We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special here”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #81 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special here”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is not as nice as it is rated. The rooms have been updated but they are very small and have no views. More importantly, the service is terrible, from the front desk to the awful wait staff, the non existant room service, it was unending and put a damper on our whole trip. The spa was not anything like it is described. The "Turkish bath" is a small room with a slab in it with water running down the walls and had a distinct unclean appearance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and observations. I am sad that you did not enjoy your visit with us and would like to apologize for your experience. We appreciate your feedback as this will help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    280
    108
    60
    80
See reviews for
133
486
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Right on Ocean Avenue, in front of the beach, this Hotel is a classic Art Deco Gem with the perfect Location.

Our room was beautiful and comfy, the staff was ok (I saw the other reviews, so to be precise: not over the top friendly, but polite and helpful), the pool is great, and the lobby is magnificent.

Nothing bad to say, we were there 4 nights. Bring ear plugs because sometimes the bar next door can get noisy, and a little bit of the sound car be heard in the room (not much).

Breakfast is included but is not much. Eggs, toasts, 2 kinds of fruit, basic basic stuff but it's free.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because sometimes the bar next door can get noisy, and a little bit of the sound car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmanThibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate you taking the time to do so. It was great having here with us we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I could not find anything negative at this hotel! We stayed for 4 fabulous days and enjoyed very minute of it. It is a mind set . . We were in Miami and why not have a good time? The ambiance of the hotel contributed well to that mind set. Believe me, my husband is difficult to please and he just enjoyed the hotel facilities, the room, the shower, the pool, the great location, including the music/ noise. We had no problems with the front desk, they were so helpful and just so willing to serve well and always so pleasant. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and would go back anytime!

Room Tip: We were in 210 corner and easy access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. I am happy that you were able to see the willingness to serve, in our staff. This is what sets the stage for a memorable experience for our guests. It was great having you here with us we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked a king room for one night pre-cruise. Our experience far exceeded our expectations. The location of Hotel Victor is excellent, right on Ocean Drive. We found the front desk staff to be very courteous contrary to other reviews on this site. They answered all of our questions and we were able to check in early. There are bikes you can use and a breakfast buffet was included for the next morning. The buffet was less than spectacular, but it was free so I can't really complain. The room itself was quiet even though its right on ocean drive. It was small but well organized and immaculately clean. The closet doors have full size mirrors which was a nice touch and the bathroom was beautiful with a wonderful tub and rain shower. When we were ready to leave a cab as called promptly and checked on and we had help with our luggage also. I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again although we have found we prefer to stay more in the area of Lincoln Road than right on Ocean drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review it was great having you with us. I am so happy that we have exceeded your expectations as this is our goal. I am glad that you enjoyed all the great amenities that we have to offer especially the kind and courteous service from our staff, which makes the difference for a memorable stay. Can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It was such a great location even though you have to drive to the Convention Center but it wasn't a long ride. The rooms were very spacious and worth the not so good service. We got lucky and had a corner room so the view was spectacular! The service wasn't the best but it wasn't completely horrible. Alex the Concierge was the best, other staff will try to accommodate you but you have to be on top of them until they do it. The manager wasn't very nice and she did not help us with our request. We never got called back, we called several times to request things but supposedly nobody cared enough or took forever to be delivered, room service was done super late and not so clean, I liked the pool and the nice bicycles, the breakfast that is included in the 22 dollars fee is not the best, valet parking cost $35+tax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I really wanted to write a positive review but our experience prevents me from doing so. Most of the staff is mediocre and is not committed to providing good service. Twice we were left with only one towel in our room. The first time we called about this they delivered one more towel and said they had run out. The second time I had to call three times to get another towel. Glasses were never cleaned or replaced. I checked in for our return flights and when I went to print them I was told the printer was out of ink.

HOWEVER, the most awful thing occurred at about 2:30 AM on March 10. An alarm went off and a recorded female voice announced that a fire was detected in the hotel and we were to leave immediately. To check my wife called the desk and the receptionist had no information. We left the building along with many others. Miami Beach is not that big and at this time of night there is little traffic. After ten minutes without any fire dept. response my wife called 911. THE FIRE DEPT. HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. They arrived shortly thereafter, went into the hotel and a few minutes later we were told we could return to our rooms. We never got an explanation. If there had been a real fire it could have been a disaster.

The hotel was lovely. The location excellent. The experience poor. I would also add the noise from adjoining hotels is quite intrusive.

Fred T.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and observations. Please accept my personal apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit with us. Not having simple requests taken care of is not acceptable I have addressed your experience with our associates. We are making great effort to trained our staff in order to not only meet the needs of our guests but exceed their expectations.

Yes we did have an issue with the fire alarm, next door at another location. Unfortunately that alarm setoff the alarm in our building, please know that the fire department was called and not 911. The safety of our guest is of the utmost importance to us. Whilst this was beyond our control, the circumstances should have been explained to you. Hotel Victor is great property in a great location with an amazing history, we are working hard to deliver great service that you are valued guest so deserve. I trust that you will return to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I booked a King Superior room for 4 nights at a cost of $305/night plus taxes and fees for a total of almost $1500.00 and I felt like I checked into an econolodge today. There is a nonchalant snarkiness that the front desk staff has, that we are not accustomed to. We merely enquired about the availability of a room with a balcony, and the very sharp reply was "you only reserved a standard room". We are certainly not accustomed to such poor attitudes. Additionally, our room is deplorable. There are literally 12 inches from the end of the bed to the bathroom sliding screen. Again, we are pretty speechless right now, and we are only 2 hours into our pretty expensive vacation. Thanks for the disappointment Hotel Victor Management and Staff. :( Not really looking forward to the next 3 days that we spent a small fortune for.

Room Tip: The rooms here vary from very good to nightmarishly small with no view. Choose carefully, and never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0lferb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for your experience with us thus far. I understand that you requested a different room type upon arrival and were told that we would not have been able to accommodate you at the time, as we did not have the availability. Even though you booked a different room category, arrangements were made to move you to a room of your choosing, for the very next day. Our first and only priority is the comfort of our guests. I trust that you will enjoy the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#68 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,180 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: 1144 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4609
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Victor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on South Beach’s famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami’s traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2013, by renowned designer Yabu Pushelberg. Hotel Victor’s lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests’ their heart’s desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor’s labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel’s premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. •Custom made furniture by Yabu Pushelberg•24 hour Concierge Service•On-site Spa•Year round access to 2nd floor Pool and lounge• 24 hours Business Centre• WiFi Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Miami Beach
Hyatt Miami Beach
Hotel Victor Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing