The good...
- location can't be beat (unless it was truly on the beach)
- extremely clean, beautifully decorated hotel
- again, fantastic staff!
- loved the chill vibe of the pool...definitely not a spot for people who want to party but rather want to relax
- the Regent Cocktail Club and the Dolce Italian Restaurant were both fabulous dining/drinking venues. Both exceeded my expectations. We were treated to an incredible live concert at the cocktail lounge by Brendan O'hare, a local musician who is truly talented and entertaining.

The not so good...
- Verizon customers will have a hard time getting service here
- not sure about all rooms but our room with two full beds was teeny tiny. Didn't matter much because we were out and stayed in and even just two people in there almost seemed crowded
- not a lot of privacy in thebathroom area of each room
- an additional $158 charge magically appeared on our final bill. We noticed it and it was removed but it was an added "gratuity" on there by accident.
- the K-17 beach access is a good 5-7 minute walk from the hotel. No alcohol served.

I would definitely stay here again but recommend it for folks looking for a more casual, intimate atmosphere. Not a good place for folks with kids or people looking to blow it out/party. But it was perfect for a quick and fun getaway with my sister. Thanks to the staff at the Gale for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The overview that you've provided is extremely helpful for those may not know what to expect during a first stay at Gale South Beach. Our location is really allows one to see all that South Beach has to offer just by walking out of the hotel and making a left or right, no need for a car when staying here. The cleanliness and décor of the rooms allows for our guest to feel as they are our first guest with the modern yet art deco vibe Miami has come to be known for. As for our amenities, our rooftop pool allows our gueststo relax and recharge the batteries for yet another night out in South Beach. Regent Bar was voted “Best New Bar in the World by Tales of the Cocktail so I can’t say I am surprised it exceeded your expectations, yet Iam thrilled that it did. As far as some of your “not so good” points we take our guest feedback very seriously. You mentioned your Verizon signal, and last just last week we have added cell phone repeaters throughout the property and this is no longer an issue. Furthermore, we do select rooms that have full private bathrooms, please contact myself directly at ats@meninhotels.com and I will handle your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shelborne South Beach
#54 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#13 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Sagamore
#70 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#57 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing