We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Their Montreal Restaurant...Excellent!!!!”
Review of Estiatorio Milos

Estiatorio Milos
Reserve with OpenTable
Estiatorio Milos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,090 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: It was in December 1979, when Chef-Owner Mr. Costas Spiliadis opened the first Estiatorio Milos on Park Avenue, Montreal. The reason seemed obvious to him: the need to elevate the sophistication of Greek cuisine abroad far away from its stereotyped forklorization. 'I wanted to change what people thought about Greek cuisine, make sure it's being appreciated and awarded with its rightful place on an international level!' As a small restaurant, Milos gained the trust of the Montrealers in no time. The menu being always simple and impeccably fresh, drew the attention of the media and food critics from around the world. NY Post has stated in triumph that 'Milos fish could only be fresher if it swam to your plate!' What was the secret that made Milos stand out? Its focus in finding the purest Mediterranean products and cooking with the freshest ingredients. Through 35 years of intensive research, we have managed to build lasting relationships with growers and small-scale fisheries at the shores of Greece, Cyprus, Morocco, Tunisia, Portugal etc., Flying in our fish and seafood daily by plane! Milos has since then taken the world by storm and opened in 1997 in NYC, in 2004 in Athens, in 2010 at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas, in 2012 in Miami Beach and in 2015 in London!
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Like Their Montreal Restaurant...Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's so hard for me to understand the negative reviews. Milo's is excellent!

What a fantastic experience! My husband and I first dined at Milos in Montreal and it was such an amazing experience, we talked about taking another trip just to dine there once again. But then we find out Milos has opened a location in South Beach!

We made a reservation for our 7th year dating anniversary through Open Table. When we arrived, we were stunned at the beautiful build-out. Wow! Beautiful restaurant. We were complimented with two glasses of champagne.

We ordered the sea bass cooked in sea rock salt, a dozen fresh oysters, the Greek-style potatoes, four more glasses of champagne, and baklava along with another dessert similar to baklava but with a custard filling. Everything was great! Not one dish was a disappointment. The oysters were fresh and came with a red vinegar sauce combined with raspberries and blueberries. So good! The sea bass was flaky and so tender. The desserts were out of this world. So fresh and flaky. I would have definitely ordered another round if I had a huge stomach.

Service was impeccable! We can't wait to come back. I'm in love with this place! A++++

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    210
    89
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Big deception!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went for dinner and was a very bad experience! The service so bad, the salt fish very bad, many noise and very expensive for what you get, don't waist your time and money!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lurogo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second choice”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A party of three, we were headed to a different restaurant which turned out to be closed. Service was very good. the waiter recommended an tasting of raw fish for a starter which was exceptional. his other suggestions of tomato salad and grilled octopus were very good as well, with the fried calamari being the only average dish. Our main course if Fish in Sea Salt was very good but contained many bones.Dessert of donuts and chocolate mousse cake were average but tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cranch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Incredibly overpriced average food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

On a very recent visit this restaurant proved to be even more over-rated than its New York City and Montreal's counterparts. The service was OK, the food was average even if very fresh in terms of fish and the bill was exorbitant. There are very many restaurants in Miami where one can have a very good branzino and a bottle of wine without having to spend almost $200 per person!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Grossly overpriced above average food taste with excellent service and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Barbouni - $52.00/lb
Millokopi - $52.00/lb
Lavraki - $52.00/lb
Fagri - $52.00/lb
John Dory $44.00/lb
Langouste - $95.00/lb
Ctreniero’s - $92.00lb

Why would anyone in their right mind dine at this place for fresh fish and pay the
astronomical prices to have it flown in the Mediterranean when they can walk
across the street and get fresh local fish for 1/3 the price.that taste better??? Expect to pay a minimum
of $200.00 per person for dinner at this place to fill your stomach. The service is excellent and the design of the interior is beautiful. The place is engineered to extract
the maximum amount of monies from your wallet on the false assumption that fresh
seafood from Europe is tastier then fresh local seafood found in the ocean 2 blocks away,
its not and therein lies the downfall of this place. No local person need waste their time
and money at this place when they can have the same dining experience elsewhere for a fraction of the cost. If you are a foreigner/tourist with money to burn on vacation and want to be seen and it makes you feel good to pay exhorbitant prices for an average dinner then this is your place. The service is excellent and the interior and layout of the restaurant is gorgeous but no business establishment anywhere can justify charging these prices for average tasting food. Undoubtedly the most expensive restaurant in South Florida and also the biggest ripoff for your money as well. Nothing spectacular. One fish will cost you $100.00 and you will need expensive appetizers or you leave hungry. You will need to take out an equity line on your house to pay for the appetizers in this place. I think you get the point here...I could go on an on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler34645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estiatorio Milos also viewed

 

Been to Estiatorio Milos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing