We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service, overrated”
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #55 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Firstly, official pictures are heavily photoshopped and do not represent reality, the place is very small and it is not as pictured. Having said that, first impression was decent.

Hidden $25 per day charge not mentioned when you check in (of course), also not mentioned was that you can only claim your $15 breakfast voucher if you put it all on separate checks if you are a group. All that bureaucracy and lack of attention on making the client feel comfortable. Manager was unhelpful and didn't care.

Honestly, I've been to Miami a lot and your money will be better spent elsewhere. Avoid

Room Tip: Don't stay there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Sb5.
Your review is especially concerning to me. I do apologize if you felt our images did not mirror your expectations, however I would like to point out that our images are not photo shopped other than for lighting as needed and in fact, we market ourselves as a boutique hotel. As for the resort fee, if you were not informed about this in advance by your group contact again please accept our apologies though it is stated on our reservations page as well as any other partner sites as well as on your registration when checking in. We hope to welcome you back in the future and turn your experience around. Feel free to contact me at galeguest@meninhotels.com to make arrangements for your future booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a great time at the Gale. Great location, great staff, rooms are modern and quiet - at least during my stay. Restaurant was great as was the bar in the back - get a Negroni - you won't regret it! I enjoyed sitting on the patio in the front and watching South Beach go by....I'll definitely be back. My only complaint was that the closet in my room wasn't long enough for my dresses so they ended up pooling on the bottom. I think they'd be fine for men's suits and shirts, but for a maxi dress? Not so much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mykabarbato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Easy walk to Convention Center and Lincoln Road shops and restaurants. Excellent Italian Restaurant and morning coffee bar on premises. Recently renovated. Rooms beautifully appointed. Only negative was closet space was limited. However, housekeeping provided a portable close rack which worked just fine. Rooms were small, but very clean and excellent air conditioning system which you need on South Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEREE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Laura1444,
Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay at the Gale. We are indeed located in the heart of South Beach, walking distance to the main attractions and just steps away from the Ocean. I am pleased you have had an enjoyable stay in our brand new remodeled hotel. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Gale South Beach for 4 days because the other days were unavailable. The location was EXCELLENT and conveniently located near Lincoln Road and just blocks away from the night life of Ocean Drive. We were able to get fast transportation to other locations throughout the city. The hotel is located right across the street from the “S” bus stop that takes you up and down Collins Avenue and even to the Adventura Mall.

The staff was Great! They were nice and attentive to our every need. In particular when we arrived, Adrian (One of the cool bellman) greeted us and walked us to the front desk, waited with us as we checked-in and then took our bags up to our room while giving us a tour of the hotel. He took us up to the 5th floor and showed us the pool area, the 1 and only exclusive rooftop beach view and, the view of Collins Road and the bar located on the 4th floor. He walked us into our room and explained where everything was located, how to access the do not disturb button, the ridiculous 30 second rule of the mini bar and gave us great suggestions on hotspots, restaurants and things to do in the area (during the week). He also was great when it rained he provided us shelter with an umbrella and hailed a cab ensuring the cab driver didn’t park in a puddle so we wouldn’t get our shoes wet.

The other front desk staff Desmond was nice and friendly and checked us into our room quickly without any complications. Ironically he was there when we left and checked us out on our last day as well- Overall the Staff made our stay Outstanding!

CONS: The prices. NOTHING is complementary. No service was given as a bonus for staying even requesting a late checkout was a 50 dollar charge. The price of bottled water as 7 dollars! We ate 2 muffins and had 2 cappuccinos and it totaled to 20 dollars.

Another downside- is the room’s bathroom space. It just wasn’t a lot of room for 2 women to share for a week. Although you don’t come to Miami to spend time in a room- it would be nice that the shower doors would have been frosted instead of clear. It was kind of awkward being in the room with my Aunt- shading our eyes to one another to use the sink or the toilet area.
Also there was NO IRON in the room! The only provided a steamer which was not always convent especially when you’re trying to get ready and out quickly.

We would recommend this hotel and we are definitely going to stay again!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on 2nd floor and it was quite except for Thursday Night when the club was opened- the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kashana04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The Gale South Beach is a beautiful property with stunning City and Ocean views. The staff is extremely friendly. When we arrived, Adrian (a bellman) greeted us and walked us to the front desk, waited with us as we checked-in and then took our bags up to our room while giving us a tour of the hotel. He walked us into our room and explained where everything was located, how to access out balcony and how the do not disturb button worked. The front desk staff is very courteous. Miri was very helpful with our check-out. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The hotel has a an exquisite Italian restaurant and multiple bars. The rooftop infiniti pool is very relaxing and we enjoyed the free fruit popsicles that were offered. I recommend the lemon or watermelon. VERY refreshing! Tanning on the sun deck was also great. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear AJCC1,
What a great review! Thank you for being our Guest and thank you for all the kind words. It makes me extremely happy and proud to see our Team members mentioned in this review and I will make sure to share your flattering comments with them. Contact us at galeguest@meninhotels.com to plan your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My collegue and I stayed at the Gale while on a business trip and I still pat myself on the back at having chosen to stay there! The service was excellent, the staff efficient and friendly and the location is perfect!What's not to like? Everything is new and beautifully decorated.I was worried about the noise from the nightclub downstairs since we were there on business and needed our rest but we were on the 4th floor and stayed during the week and we didn't hear any noise at all. Maybe it's different on the weekends...
Our rooms were spacious and gorgeous, we had the most delicious seafood risotto ever and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definitely be back! A big thank you to the staff!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lise253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Fantastic place to stay!

Dear Lise253,
Thank you for choosing Gale South Beach & Regent Hotel for your recent visit to Miami. Your feedback has made our day as there is nothing more rewarding than seeing our Guests happy. I will make sure to relay your big thank you to all our Team members, they will greatly appreciate it. We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I rarely have time out of my busy schedule to make note of personal experiences, however I would be remiss not to take the time to relay my recent incredible trip to the Gale Hotel in South Beach this past weekend. Our trip was intended as a birthday celebration for 3 gals looking to have some relaxation and fun...and boy did we find it! Not only was the Gale's presentation extremely clean, it offered a hip décor and great food selection in their various restaurants. What made the Gale so special, so much so that we will never stay anywhere else, was the incredibly attentive and friendly staff that made our stay what it was. Dimitri has to be one of Miami's best kept secrets at the bar, as well as others staffers such as Nick, Jose and Andres made our stay unforgettable. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Phenomenal experience!

Dear Stephanie R,
This is fantastic news! We are pleased to learn you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit. Our goal has always been to create unforgettable memories for all of our guests and I am very happy we managed to accomplish this for you. I look forward to sharing your gracious compliments with Dimitri, Nick, Jose and Andres. We are all very proud to have them on our Team! Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,528 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,347 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,375 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#67 of 212 in Miami Beach
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Address: 1690 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $162 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55-inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, offering up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing