We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip to Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1144 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Trip to Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The Victor hotel is so beautiful. What you see in the professional pics is actually what you get. We chose this hotel because of it's ratings and reviews and we're so glad we did. You are in the middle of all action in South Beach and a few steps away from the beach. The people who work there are so nice. Big thanks to Dominique at the Sugar Factory for her wonderful service. We stayed on the 7th floor where we had an amazing view of the pool and ocean. Our anniversary trip was amazing. The ONLY thing that caught us off gaurd was the $100 a night incidental charges. It was refunded to us at checkout. Other than that we will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstiffrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. It was great having you here with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    222
    84
    45
    57
See reviews for
94
385
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If i can rate this hotel a 10 i would....it was the best experience ever....everyone is so very pleasant. i advised my husband that next year we will be staying here again....bungalow suite was so awesome....my kids and grandchildren loved it!!!!

Room Tip: Bungalow suite the best.....but any room would do....great staff and concierge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritzaMercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for such kind review, it is great to know that we exceeded your expectations. It was wonderful having you here with us, we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 10th year wedding anniversary; after viewing several hotels on Travelocity in the Miami area we selected Hotel Victor. We were both happy with our choice, the staff was extremely welcoming and very accommodating, especially Cree the Hotel Manager who gave us personal attention. I can't forget Iala who was also very nice. Our room was simply beautiful, clean, spacious and comfortable. The free bike rentals (for 2 hours) was a really nice addition to our stay. The pool and spa (extra fee) was relaxing, breakfast was good for us. My cousin and his wife came to visit and called the hotel "Sexy".
It was a great experience and we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Arrive early for the best rooms, we had a great balcony room over looking the pool with an awesome v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MzThing2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your special occasion. I am glad that are associates were able to make this occasion a memorable one for you. We hope to see you next year, on your 11th year anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel feels tired; in particular the breakfast/bar area is actually rather depressing which is not helped by the very dull, repetitive breakfast. Although the associated cost is minimal I recommend you opt for ‘room only’ and enjoy breakfast elsewhere. More importantly, those familiar with ‘luxury hotels’ across Asia or Europe should not expect the same standards or experiences, ultimately this hotel equates to 3 maybe 4 stars at best. By way of an example:
1- Our bungalow (room 211) had numerous defects, like the sliding patio doors that didn’t slide at all well and more importantly didn’t lock. I hasten to add the latter was reported on day one and quickly fixed.
2- The sliding doors to the bathroom constantly fell-out of their runners.
3- Our mini-bar contained half finished bottles and cans; it clearly hadn’t been checked or restocked when the previous occupants left.
4- Despite asking twice, the mini-bar was never replenished during our stay
5- The rooms air-con was not adequate and noisy
6- The complementary bottled water was never replenished
7- The room was not clean when we arrived and never really cleaned properly each day, this was reported but to no avail
8- We had to ‘secure’ our allocated outside ‘daybeds’ on a daily basis
9- When we did manage to sleep we were woken daily at 8am ish to the music played around the pool,
10- Overall the hotel is incredibly noisy, not helped by the constant hum of the industrial air-con unit located on the hotels roof
11- While the hotel has a ‘zero’ noise policy after 10pm, they do not appear to ‘police’ this, we were often woken by other guest enjoying themselves outside (on their balconies or by the pool) in the early hours of the morning i.e. 3 and 4am.
12- Each bungalow on the 2nd floor has it’s own outside shower located on the individual patio area, there are also communal showers. Three times I had to tell people to stop using our shower, apparently they’d been directed to use any of the showers by the older of the two pool guards. I’m not normally bothered by such things, but imagine others working into your garden and taking a shower immediately outside your bedroom window when you’re lying in bed. Zero privacy.

In conclusion, the hotels location is superb to enjoy the strip and the beach. It offers nice touches like the free bike hire, excellent wifi and free international calls to landlines. But we personally felt it failed to offer a ‘luxury’ experience due in the most part to the noise and the missing attention to detail that differentiates ‘luxury ‘ from the norm.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TUC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, your feedback and observations is extremely important to us. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered while here with us. I have shared your review with the appropriate department, as this will help us to improve on our shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went away for a girls weekend and had a fantastic time! The staff was great and very accommodating. Sandy, the bartender at the pool, Cree, the hotel manager, Iala, a front desk agent, and David, a bellman, were only a few of the employees that made our trip the vacation it was. We stayed in a pool side room and spent a majority of our trip on the pool deck. Such a great trip and fantastic memories!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachEscapes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us and taking the time to write a review. It is great to know that our associates took such great care of you. I will be sure to share your kind comments with them. We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

As I walk into this is beautiful South Beach Miami hotel I was embraced by a beautiful smell of Tom Ford perfume and a nice front desk clerk by the name of Cree (I believe she was the manager but she was so nice and welcoming ) . The hotel is beautifully decorated equipped with MacBooks for any web searching needs they have a spa valet parking they even have bicycles to barrow and right across the lobby is the sugar factory where you eat a complementary breakfast. My room was located on the second floor the bungalow suite. It was one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I've ever come across in the US. The king size bed made me melt. The sliding doors opened up right to the pool where we lounged in our cabana. The pool guy was super pleasant and soooo helpful the whole staff for that matter. This hotel was amazing and I have already recommended it for any people who plan on visiting south beach anytime soon
Thanks to Cree
Iyala and Marcelios


xoxo Kelty from Queens

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naquita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
It was wonderful having you here with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and all the great amenities that we offer, especially our amazing! associates. Thank you for recommending others and we are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have never written a review like this one, but when something is not fair it has to be said.
I have booked 2 rooms for 1 night through Hotels.com and it was mentioned the payment was only due at check-out. To my surprise a guarantee of 2x 1 night was charged on my credit card. After some time, I unfortunately had to cancel my reservation. My guarantee was never refunded, Hotels.com told me the hotel had made the refund but it was not true. I have sent a document from my bank telling I did not receive any amount from the hotel and then I never got a reply back. This is a scam, unacceptable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Please accept my apology for your inconvenience. After following-up on your issue, I have found that you pre-paid your booking with Hotels.com. Unfortunately, this has nothing to do with Hotel Victor. Hotels.com cancellation policy differs from Hotel Victor’s I am sure. We require one night room and tax at the time of booking, should you wish to cancel you are given 72 hours prior to arrival to do so. Once you are within that cancellation window, you will be refunded that one night; this information can be found on your confirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Tides South Beach
#80 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#55 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#101 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#73 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: 1144 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4609
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Victor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on South Beach’s famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami’s traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2013, by renowned designer Yabu Pushelberg. Hotel Victor’s lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests’ their heart’s desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor’s labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel’s premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. •Custom made furniture by Yabu Pushelberg•24 hour Concierge Service•On-site Spa•Year round access to 2nd floor Pool and lounge• 24 hours Business Centre• WiFi Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Miami Beach
Hyatt Miami Beach
Hotel Victor Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing