We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eva”

Purple Penguin Cafe
Ranked #221 of 1,075 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Purple Penguin Café is an eco-chic Ocean Drive restaurant that embraces the elaborate and busy culture of South Beach. The food and cocktail menus feature select staple favorites from around the world. Purple Penguin Café customers enjoy quality patio and street-side dining while experiencing the vibrancy of South Beach. Purple Penguin Café seeks to create a memorable and desirable experience that attracts visitors and brings local customers back.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Eva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stopped for drinks and our server, Eva, was thoroughly enjoyable. We spent quite a bit of time talking to her and she was an excellent waitress. The drinks were much more reasonable than the other restaurants on the street. We got the foot long hot dogs and OMG!, they were incredible. Can you tell me what brand they are and if they're available to buy for anyone but restaurants? Thanks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    96
    47
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

While in South Beach we stopped by the Penguin for lunch. We are so glad we picked it over some of the more higher priced choices along the strip. The location was great with a nice atmosphere and view. They had both inside and outside dinning. It was hard to choose between a great outside view or inside air conditioning, but since inside also had a good view we took inside. There was a good selection of choices on the menu. The food was good, well prepared and with very nice presentation. We were recommend to try one of their signature drinks that came in a Penquin shaped container. It was a good choice very tasteful, really enjoyed it. We were very impressive with the service. Our waitress Holly and waiter Raul couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed. They were very friendly and attentive. The food manager Phillip even came over to make sure the food was prepared and presented well, then helped in telling us about the attractions with recommendations where we might like to visit in the area. This was one of our memorable experiences of South Beach. I would recommend a stop at the Penquin if in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in Sobe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wow what a find! Needed a place to eat and wasn't feeling the trendy overpriced hotspots throughout Southbeach. That's where the penguin stepped in. Eva, our waitress, was absolutely fabulous, so attentive and answered all our questions about the area. Food was delicious, drinks were strong, overall lovely atmosphere. Would totally recommend for lunch or a nice dinner. Would go back to the penguin again in a heartbeat...this time wearing purple.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hojo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula,Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We eat here twice. First we had dinner what inspired us to return back for breakfast. Not so because of the food experience but because of the reasonable price and perfect position they have.
Loved their enchiladas and omelette with rye bread and jam for breakfast. Cocktails were tasteful but not very strong. Other meals we have tried (fish and stake) were average.
The service charge is included in the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We eat here twice on a recent holiday to miami beach and the food and cocktails were excellent. One of the times we visited was for breakfast and it was the best breakfast of our holiday! I would definitely recommend it, its a great place to sit and watch the world of south beach go by!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoothEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Penguin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Purple Penguin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing