We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay! Clean, Modern, Classy and Quiet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #54 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Sinai, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay! Clean, Modern, Classy and Quiet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

With so many hotels to chose from in the South Beach area, it's difficult to decide. My husband and I had both been to SoBe a couple of times prior to this visit but always with friends, not each other. We wanted a trendy, romantic, modern place to stay but nothing with a super party vibe atmosphere. Trip Advisor had great reviews on this hotel and I also liked that it was a newly renovated hotel. It was super clean, modern, trendy, classy, romantic and had a warm and welcoming feeling. It was quiet and private, yet right on Collins and situated perfectly to shopping, great bars, lounges, the beach and other nice hotels. Easy to walk everywhere and just a block or 2 from Lincoln. The rooftop pool was another reason we chose this hotel with beach access (one block away) through the Shelbourne Hotel.
The room had a great set-up: nice bathroom with plenty of sharing space to get ready in, a big screen TV, prompt housekeeping and a very comfy king-sized bed. We never ordered room service, but the menu looked good. One minor complaint is that room service just wasn't offered when we would have wanted it, which would have been more into the overnight hours. We did eat lunch at the pool bar and the food was very good! Awesome pizza! Armani and Constantine at the Dolce bar were awesome. Fun to chat with and they made fun, innovative cocktails (hey guys!!) The drinks at any of the bars at the hotel were really great! The Regent Cocktail Club was great too! Nice vibe there! We didn't get to enjoy the Rec Room bc it wasn't open during our stay (it opens Thursday night through Sunday and we stayed Monday - Thursday afternoon) otherwise I would have liked to have gone there and maybe next time we can dine at Dolce (just not enough time). Wish the pool/outside/rooftop bar was open a little later into the evening (only til 6pm) too because it has such a great view.
Gili at concierge was wonderful. She was able to offer many great recommendations (pub belly's sushi being one of them) and was very informative and attentive! She gave us so many tempting suggestions, but we just didn't have enough time to do it all.
Overall, our stay was phenomenal! It was a great choice for us and I'm glad we stayed here!
Although there are other hotels I would eventually like to stay at in South Beach, I would happily stay at the Gale again and most certainly recommend this hotel to others.
Any questions, please ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    409
    161
    89
    74
See reviews for
238
595
80
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of South Beach.

Pros:
Wonderful location
Beautiful room
Accomodating concierge
Clean
Wonderful and fun pool in this hotel and in the sister resort
Great beach

Cons:
The front desk couldn't get the reservation information to be correct. We'd called to confirm several times about our needing an extra bed in the room, but they still didn't get it right, and we actually had to change rooms, almost missing our massage reservations.
The night club staff are very rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vika111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and 5 of my girlfriends came to Miami from NY for a bachelorette party. This hotel was a major disappointment. They couldlnt get the room accommodations correct and we had to switch rooms several times. We were also told hotel guests had free admission to the club in the hotel. When we tried to get in we were told by the doorman that we "weren't the right color'. Worst experience ever. Never want to stay in this hotel again and I wouldn't recommend it it to anyone. Just wish we knew this before we booked.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinab82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Irinab82,
Your feedback is appreciated and we are sorry to hear of the dissatisfaction with your stay. Upon reviewing your reservation, I see that the reason for the room changes was to ensure your party will be on the same floor, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. The entrance to the Rec Room can never be guaranteed as the club reaches its capacity very quickly. We value you as a guest so please feel free to reach me at ats@meninhotels.com to further discuss your experience and hopefully give us a chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked a room at the Gale through Jetsetter for the overnight layover we had on our trip to St Lucia. We enjoyed the one night so much, we booked it again for our return layover. The rooms are tiny but they make up for it in their ambiance. Super chic and very european feeling. The first room we stayed in was smaller but had a large patio area. The second room we stayed in was a little bigger and had a large corner window which we enjoyed looking out of. The staff was extremely helpful (not to mention good looking). We enjoyed having unique drinks in the hip bar and dinner on the patio was delicious and entertaining. If we ever go to South Beach again, we will stay here. Also- we rented bikes down the street and had a blast riding up & down the beach in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misscrysTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear misscrys,
This is great! So happy you decided to stay with us on your return layover and got to experience the different room types our hotel has to offer. Thank you for recognizing our staff in your review. I will make sure to share your nice words with the entire Team. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Gale for a business trip and it could not have been a better stay. The rooms are beautiful, fresh and clean. The rooms are on the smaller side, but with the incredibly comfortable beds and lovely large tv, I didn't even notice. I loved the key cards that you swipe versus insert in the doors, very high tech. The only thing that did cause some disruption is neighbors slamming their room doors at all hours of the night, as Miami nightlife is quiet the scene. The 5th floor pool was a great way to wind down in the evening and had magnificent views of Miami and Collins Ave. Dolce restaurant within the hotel is delicious and moderately priced. The location is steps from the beach entrance, literally across the street and very close to the Convention Center, restaurants and Lincoln Rd. Every Staff member I encountered was friendly and accommodating. I would stay back at the Gale again in a heartbeat! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

the hotel was ok,, the rooms very small, housekeeping really bad our room was never done in the morning, not very clean, no fresh towels, floors were never clean, the staff at the front desk were not very pleasent I ask a question twice and the answer was " I told you" that is not the way to give an answer to a guest, then there is the issue of the resort fee$25.00 this I really don't get the beach is two blocks away when you get there you look for white and yellow chairs area, guys put up an unbrella and that's it no other service no restroom, no towels, so if you are planning on staying at the Gale, make sure you bring beach towels and do your own research on the hotel to find out what's what,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Ida P,
It is unfortunate to learn about your recent experience at the Gale. We aim to deliver an excellent service level and are disappointed to learn of your impression. The $25.00 resort fee has a great added value including the beach chairs, $15.00 food and beverage credit as well as wifi throughout the property. We assure you that your comments will be shared with our team and we hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed one night a few weeks ago with my daughter. It was great, room was quiet, bed comfortable and bath rm beautiful. Room is small. Location was perfect for a quick trip to beach, shop and eating. Only concern is we were unable to get my 3g phone to work in the rm and I was trying to coordinate with family who live there. Staff was very pleasant and helpful and I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrg.1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shelborne South Beach
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Cadet Hotel
#77 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Sagamore
#73 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing