We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #52 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“Food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

There is no late night room service. I tried to order egg whites for breakfast. They told me they could only make an omelette. I then asked if I could have six egg whites. They said each omelette has 3 eggs so I would have to order 2 omelettes. I asked if they could just scramble the egg whites. They said no. So they can make an omelette but not scramble them?? What the hell?? Then I asked if I could order oatmeal. They said they don't have oatmeal. Pathetic service and selection all around. Especially for the price u are paying to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayainMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    421
    167
    95
    74
See reviews for
244
614
82
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gale South Beach. We frequent South Beach and are really familiar with the area. We absolutely loved Gale. When we checked in the front desk was really nice and courteous. We checked in early and they were able to hold our baggage while we went to Lincoln Road (just a block away) to shop and dine. When we came back to the hotel, the front desk agent remembered our names, the bellman escorted us to our room and told us about the mini bar and the IBahn app. The room is small but VERY well appointed. The bed was really comfortable. The TV in the room is top notch- 55 inch led. The AC worked great in the room. The bathroom is small, but REALLY nice. I really enjoyed the steam shower and the GuyandGirl paraben free amenities. The towels are nice, thick and big! They really didn't skimp on anything in the room. The only thing I would have added is an informational book with menu to Dulce (their Italian Restaurant), locations of pool, bars, restaurants and gym. This hotel is really suited for COUPLES, since the room is smaller and the shower is open to the rest of the room. We were on the 1st floor, right next to the Regent bar. We slept well, and didn't hear Rec Room or The Regent at all during our stay.

We took advantage of everything the hotel had to offer- and went to the restaurant multiple times. Dulce was FANTASTIC! The food was great, it was the best pesto I have ever had. Edgar, the waiter, was extremely friendly, courteous, attentive and used our names throughout the entire dining experience. He knew the menu inside and out, and was enthusiastic about what it was serving. He is definitely a gem!

We also had drinks at the Dulce bar- there were three bartenders- they were all FANTASTIC! Service was outstanding, even when they got really busy later in the night. We also went to the Regent bar, again the bartender was nice and really know how to make a drink! We went to Rec Room, great club! 80's and 90's music and good drinks. The pool is nice, but was really crowded since the hotel was sold out during our stay. The gym is small, but adequate and was not busy the entire time we were there.

We had an amazing time at the Gale, and will look forward to our next stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keywestkasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My sister and I stayed 4 nights at the Gale and would so come back. It was renovated in December 2012 so everything is almost new. Every member of the staff is fabulous, from Jose at the front desk (!!!) to the bellhops to the coffee artist at the juice bar. The rooms are so nice - not huge, but so art deco and clean and great!! The rooftop pool is wonderful. The restaurant has wonderful dishes, and did I mention the coffee was delicious? The $25 daily resort fee works out fine, as you get $15 back in food or drink daily, per room, not per person. Location is great, you can sit at the restaurant and people watch for hours. It's at an intersection where loads of people are coming and going from the beach, to and from the clubs, etc. Fun to see all the activity. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

With so many hotels to chose from in the South Beach area, it's difficult to decide. My husband and I had both been to SoBe a couple of times prior to this visit but always with friends, not each other. We wanted a trendy, romantic, modern place to stay but nothing with a super party vibe atmosphere. Trip Advisor had great reviews on this hotel and I also liked that it was a newly renovated hotel. It was super clean, modern, trendy, classy, romantic and had a warm and welcoming feeling. It was quiet and private, yet right on Collins and situated perfectly to shopping, great bars, lounges, the beach and other nice hotels. Easy to walk everywhere and just a block or 2 from Lincoln. The rooftop pool was another reason we chose this hotel with beach access (one block away) through the Shelbourne Hotel.
The room had a great set-up: nice bathroom with plenty of sharing space to get ready in, a big screen TV, prompt housekeeping and a very comfy king-sized bed. We never ordered room service, but the menu looked good. One minor complaint is that room service just wasn't offered when we would have wanted it, which would have been more into the overnight hours. We did eat lunch at the pool bar and the food was very good! Awesome pizza! Armani and Constantine at the Dolce bar were awesome. Fun to chat with and they made fun, innovative cocktails (hey guys!!) The drinks at any of the bars at the hotel were really great! The Regent Cocktail Club was great too! Nice vibe there! We didn't get to enjoy the Rec Room bc it wasn't open during our stay (it opens Thursday night through Sunday and we stayed Monday - Thursday afternoon) otherwise I would have liked to have gone there and maybe next time we can dine at Dolce (just not enough time). Wish the pool/outside/rooftop bar was open a little later into the evening (only til 6pm) too because it has such a great view.
Gili at concierge was wonderful. She was able to offer many great recommendations (pub belly's sushi being one of them) and was very informative and attentive! She gave us so many tempting suggestions, but we just didn't have enough time to do it all.
Overall, our stay was phenomenal! It was a great choice for us and I'm glad we stayed here!
Although there are other hotels I would eventually like to stay at in South Beach, I would happily stay at the Gale again and most certainly recommend this hotel to others.
Any questions, please ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of South Beach.

Pros:
Wonderful location
Beautiful room
Accomodating concierge
Clean
Wonderful and fun pool in this hotel and in the sister resort
Great beach

Cons:
The front desk couldn't get the reservation information to be correct. We'd called to confirm several times about our needing an extra bed in the room, but they still didn't get it right, and we actually had to change rooms, almost missing our massage reservations.
The night club staff are very rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vika111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and 5 of my girlfriends came to Miami from NY for a bachelorette party. This hotel was a major disappointment. They couldlnt get the room accommodations correct and we had to switch rooms several times. We were also told hotel guests had free admission to the club in the hotel. When we tried to get in we were told by the doorman that we "weren't the right color'. Worst experience ever. Never want to stay in this hotel again and I wouldn't recommend it it to anyone. Just wish we knew this before we booked.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinab82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Irinab82,
Your feedback is appreciated and we are sorry to hear of the dissatisfaction with your stay. Upon reviewing your reservation, I see that the reason for the room changes was to ensure your party will be on the same floor, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. The entrance to the Rec Room can never be guaranteed as the club reaches its capacity very quickly. We value you as a guest so please feel free to reach me at ats@meninhotels.com to further discuss your experience and hopefully give us a chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked a room at the Gale through Jetsetter for the overnight layover we had on our trip to St Lucia. We enjoyed the one night so much, we booked it again for our return layover. The rooms are tiny but they make up for it in their ambiance. Super chic and very european feeling. The first room we stayed in was smaller but had a large patio area. The second room we stayed in was a little bigger and had a large corner window which we enjoyed looking out of. The staff was extremely helpful (not to mention good looking). We enjoyed having unique drinks in the hip bar and dinner on the patio was delicious and entertaining. If we ever go to South Beach again, we will stay here. Also- we rented bikes down the street and had a blast riding up & down the beach in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misscrysTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear misscrys,
This is great! So happy you decided to stay with us on your return layover and got to experience the different room types our hotel has to offer. Thank you for recognizing our staff in your review. I will make sure to share your nice words with the entire Team. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,215 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,176 reviews
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
943 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#60 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55-inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, offering up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing