We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,148)
Filter reviews
2,148 results
Traveler rating
1,047
550
272
160
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,047
550
272
160
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond member south beach west tower ocean drive marble floors partial ocean view south end city view full kitchen one bedroom suite large balcony pool area front desk staff ocean front an upgrade restaurant staff lounge chairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,787 - 1,792 of 2,148 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We came to expect more from Hilton. We found the parking fees to be excessive, there is city parking nearby and half the price. Continental breakfast was good, but they fail to mention that you have to pay extra for the 'hot' meals.

The outdoor pool area is nice but small. During our stay there was a terrible amount of wind on the beach and around the hotel. We were told that due to the location on the coast and near the bay that it was extra windy. It may be a weather related problem but it is something to be aware of. The outdoor jacuzzi is a nice feature but it may have been broken when we were there. The water was scalding, making it very difficult to sit in and enjoy.

The rooms were moderately sized, I liked the mini kitchenette, with sink, microwave, bar fridge and dishes for two, plus lots of counter space. Kitchen counter space made up for lack of counter space in the bathroom. Terrible lighting in the bathroom. The closet was also small.

Overall the hotel was disappointing, the rooms were not fully sound proof and I could hear other guests and maid staff in the hallways talking. I had to go into the parking garage a few floors down to get ice. In need of renovation and updating.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

My wife and I spent 6 nights here in mid October while I was there on business. We chose the hotel because of its beach view and the description of the rooms on the companies web site.

Early on I got concerned about our stay because of the construction next door. I emailed Leo in reservations and he assured me the construction would be mostly over by the time we got there. He was correct. We were in a 1 bedroom suite on the 4th floor and while the construction was still finishing up it had very little if any impacton our stay.

We were in a 1 bedroom ocean front suite which was beautiful. We had a large deck on the 4th floor (room 401) with lounge chairs, table and chairs and a small grass area with palm trees. This deck was shared with one other couple but we hardly saw them. The only down side was that from the deck the railing and foliage interfered with the view of the ocean.

The room was wonderfull. Large room with couch, chair, workdesk, tv and stereo and a small kitchen. Bedroom and bathroom were also very nice and large and very well appointed. Service was excellent. Room was exactly as we hoped except the web page showed flat screen tvs in both rooms and we had niether.

People are wonderfull. Very attentive and always try to accomodate your needs. The pool was redone while we were there and was vey nice but the view to the ocean was covered by shrubbery. We chose to go to the ocean.

People have complained about the $ 10 daily fee. I thought it was a bargain in that if gave you wifi access and free (except for a tip) beach lounges.

The bar and dining room were a disappointment as was the lobby. Very small with not much imagination but the people made up for that. Everyone was wonderfull.

The only real drawback was the distance to almost anywhere on SoBe. We walked a lot but it is 5 blocks to anywhere and as many as 15 blocks to some places. We rented a car but valet charges were $ 20 and a taxi was about the same overall cost. Our weather was not great but that of course was not the hotels fault.

As time goes on this place will get better as luxury condos and retail space are being built all around it. We enjoyed our stay and woudl definitely come back for a short stay but if we were staying for 6 nights again I think we would find someplace more centrally located

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank megmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

(150 night per year traveler opinion) Booked the hotel based on location, and used points. Called ahead for a room upgrade. (gold) Was given one. Had wife and 9 yr old daughter along. We were in the street side tower, with an ocean side corner room. Really loved it. Room very nice. Great size, style, quality, etc. Had the side where the construction was. No issues. (9th floor, above most of it) Really felt great there. Really appreciated having the kitchen, even though we didn't cook a meal. Used the glassware, fridge, micro, icemaker, water dispenser. The pool had a broken pipe, but we were warmly sent to the other Bently hotel and they were very nice. They have a rooftop pool, and we spent a whole afternoon there. Great. The worries about south beach are as you take them. If you think this is a tourist destination, you are going to the wrong place. Go to Fort Meyers. If you like the colorful side, come here. The beach is no secret. It is what it is. Indulge. The culture is why you go there, and this hotel is a great modern, euro style example of it. Small little things here and there that were missed, but, in the end, would love to stay there again. Top shelf place.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wheredoiLiveanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Ok I know reviewers come from all over but not sure which planet the previous people came from. Our recent experience was as hoped for, expected and above. I am a honors gold member so asked for and got upgrade from studio to one bedroom ( a +130$ value). Room was superb, nice balcony view over Nikki beach and very good exposure to sea view. Marble everything floors & complete bathroom - with bath and shower. Bed was great and comfortable. Service by all was efficient and friendly- everyone we approached greeted us warmly and first. Pool was great; beach access a short walk; the 10$ daily added resort fee is far cheaper than $15 per person for chairs + umbrella cost you'd incur on your own on the beach - who lays on towels on sand anymore? Free breakfast was just continental which is fine as we are bread/fruit /juice/cereal/coffee only folks. Breakfast buffet upgrade for $6 per takes you to average eggs potoates fare. It is at the end of the ocean drive but many great restaurants are within 1-2 blocks and "walk it off" mode is needed after pigging out. You are taxed by state, county and city so add 30-40 dollars more than room rate but this is likely at all hotels. Enjoyed enjoyed enjoyed.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MicSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Having looked at Tripadvisor throughly for a good hotel on south beach i felt the Hilton did have some fairly good reveiws ( a few months ago now) and was competitively priced.

Check in was quick and we were ushered into our room. The room looked good from afar but up close was far from nice. There were fingerprints everywhere (from previous guests) crumbs all over the table and walking barefoot on the floor produced dirty feet. The bathroom was clean however. The kitchen looked unused and dusty. The balcony was dirty and had no chairs so there would be no point in having a balcony at all. The plasma TV was ok although the control box was taped together - not a good look.

As we found our bearings in the neighbourhood we realised we were more then 6 blocks away from the main action which is a lot when you are walking in high heat. The only place you are near to is Nikki Beach nightclub which is only open some nights. The conceirge at our hotel was not very knowledgeble and didn't seem to want to be there. The restaurent was empty at all times. The pool is terrible, it's unclean and even smaller then what photos portray. You would definitly not want to sunbathe there, just by the sea. The gym is small and has archaic machines.

The hotel is also situated in quite a run down area with quite a few homeless people. We decided to move to the Loews Hotel which was more expensive but by god was it worth it, the hotel totally made our trip. The Hilton were fine us checking out, the receptionists are very nice, although they wacked on an extra $10 a day 'misc' fee which to this day not sure what this was for (they add this on for every night you stay).

We are going back to Miami next year but not to the Hilton Bently that's for sure.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews